Dublin hammer Galway

A mate(a galway man) told me recently that galway hurlers turn out for their clubs and play like lions but turn out for their county and play like lambs. Is he on to something?

max1mus (Mayo) - Posts: 28 - 18/02/2009 00:30:19    210298

catch the ball if you had studied the match closely you would see that Fergal Moore was playing. You don't pay any heed to what anyone is saying so there is no point wasting time with you as most contributors here ignore you like they should. Lets make a deal - I will get rid of my Clare "obsession" if you get rid of your Galway obsession as you were are definitely more obsessed with Galway than I and other contributors on here are with Clare!!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 18/02/2009 09:30:16    210400

What in the name of God are you on about Catch the ball.Sure Fergal Moore was playing and was one of the better galway players on the day.He cleared a certain goal chance off the line.You havent a clue.If you want to support the DUBS or CLARE ship off to there message boards and get out of your rubbish talk here.

conor15 (None) - Posts: 347 - 18/02/2009 12:19:55    210606

outside of the portumna contingent galway were missing no substantial player on sunday.(john lee doesnt count as he will be missing for rest of year). in any case dublin were missing 4 or 5 players themselves, including their best back (ronan fallon) and their best forward (david o callaghan) who only came on with 15 minutes to go.(he was sick all week). and remember they werent just beaten, they were beaten by 12 points. tommy k, you should really get help with your clare obsession. ps your clutching at straws if you think iarla tannion or fergal moore would have made much of a difference on sunday. fergal moore is constantly injured and they should forget about him. Result Pages: 1 2 3 4 [Next >>] Agree with most of this, of course Moore played last sunday but he is constantly getting injured and cannot stay fit. If he breaks down again before the end of the league there is surely no point in having him around for the championship, talented though he is. I cannot see for the life of me what Dublin v Galway last sunday could possibly have to do with Clare so why are they being brought into this thread?

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 941 - 18/02/2009 13:22:40    210684

apologies tommy k, moore was indeed playing. this makes the result all the worse. outside of the cannings, damian hayes and possibly tannion, galway had essentially a full team out. they have no full back, no centre back(now that lee is gone), one midfielder and no centre forward. this is only for starters. they arent great around the rest of the field. (except for full forward). stool pigion, re clare tommy k got upset when i said that only 3 of the present galway team would get on clare team of 90s. (the cannings and damian hayes). btw tommy k, i have 2 brothers who played both minor and u21 for galway.(hurling)

catch the ball (None) - Posts: 90 - 18/02/2009 15:47:06    210913

apologies tommy k, moore was indeed playing. this makes the result all the worse. outside of the cannings, damian hayes and possibly tannion, galway had essentially a full team out. they have no full back, no centre back(now that lee is gone), one midfielder and no centre forward. this is only for starters. they arent great around the rest of the field. (except for full forward). stool pigion, re clare tommy k got upset when i said that only 3 of the present galway team would get on clare team of 90s. (the cannings and damian hayes). btw tommy k, i have 2 brothers who played both minor and u21 for galway.(hurling) And I suppose you would have been better only for the drink and the women!!

milicDunanuchta (Galway) - Posts: 149 - 18/02/2009 16:21:49    210986

Is Tannion really going to make a difference ???

NoozelsMaguire (Mayo) - Posts: 31 - 18/02/2009 18:22:37    211169

Could not believe scoreline. However it will stop me thinking ...daydreaming about our great Galway hurling team. I should now start thinking realistically, which is no bad thing. If our boys are good enough, then they will use these league matches to try out new players, formations and tactics. I remain hopeful that we can come good later in the year. Keep the faith.

CocknyTribesman (UK) - Posts: 194 - 18/02/2009 20:02:44    211250

I watched Cork v Tipp last night. I thought that in the long run, 3 or 4 years time, people may look back on the Cork strike and think it was a blessing in disguise as this completely new crop may flower. If there is a bad atitude or something missing in the Galway panel then the only way to weed it out is to get rid of them all, except Joe, and start afresh. Otherwise this virus will be passed on and caught by the new guys coming onto the panel. Let's be honest, will the current crop win an All Ireland? I'm sure most people would say no, although many like myself would still hold out hope but our heads are telling us otherwise. Therefore I reckon we should bring in a flake of 19, 20 and 21 year olds. They may be hammered in the next year or two but they will eventually flourish. We'll be talking the same ***** in 7 months time with the topic, Galway team for 2010, and arguing if the same tired old names like Richie Murray and David Forde should get on the team. They weren't good enough in 2005 and they're not going to get any better. At least young players will show some promise and give us some hope.

GalwayDownUnder (Galway) - Posts: 64 - 19/02/2009 02:27:31    211504

catch the ball you're some man claiming to be from Galway when it suits you and Clare when it suits you. I wonder what county you'll claim you will be from next?! On the Michael Meehan thread some weeks ago you claimed you were from a football stronghold in North Galway who had 3 AI winners in their ranks although you couldn't remember the name of the club strangely. Now you claim 2 of your brothers played underage hurling for Galway and you are also on the Clare board saying what a great team ye have even though they were hammered by Waterford!! It must wreck your head not knowing where you're really from!! By the way I couldn't give a damn what you think as all of it has been discredited up to now.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 19/02/2009 09:15:22    211561

Here's another question catch the ball seeing that you think Clare are great. How many of the Clare team today would make the great Galway team of the 80's? Perhaps Gilligan - that would be it in my mind and most knowledgable hurling folk.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 19/02/2009 09:21:43    211566

GalwayDownUnder at last a man talking some sense on this board. I have been advocating that approach all along - out with the old and in with the new.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 19/02/2009 10:01:36    211599

I would also have to agree with galwaydownunder, as most of the current team have been there or thereabouts for the last few years, and achieved little or nothing. I like cockneytribesman get very excited around the start of the National hurling league every year, wondering how we will do, and will any new players emerge for the Championship, but I don't ever remember feeling this deflated in February. While people may say Sunday was a one off or a bad day call it what you want, as galwaydownunder has stated, the majority of these players will not win us an All Ireland, so maybe its time to start afresh. The only players I would see worth keeping are Joe Cannning, Ollie Canning (despite his age), Fergal Moore and Damian Hayes, with possible roles for Ger Mahon and Fergal Healy. The rest of them, while all good hurlers, have neither the bottle or mentality required to win an All Ireland, what do you think?

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 19/02/2009 13:14:11    211864

Whilst I agree with yer opinions in general in that a clear out is needed but we prob only need 5/6 to win an AI.
Don't forget we contested one just 3 sept ago with a fairly young team.
Although last Sundays result was a disgrace(on paper) Galway have been training very hard, and when doing so without sufficient break, the legs and mind won't be there.
I'm laying down my marker here and saying Galway Seniors will be in Croke park this Sept hurling in an All Ireland Final.

Maybe 6/7 to the additions to the panel are needed and then let the team pick itself. There was never an All Ireland won in February. Just remember the state of Waterford last year? And when saying most of the players aren't good enough people really are showing their lack of hurling knowledge, Allmost sounding like Soccer fans, and that is really our problem in Galway in that we rate other county hurlers so High when they are on ar below or equal level to our own only for their superior desire which comes with confidence something ours are lacking.

My last point is Great teams make great hurlers not the other way around. With success we could see some great memories.

Milic Dun an Uchta Agus Gaillimh Abú

milicDunanuchta (Galway) - Posts: 149 - 19/02/2009 14:23:18    211963

with regard to question on where have all the under21 and minor players gone... the main reason to why these players aren't coming through or competitively hurling after these levels comes down to the club structure in galway. in a nutshell, these players aren't gettin the necessary game or playing time that they had when they were in schools or even after that in college. the lacking competitiveness in the summer months takes its tole on an average or good club hurler and it causes these young lads to fall behind while waiting for the county teams to finish up. i know the leinster championship has changed it to a certain extent but it still is going to fail. young lads need games! if a lad is near enough to county set up he has no chance to prove himself...which is why we have had the same shape of a team for the last 5 or 6 years...rarely a hurler besides the best on each minor or 21 team (canning, lee,mahon) comes through and the rest of them are sitting idle for the rs of their careers as good club hurlers. if ye are talkin about a revamp in the county it should start here! also the under 21 championship is a disgrace, in fairness to clare they have the right idea, getting it out of the way beginning in jan and finishin before senior comps. this would keep lads hurlin in winter months and have more games for them to develop.
Gaillimh abu!

bertbert (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 19/02/2009 15:47:39    212096

tommy k have u nothing better to do with your life than leave comments on this.

Lionman (Galway) - Posts: 52 - 19/02/2009 16:39:14    212174

I have just read most of the posts here regarding last Sunday's match and it is nothing short of disgraceful the respect that is shown for Dublin hurling. Except for the few who pay tribute to Dublin and that they are a good hurling team the rest of you would have us believe that Dublin were used to playing in Div 4 or at a level such as that. I dont know but is it the fact that it was Dublin that seems to bother you. Comments like a "second string Galway team - That was not a second string team by any means. The Ref and then the penalty. Did you know that Liam Rushe had the ball in the net after outcatching the full back on a one on one high ball. Dublin got a point from the penalty. We beat you two years ago in Parnell also and Ger Loughnane said that Galway were beaten by a better Dublin team on the day. Does anyone know what type of effort has gone into Dublin Hurling in the last 10 years or so. Do you know what it is like to entice young lads to play hurling when they come from families that wouldn't know what a hurley stick was if they saw one. Do you know what it is like to keep hurling going in drug ravished areas of our city. I am involved in an inner city club in Dublin and I know the effort that it takes to keep our beautiful game alive. But the county is on a mission. We are not going to go away and the deriding comments on this board will only enthuase us to keep the fight going. There is nobody on the Dublin boards deriding the Galway team. We respect you but my persanal opinion about Galway hurling team is that there is no doubting the star quality of a lot of players in the side and somedays they can be truly awesome but I believe there is an arrogance there that the best of managers cannot budge. Galway has lost the hunger for battle believing somewhat that there hurling skills will be enough to get them through. And no matter how many times this has proved them wrong they still seem to believe it. And so does the County! Liam McCarthy will not come to you because you have silken skills in the art of hurling. A lot more has to go with that and at present Galway haven't got it. And last Sunday was an example of that. Dublin were hungry for that success and Galway couldn't live with that hunger no matter how many skillful players they may possess in their squad. There is lot to do in my opinion in Galway hurling but the first thing that must be tackled is the mindset - not just of the hurling team but of the whole county!

Connolly (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 19/02/2009 17:21:11    212241

Connolly - you seem to have missed the point of the thread. We, as Galway supporters, don't come to our own web-page to discuss how great Dublin is. We leave that for the Dublin supporters to do on their own web-page. On the main-page forum board I, and most other posters here, have all ready congratulated Dublin on their fantastic win. The whole point of this discussion is the lack of success at senior level for Galway. We here are all, first and foremost, Galway supporters. Some, like myself, are feeling a little exacerbated by our teams constant under-performance at senior level: we do not contest Dublin's right to win a game. What shocked us is how easily they did it. And while a certain amount of their clear victory was certainly attributable to the level of commitment, hunger and passion of the Dublin team; it is also a fact that the absence of these qualities from the Galway players also played a huge role in their total rout. We all know the dedication Galway players have to their clubs demonstrated clearly by the many long hours of training they put in. One need only look at the number of Galway clubs that have challenged for national honours in recent years for evidence of this passion. What we cannot understand is why they absolutely fail to bring this passion and dedication to the field when they put on their Galway jerseys. Some here have mistaken this frustration on our part as a lack of support for Galway hurling. What they fail to see is that if we didn't care for Galway hurling as much as we do, we wouldn't get this bloody annoyed when they manage to under-perform so spectacularly. Hell, even McIntyre blames the players when he said "We were off the pace, frankly. It just wasn't one player; it was 12 or 13. Only they can decide, as a sportsman, their reputation. They have serious work to do over the next three or four games". So please Connolly, don't take this personally. We are all delighted to see Dublin hurling becoming a force to be recognised. It benefits the sport as a whole. But don't come to a Galway website and wonder why we all aren't talking about Dublin!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3151 - 19/02/2009 19:45:14    212363

Connolly it would be more in your line if you minded your own business and get ready for the Hammerin were gonna give ye in the Championship. Dubs eh! Always stickin their noses in.

milicDunanuchta (Galway) - Posts: 149 - 19/02/2009 23:41:03    212653

I wouldn't read anything into a league match. The manager is still experimenting and I would wait until he settles on a team before reading into it.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 20/02/2009 01:18:48    212700