Cavan V tipperary

Hurling is the No. 1 sport in Tipperary, but there are a lot of footballers in the county as well and you 15 of them playing in Breffni Park yesterday. We were the better team and won the match fair and square and I am not going to knock your county by saying that Tipp should be beating the likes of Cavan, although I am tempted to do so. Best of luck to Cavan in the Ulster Championship anyway, but a small bit of respect for Tipp would not go astray.

Star Gazer (Tipperary) - Posts: 436 - 16/02/2009 10:19:57    207878

One consolation is that relegation to Div 4 does not constitute Tommy Murphy Cup anymore. In Div 4, teams are given a chance to rebuild out of the lime light. Teams like Wicklow, Leitrim, Sligo, Antrim, Waterford does give it a competitive edge. While Tipperary football is a joke, they came through the rigours of Div 4 football. Now another win or two and they are safe.
The Ulster championship will be a different kettle of fish. A few good performances and then the nationwide tour through the qualifiers. The summer travelling the country for the qualifiers can be a breathtaking experience rather than trips to Casement Park and Clones. Tommy Carr, I feel will get it right. It is now when going through a rebuilding process that a good head is needed on the sideline. At the end of the day league football is not everything. Tyrone (All Irel champions) & Armagh lost yesterday.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3150 - 16/02/2009 10:57:34    207915

holy good am a monaghan man yes but its just laughable to see what is happening in cavan. every year you hear about lack of self disapline by cavan players. Cavan Have some of the finest football in ulster but never seem to put it together as a team. Also the state of cavan club football is shocking until three of four teams are competing year in year out then the county title th county team will not flourish, the gaels champions every year is no good to cavan football. just look at monaghan football only clontibret have won back to back county titles in the 00's latton, blayney, clontibret, magheracloone and carrick can beat each other on a given day. so this is what needs to happen in cavan for success to come to the county team. these teams also have the bulk of the monaghan starting line up. from the game at wexford. 2 clontibret players started with 2 coming on. blayney had 3 starters, carrick had 3 also with another coming on, magheracloone had the two freemans playing yesterday and latton the county champions only had one player in the panel yesterday . ten of the starting line up came from the five teams above with the rest of the players being paul finlay, rory woods, dick clerkin and the hughes brothers from scotstown. this shows competative clubs means competatives county team

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 16/02/2009 11:08:48    207922

Shaggy Legend,

this shows competative clubs means competatives county team

I see I see, so would that be the case in Armagh? "competitive"

dachubba (Cavan) - Posts: 74 - 16/02/2009 12:06:23    208011

Jack L, you say that Tipperary Football is a joke, but the real joke is that they beat Cavan yesterday on Cavan's home ground in Breffni Park. I don't see how Cavan can look down on any team and maybe the first step on the road back for Cavan might be to treat other counties with a bit of respect. Certainly Down supporters were far more respectful of Tipp in the last NFL game than Cavan appear to have been yesterday.

Star Gazer (Tipperary) - Posts: 436 - 16/02/2009 12:16:03    208024

Star Gazer apologies for some of the arrogance posted here re Tipperary use beat Cavan fair and square and r probably a much better organised team I have been down in tipp loads of times and its a place blessed in traditions of football, hurling, rugby, horse racing, greyhounds, soccer etc I don't know why some Cavan ppl on here r showing a lack of respect toward use I think some ppl r deluded if they think Cavan r going to do anything in the next 3 years. The county team in Cavan at present are just a laugh Larry reilly back playing because his brother a selector if the had any plan in place at all they would b looking at the future but they seem very short sighted.

D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 16/02/2009 12:24:31    208040

Jon94 would you ever quit rising things i'd say ur only about 14 as ur name suggests

gandi (Longford) - Posts: 86 - 16/02/2009 12:27:25    208045

I wasn't at the game.

Does anyone have any good comments to make about the cavan performnace?
What can we improve?

What Went Wrong?

theinformer (Cavan) - Posts: 104 - 16/02/2009 12:43:29    208063

was at the game yesterday, wat a shambles, some of the players should be ashamed of themselves. The real worry is that a lot of the players didn't seem to care and looked like they didn't wanna be there. I am ashamed to say i follow cavan football after yesterday. Anybody agree?

shanie08 (Cavan) - Posts: 6 - 16/02/2009 13:02:23    208101

the exception is armagh. but when armagh was going well dromintee were playing in armagh finals they had 3 brothers called martin adain and cathal. also pearse og got 2 the last couple of finals with clarke, mallon, and a few more county players, also armagh had players in dublin and kildare in mcgeaney the mcnultys and andy mccann played for leixlip in kildare. Crossmaglen are no ordinary club football is a source of national identidy to them. I have no doubt that pearse og or dromintee would beat any team in cavan.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 16/02/2009 13:37:33    208148

how can there be any positives from that result cavan lost to tipperary .....a hurling county !!!!no disrespect intended to tipperary .It took the county board 5 months using sports tracker to find a manager capable of bringing cavan back up the ranks and they found tommy carr apparentely a decent manager who cant prepare a cavan team to be able to beat tipperary and longfords second team!,Donal keogan was driven out because of poor results against decent teams in dublin ,meath ,armagh etc last year and now we have tommy carr.where is cavan football going from here?Its looking like tommy carr is also the wrong man for the job!

bigbang (Cavan) - Posts: 44 - 16/02/2009 13:42:09    208152

shanie08
was at the game yesterday, wat a shambles,some of the players should be ashamed of themselves. The real worry is that a lot of the players didn't seem to care and looked like they didn't wanna be there. I am ashamed to say i follow cavan football after yesterday. Anybody agree?

The one consolation is that there will be no player power and oust the manager similar to other counties

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3150 - 16/02/2009 14:21:21    208209

I agree with Shaggy legend, a good club scene makes for a good county scene, when we last won Ulster, Baileboro, Gowna and Kingscourt had won the county title in the previous four years and Mullahoran in particular were unlucky not to have won at least one title at that time also..Armagh club football is very competitive it's just Crossmaglen are truly unique in Irish sport and even they've had a few one point wins on their nbeaten run..

Giles (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 16/02/2009 15:11:43    208304

the only good thing about the match was tipperarys jersey..

it was baffling.

fooligan (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 16/02/2009 15:13:34    208313

its about time some people started to realsie that are we are a mediocre football team.
there is only 1 hurling team that hasn beat us yet...but kilkenny will get there chance next year as we will be joining team in division 4. also good to this the attitude of some players like an x captain kicked of the panel tuesday night due to some bad behaviour.
we will not win 1 game this year FACT. maybe there better tarining or trying to win the mckenna cup...cause where wining nothing else...great to see

cavanboy (Cavan) - Posts: 53 - 16/02/2009 16:42:14    208467

no pride left in the jearsy,no respect for the legacy of true Cavan Greats.a shamful display by a shambolic outfit!this is a disgrace!no point blaming Carr,its the players fault,egos in the way and no interest in playing as a team unit!!!!!!!!!!! id nearly bycott the whole shower!!!!!!

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 16/02/2009 17:07:25    208500

Frank just go back 2 longford nd come da end of da year cavan wil b ahead of longford FACT !!!!!!!!!!!

Jon94 (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 16/02/2009 19:01:29    208639

Cavan Slasher.Seeing that you are such a huggable type of person could you not make your way as far as the Cavan ladies team and maybe get a few recrutes to play with the mens team.Who knows they could not be any worse.Best of luck in trying.

ruthless (Monaghan) - Posts: 594 - 16/02/2009 19:15:39    208656

well ramour 101...i think where the only 1s talking sense on this fair play...egos egos true

cavanboy (Cavan) - Posts: 53 - 16/02/2009 19:26:41    208674

The funny thing is lads ive been saying this for the past number of years Cavan r a poor county team and the quality of club football in Cavan is poor I think it all stems down from the county board their not running GAA properly in te county we all begrudge each other on the club scene when we go into the Ulster championship and Ive seen it for myself the gaels getting slagged when the loose as did ballingh when they lost the intermediate all ireland how do u expect a good county team when we have a county full of begrudgers who hate to see any of their fellow clubs doing well it really turns my stomach. I used to love going to Cavan Games and support the boys in Blue but over the last number of years Ive stopped having a interest and I never expect much from Cavan anymore and im sure im not alone on this one. Instead of building from the ulster win in 97 we have gone backwards feel sorry for all the die hard fans!!!

D_Dude (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 16/02/2009 20:30:33    208737