Lancashire senior championship

Yer Man, you've completely agreed with me! Great minds!

I think Mitchells would have comfortably beaten Brendans before but considering there two recent defeats in the Championship, I feel the wind would have completely gone from their sails and they'll take a hammering. Hopefully they'll recoup and put in a strong Junior Championship run.

Peters should be able to tame Annes especially considering they want to finish in the 2nd/3rd spot to avoid Mitchells in the semi.

My only doubt would be Oisins V Lawrences as recently you never know which team will turn up for either in terms of personnel and mentally, you could predict a 10 point win for either side but I am standing by my original prediction of a narrow win for Oisin CLG.

It could all be relative, as this Season all Manchester clubs rather then closing the gap with our rivals from Liverpool have disappointingly let the gap increase, which is a shame for the Manchester clubs who should have more pride within their clubs and for John Mitchells who are an almost certainty for the Lancashire title without being challenged, I only hope it doesn't affect them if they do go on for All Britain/Irelands.

Hunkers (Tyrone) - Posts: 4 - 22/07/2009 15:57:51    357062

As the lads have said, I expect peters to beat annes and mitchells to beat brendans. (but stranger things have happened). The lawerences vs oisins is a hard one to call I dont think a draw would be out of the question here. This would be devastating for oisins.
With regards the gap between liverpool and the manchester teams increasing, it does seem to be the case. However i think peters, oisins or lawerences will severely up there game in the final stages of the competition and JMs will experience more competeive matches. Who knows if JMs have a bad day, if one of these teams have a good day or a combo of both they could be knocked out.
Well, lets hope!

Jaxie (UK) - Posts: 28 - 23/07/2009 10:44:39    357980

What does it feel like for the players and members of the other clubs when they know that they don't have a realistic chance of winning the Championship?

horseman (Tyrone) - Posts: 292 - 23/07/2009 11:33:13    358058

horseman

358058 What does it feel like for the players and members of the other clubs when they know that they don't have a realistic chance of winning the Championship?

Yawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwnnnnnnnnnnnn

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 23/07/2009 13:27:31    358342

horseman

358058 What does it feel like for the players and members of the other clubs when they know that they don't have a realistic chance of winning the Championship

Why dont we all abandon the championship and give ye the cup! The chances are real! Believe!

Jaxie (UK) - Posts: 28 - 23/07/2009 14:17:21    358482

I'm not involved in Lancs lads so go easy on me here!

Who are Mitchels biggest rivals in the Championship and what would the chances of them beating Mitchels? As an outsider i'd love to see someone beat them, some of the posters from them on here are really up themselves!

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 24/07/2009 11:58:47    359912

Brendans wont be fielding on Sunday against Mitchels i hear... so w/o and they top the championship.

Mitchels v Peters final predicted - would be a hard hitting game

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 24/07/2009 12:33:18    360014

Predictions
JM 5-18 St Brendans 0-4 (If Brendans field and JM play strong side).Ideal game for both sides to give their juniors a run?
St Lawrences 1-9 Oisins 4-10 (Oisins haven't scored a goal yet but seem to get them with ease against St L)
St Peters 2-14 St Annes 3-7 (If both teams play to their full strengths should be a good game)

That would leave semi-final line-up:
John Mitchels v St Lawrences
St Peters v Oisins

33233 (Donegal) - Posts: 52 - 24/07/2009 12:59:48    360100

I'm not involved in Lancs lads so go easy on me here!

Who are Mitchels biggest rivals in the Championship and what would the chances of them beating Mitchels? As an outsider i'd love to see someone beat them, some of the posters from them on here are really up themselves!

Last year Oisins were in the Final and were only beaten by a point by the supposedly Mighty Mitchells. The year before Peters were in the Final and the Mighty Mitchells beat them by a huge score of a... single point.

This year if Oisins got their act together they could more then likely beat them but I think at the moment Peters would be the strongest opposition.

Hunkers (Tyrone) - Posts: 4 - 24/07/2009 15:47:11    360504

Its true breandans wont be fielding this weekend against jm.i wouldnt say jm are over confident because talking to some of them they think this year could be very hard getting out of lanchasire

optimist44 (Donegal) - Posts: 3 - 24/07/2009 15:50:39    360514

Last year Oisins were in the Final and were only beaten by a point by the supposedly Mighty Mitchells. The year before Peters were in the Final and the Mighty Mitchells beat them by a huge score of a... single point.

Cheers for the reply, however sarcasm is not your strong point!

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 24/07/2009 16:15:07    360565

honestly think this is a stronger mitchells team than last year. think just management pacing it different to come good at the right time in all britain. Lots still to fully come back and a few great new additions.

Also think the opposition has gone to the dogs oisins need to get their act together only team with oppurtunity to come near us

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 25/07/2009 12:20:06    361406

St.Lawrences vs Oisins,

both teams are through to the semi-finals, but who wants to face the mighty John Mitchells in the semis?!!

Oisins need to win by double figures to avoid JM, and i cant see that happening tonight, I think Oisins will win, but it will be more like 2/3 points than the 10/11 points they need!

So if im correct Lawrences will play Peters in the Semis and Oisins will meet John Mitchells.

I dont think Mitchells wil win the championship easy, yes they are a class act, and yes at this stage they are clear favourites, but they are not by any means going to walk this championship, come the championship final, any of the 3 manchester clubs left are well capable of beating Mitchells! may the best team be crowned champions, and if it is John Mitchells, then i will congratulate them, but i think people who come on here and say JM will walk it, are complete idiots!

BobbySands (Antrim) - Posts: 27 - 13/08/2009 18:29:53    391094

I see the 2 semi-finals have been fixed for Greenbank and Houghend respectively, both one o'clock trow-ins next Sunday.

Why have our county board not got the foresight to arrange a double header. Instead they put the two games on at the same time in different places. It really beggers belief.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 04/09/2009 12:07:41    415329

Right, so now we know the final JM's Vs Peters! This isn't exactly a surprise!

Anyone any comments on the two semi final matches? Both won by a 6 point margin.

Can peters beat JM's in the final?!

Jaxie (UK) - Posts: 28 - 14/09/2009 09:21:00    424931