Lancashire senior championship

Well Lads, the first round of the championship is over and there are plenty of talking points!

So Mitchells won as predicted! But Oisins hammered by St.Annes, and The Mighty Brendans embarrassed by St.Peters!

So any1 any thoughts on these games?

anybody able to put up the correct scorlines?

BobbySands (Antrim) - Posts: 27 - 21/06/2009 18:33:47    318472

http://www.lancashiregaa.co.uk/fixtures.php?results=yes&competition_id=1

sparks_uuc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 91 - 21/06/2009 18:42:53    318489

Thoughts on games.........

The Oisins, Annes result was a bit of a shocker, fair play to Annes they must be alot stronger then I thought . Was there a bit of a ruckus afterwards among Oisins boys?

Lawrences, JM's ended as alot would have suspected but I think lawrences will still be a strong candidate in this championship.

Lastly, maybe Brendans were missing a few players but a defeat like in the championship! Ouchhhhh! Hard to know what level peters are at when they had it that handy.

Looking forward to next weekend!

Jaxie (UK) - Posts: 28 - 22/06/2009 11:55:47    319186

What the hell happened Oisins.... to only score 2 pts againts St Annes, where they missing many or where they on the lash watchingb the Lions match the day before?

Someone pls let me know cause for a team that has been training like dogs since Feb yesterdays result is a bit of a joke!

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 22/06/2009 16:28:12    319599

having been out at the oisins vs peters game i have to say that oisins played the better football on the day and had their forwards been a touch more clinical the game could easily have gone the other way.
St Peters will be delighted witht their somewhat lucky result which flattered them in the end.

seamuseire (UK) - Posts: 13 - 22/06/2009 20:38:11    319889

RE Seamuseire.

Really fella a team playing a full game and scoring only 2 points, deserves nothing from a game regardless who they are or who they are playing!

An away game in Greenbank against Mitchels this weekend, cant see anything other than another defeat.

Exiled Kickham (None) - Posts: 68 - 22/06/2009 21:44:56    319976

seamuseire
County: UK

319889 having been out at the oisins vs peters game i have to say that oisins played the better football on the day and had their forwards been a touch more clinical the game could easily have gone the other way.
St Peters will be delighted witht their somewhat lucky result which flattered them in the end.

SEAMUSEIRE OISINS WERE PLAYING ANNES, PETERS PLAYED BRENDANS. Are you sure you were at the game????????????????????????????????????????

Jaxie (UK) - Posts: 28 - 23/06/2009 08:59:42    320268

Any news on what happened with St Berndan's??? Were they missing their new boys?? Are back to there usual selves?? or what's the craic??? Bad craic for Oisin's! any one know what went wrong, was Davey Bentney not playing for them?

Hopefully they'll have a big turn around for Mitchells this sunday.

onefortheroad (UK) - Posts: 17 - 23/06/2009 13:18:16    320548

What a result for Annes, just like last year they cause an upset against Oisins, fair play to them. Oisins' season may just have gone belly up! The same could be said for Brendans, what the hell went on there!? Peters may be the team to challenge Mitchels this season, although it would be wrong to count out Annes, or even Oisins if they can somehow turn it around. Interesting times! Anyone at any of the games who can tell us what went on?

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 23/06/2009 18:50:01    321009

let me start by saying fair play to Annes they put us to shame on Sunday, they played with heart, skill determination and a will to win, all of the things we were lacking, I could start spouting excuses like we were missing players, carrying injuries but the fact of the matter is we were brutal, I have never been involved in a game as bad, thats not to take away anything from Annes. I was impressed with the way they showed up with one thing in mind and that was a win and they got it without much of a fight back from ourselves.
Jimmy put our score down as two when we actually scored three why he docked us a pint is anyones guess probably because we were awful. To say our season had gone belly up in June is a bit too strong but we will see in September who is in contention for the championship. There was no ruckus after the game but we did have a nice heated discussing like most teams have when things go wrong and it has seemed to have gotten us on course again well thats if training tonight was anything to go by as it was intense and focused with a very large turnout. We will see though if it has helped us when we line up against the might JM on Sunday in Greenbank.
If I can take one positive thing out of the game on Sunday it has to be don't underestimate another team as it will come back and bite you in the rear. The rest of Lancashire take note.

Comeonthetown (UK) - Posts: 57 - 23/06/2009 21:05:30    321134

thats it now 4 brendans no way back now i just hope de good lads wantin de split will stick togethere and make a right go of it over de next few years wit de help of a few others fingers crossed thank you to all

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 24/06/2009 01:39:12    321432

51longago, wat is your last post trying to say? Are you trying to say some Brendans lads are trying to start up on there own?! This is stupis if true!

BobbySands (Antrim) - Posts: 27 - 24/06/2009 17:36:13    322023

Well, the post mortem from Oisin GAA is on the board but nothing from St Brendan's yet. Is 51 an impostor or is he now the St Brendan's spokesman!!! It would seem so???

Come on Take.Ye.Points your normally very quick to fire on this website. Suddenly gone very quiet????

Who is the new team?

Where are they going to be based?

After all the good work lads down at Hough End don't let it fall apart!!!

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 24/06/2009 17:40:35    322028

Manc Irish you have to be the most pointless poster on this site. get real there is not going to be any split in Brendans. No club in manchester would be stupid enough to split From what I heard it was Oisins who had all the in-fighting after Sundays game and it got quite heated. As for Sunday any predictions lads? The Mighty Mitchells by 8 at least

The_Bookmaker (Tyrone) - Posts: 82 - 25/06/2009 14:34:23    322857

oisins have2 many egos.
but on their day with the quality they seem to have there still one of the better teams in the county so anybody expecting them to fall apart could end up wit egg on your face.
mitchells rely too much on mulligan so if he can be stopped anything could happen.

the quality annes showed last week end should be2 much4 brendans who may have peaked2 early. so i have annes wit 4 or 5 points to spare.

Lawerences and peters will be tight, but if peters can stop the supply to colton, hell soon loose interest and peters should win. i see peters by the odd point.

tedglenn (USA) - Posts: 2 - 25/06/2009 23:07:08    323393

Big weekend in the Senior Championship. I hope to do a little better with my predictions this week after a poor showing last week. One thing is clear, this years games are exteremley hard to call, expect that to continue this weekend...

Lancashire Senior Championship:

St Annes V St Brendans

A week is a long time in football! This time last week St Brendans would have been hot favourates for this one, that is certainly not the case now. The wheels might just have came off the Brendans bandwagon, while Annes kick-started their season with a truely excellent win last week. With home advantage I would expect Coyne, Doran and Co. too hot to handle. St Annes by 9 points.

John Mitchels V Oisin

Oisin put in a solid pennine league campaign which beggers the question, have they peaked too early? They will be hurting after last weeks disaster and the last place in the world they would wanna go is Liverpool on Sunday! The champions are off and running with a comfortable opening day win and I would expect their fabulous home record to continue here. John Mitchels by 7 points.

St Peters V St Lawrences

I truely believe this game is firmly in the balance. The hungriest team on the day will prevail. Peters didn't get much of a challenge last week while Lawrences went through a tough hour against Mitchels. Peters will go in as favourates and will take some beating, but the yellow-bellies need the win more. If Peters build up a head of steam there will only be one winner but if Lawrences stifile their mid-field they can nick this one. Lawrences by 2 points.

Its so tight that I may get all 3 wrong, stranger things have happened. But thats what I'm going with, anyone else?

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 26/06/2009 14:58:35    324022

So its another day of the Senior Championship, and a lovely day at that!

Here goes my predictions for today.

St.Annes vs St.Brendans

After a great win last week over Oisins, St.annes will head into this full of confidence, and after a battering to Peters, St.Brendans are big underdogs heading into this one, St.Annes by 8points

John Mitchells vs Oisins

I can only see one result here (even though Oisins have put it up to JM in recents months) and that is a John Mitchells victory, they will be too strong for an average Oisins team, who, i hear are having major in house problems at the minute, JM by 11 points

St.Peters vs St.Lawrences

St.Peters started with an excellent win last week, but it was against a very poor outfit, this will be a different pros[ect today, i think Lawrences will be up for this, but in the end i rekon Peters will come out on top,St.Peters by 4 points

Yer Man, im not just copying what you have put for the Annes and Mitchells games today, but i totaly agree with your posts, i think Peters will be victorious come this afternoon.

Also wat a result 4 Antrim y'day, Tyrone nu better watch ur backs!!! Anrim for the Anglo Celt Cup!!

BobbySands (Antrim) - Posts: 27 - 28/06/2009 10:07:33    325161

Bobby/ Yer man yee are quite the analysts! Fair play to yee yee wern't that far off with your predictions! Its hard to believe some of the speaks coming out of some posters on here some times... Im a bit tired of hearing about Oisins talkin the talk and not walkin the walk! mitchels by all accounts had a far tougher game against us last wkend than they did against our finest today and they were beat by Annes by a cricket score last wkend so whats going on? Ps how are Hendo and Petie Quinn fairing out in the scoring stakes this year?? By our scoring tables last yr... Fermanagh could a done with Petie in clones.. serious man from a dead ball??

imagine (UK) - Posts: 43 - 29/06/2009 00:15:02    325881

What were the results from yesterday?

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 29/06/2009 10:57:12    326109

http://www.lancashiregaa.co.uk/fixtures.php?results=yes&competition_id=1

sparks_uuc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 91 - 29/06/2009 11:22:37    326143