Cheltenham 2009

AskUreSister
County: Westmeath

209484 just so people know. the prices for the gold cup that loyal put up were nearly all wrong.. the correct prices are... 6/4 kauto. 9/2 denman. 6/1 neptune. 8/1 madison. 10/1 exotic. 16/1 albertas run and barbers shop. 20/1 notre pere star de mohaison and 25/1 war of attrition

Kauto Star - 2/1 with Bet365
Denman - 5/1 with Ladbrokes/Betfred
Neptune Collonges - 6/1 with various but was 7/1 and bigger before the weekend
Madison Du Berlais - 8/1 - PaddyPower/Ladbrokes but was bigger before they confirmed on target for the Gold Cup
Exotic Dancer - 10/1 - various
Barbers Shop - 20/1 with sporting bet
Notre Pere - 25/1 with Lads
War of Attrition - 40/1 Various

So Ask Ure Sister, in future please stick to topics you actually know a thing or two about.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 17/02/2009 15:46:22    209665

AskUreSister, thanks for posting the correct odds. There's nothing more annoying than someone talking about something they know nothing about.
So this horse racing craic. How do they get them to fit in the cars?

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 17/02/2009 15:59:16    209690

kauto
County: Carlow

209211 That sicilian secret is the best of the Mullins bumper horses. Was told months ago by a friend who works in the yard. Quadrillion is nothing more than a two mile chaser. He won in terrible conditions in Naas. Glenloo Abbey also very on paced. Then again speed horses rarely win the bumper. Its usually horses that need 2 1/2 to 3 miles in the next couple of years. The best bet for cheltenham is without doubt whiteoak. If she goes for the mares race she won last year there is nothing to beat her. Chomba Womba didnt stay last year and will not stay this year. Binoculor is unbeatable barring accidents. They must be sick the way Alexander Severus ran on sunday. He has ruined his mark for cheltenham. He will get at least 20 pounds more from the english handicapper than his irish mark(Most irish horses carry around a stone more than their irish marks) He was way too eyecatching running in his first handicap as a four year old against older horses.

They finished in a heap, Alexander Severus will still be very well handicapped in my opinion. Would thing Edward O'Grady is still laughing. Don't think Binocular is unbeatable, he hasn't beaten a whole lot for me. And if he touches the top of a hurdle, he will come straight down on his neck. If ever a horse jumped a hurdle too well, than Binocular would be it. Reminds me of two years when I had similiar concerns about Black Jack Ketchum.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 17/02/2009 16:00:14    209693

wel i kinda do know wat im talking about. im a bookie myself. so if ure going to put up prices then put up prices that the local punter can get hold of .. not bet 365 which means ya need to have an account with. 6/4 kauto in every bookie on the high street. so dont get smart with me.

AskUreSister (Westmeath) - Posts: 160 - 17/02/2009 16:21:50    209726

and to be fair to Loyal, if you are going to make a profit backing horses, you should have a number of accounts and shop around for best prices and best offers. I have a number of phone and on line accounts myself. If you use your head also you can see which horses are really fancied, i.e. o briens horses with ladbrokes and nicholls horses with hacketts (family has a few horses with trainer).

gianfranco (Offaly) - Posts: 100 - 17/02/2009 16:30:52    209744

AskUreSister
County: Westmeath

209726 wel i kinda do know wat im talking about. im a bookie myself. so if ure going to put up prices then put up prices that the local punter can get hold of .. not bet 365 which means ya need to have an account with. 6/4 kauto in every bookie on the high street. so dont get smart with me.

a real bookie wouldnt come out spoutin the rubbish you do.
sure anyone postin here has access to the internet - so access to bet 365, b/fair, etc.

now you might be one of the girls that work behind the counter in ladbrokes, but that, my friend, does not thee a bookie make.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 17/02/2009 16:57:08    209803

Now fellas lets not stray from the important matter in hand . Have a sneaky feeling Hurricane Fly will line up in Champion hurdle And if he does he'll ate them ..

HongKongPhooey (Antrim) - Posts: 93 - 17/02/2009 17:23:56    209848

Lads,There will be different odds from different bookies and thats it.If the prices were drastically wrong it could be said, but in fairness those odds are pretty similar considering the amount of bookmakers around.

conor15 (None) - Posts: 347 - 17/02/2009 18:30:55    209948

Keep an eye out for J.P.'s King John's Castle

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 17/02/2009 20:26:48    210031

dingle1
County: Clare

210031 Keep an eye out for J.P.'s King John's Castle

What race?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 18/02/2009 10:31:03    210469

wat rubbish. im talking about the joe soap on the street who looks at this site, sees the wrong price, goes into their local independent bookie causes hell cos he thinks he should get the price that ye lads are quoting from on line bookies.if people do have a betting account then all is good. just not every one who has an internet connection has access to an online betting account. now down to wat is been backed and wats not... i fancy barry geraghty at 6s and choc thornton at 8s{thats wat im pricing them up.. they will be different in other bookies} to be top jocks. binocular will be a big looser for us as to will denman. anyone got any sure fire tips???

AskUreSister (Westmeath) - Posts: 160 - 18/02/2009 11:12:03    210530

Im guessing the Joe Soap punter you are refering to is the 'Mug' punter who doesnt know any better than to take whatever price an independent bookie gives him, the same 'Mug' will probably bet on every race on a Saturday and Sunday in the same bookies. Of course thats great for the bookie who will fill his pockets with these poor gob*****s money and will lay off any bets he takes by backing the same horse on the exchanges. Course it is in the bookies interest to maintain this relationship thats how they make their easy money. And Ive no sympathy for the mug who spends his afternoons that way, he deserves to lose his money. Any serious punter will shop around and find value.

gianfranco (Offaly) - Posts: 100 - 18/02/2009 11:58:45    210584

firstly people sayin denman is finished, u cant say that mabye he is but he has only come back from operation. the fact is when the 2met, both at the height of their powers denman inhialated the field, they couldnt live with him. u could tell though that somethin wasnt right with denman when nicholls kept putting back his seasonal debut.
voy pur 7/4 for ryanair, s da class horse of the field,barring fall etc cant c any1 else there beating him unless petit robin goes 4 it, then its closer. Kasbah looks pretty goood but thats a fairly open enough of a race, at 11/10 i think u hav 2 take him on wit puncheestowns.
triunph is good race walkon and zayanar the class of the field, mabye walkon here is the value of the race. if he ups it he has a great chance.
any1 taking on binoc u lar is brave, who ya take him on with. katchit s the value of that race defending champ at 12's.
tatanan wit ruby back (after sam gave him the mother of all bad rides last time) should be best
cant wait 4 da novices, hurricane fly all the way

kauto star (Sligo) - Posts: 42 - 18/02/2009 12:33:05    210625

Any news on feebles gallop ahead of the big one? Hows he been running. Got on well chepstow I here. Might be worthe a score in the big one.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 18/02/2009 12:52:18    210652

Loyal2TheRoyal Champion Hurdle Thoughts:

This could be the race of the festival so lets see if we can find the winner. First let me start off by saying that I will be amazed if Hurricane Fly runs in this. If he does, then he will be a ridiculous price and will probably struggle against more experienced rivals.

Binocular is the favourite and a very worthy one too. He has passed every one of his tests so far with the minimum of fuss. However, I have two concerns. 1. He came there cruising last year but once he arrived at the foot of the hill went from swinging on the bridle to be being under extreme pressure in a manner of strides. 2. He jumps his hurdles so so fast that if he was to even so much as clip the top of a hurdle, he would come straight down. Iktitaf in 2007 came down at the second last and he wasn't that different to Binocular.

The Irish have plenty of creditable challengers. Sublimity has his chance and looks back to his best whilst the memory of Sizing Europe coming there laughing at his rivals last year is etched in my memory. In my mind, had he not gone wrong he would have won. I couldn't have Brave Inca on my mind. There are two things that need to happen for Harchibald to win, good ground and a fast pace. He'll get the fast pace but probably not the good ground. But he is the most talented horse in the field and can't be ruled out. I don't think any of Muirhead, Jered, Won In The Dark or River Liane will win.

Katchit won it last year but his tough juvenile campaign looks to have taken its toll. But I wouldn't rule him out, in fact, I think he'll run a big race. Osana was second last year and proved himself in good form when finishing behind Celestial Halo who is held by Binocular and anyway needs further. Osana I'd imagine is best of the British. Crack Away Jack is the lay of the festival. Ashkazar the same as Crack Away Jack.

At the minute and at the prices, I'd go for Sizing Europe. If in the unlikely event the ground came up rattling, then I'd make Harchiblad the bet of the festival.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 20/02/2009 14:08:25    213164

doble up osana and denman and you've got a great bet

hurler in the ditch (Louth) - Posts: 439 - 20/02/2009 14:30:12    213203

kauto star
County: Sligo

tatanan wit ruby back (after sam gave him the mother of all bad rides last time)

Exactly how did he get a bad ride the last time?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 20/02/2009 14:47:53    213232

On what basis do you think Geraghty/Choc will be top jock?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 20/02/2009 22:44:18    214048

FAO kauto star

I repeat, how did Sam Thomas give Tatenen a bad the last time?

FAO AskUreSister

What horses will Geraghty and Thornton ride to victory at the Festival that will make them leading jockeys?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 21/02/2009 19:45:04    214440

sam gave tatenhan a terrible ride there at christmas and i think that was the last time sam rode him mabye not, if im wrong there then fair enough. sam should av got 2 work on him sooner before the last and didnt push him out to the line either. Tatanhan is like denman for my money a galloper from what i seen of his first 2 races this season and a real prospect but sam realy didnt ride him well or to his strenghts either that day.
Ya crack away is the lay, agree totally, u can get plenty of the english who il want a bit of him and make a bit of money on that.
Sublimity i dont think can win and i dont think sizing has a chance, he has only gone backwards since last year. He has no real form this year.
the hill is the only unknown about binocular, though youd have to think he will get up and win. i think katchit is a great price and will run a big race and test binocular. katchit is the value in the race, nd with such a solid favourite ill have a bit on him

kauto star (Sligo) - Posts: 42 - 21/02/2009 21:35:32    214518