Junior football 2009

Bailieboro beat swad by 4...good game..5/5 games for the shamrocks now...swad in trouble..

starsky (Cavan) - Posts: 20 - 12/04/2009 14:30:52    255244

Sorry TP I didnt realise what a sensitive chap you were... Ill be more gentle in the future i promise.. Ah you figured out where my username comes from! I love somone who'll put in a bit of effort into a reply.. The wonders of google what?! Well my current position might not be far from a student just the craic isnt the same. I notice you left out the big smoke as a possibility.. Bit of an oversight? The hurler on the ditch always got a bad rep..Bit unfait.. But then again I was always a firm believer that you didnt have to fly to know the sky is blue.. Anyways sure telling you a playing position would be no use.. Corner backs movin to corner forwards and all sorts goin on these days! Iluvkeoghan: I knw SFA to be honest but im my opinion Ballymachugh are in with a great shout. B'Boro I think will go straight back up. With Swad as good as out of the running and Laragh very unpredictable in their performances the Hughs would be my favourites to go up with B'Boro. Not playing exceptional and still getting results, if they can step it up for the tougher challenges they'll do it.

Jecht (Cavan) - Posts: 150 - 12/04/2009 15:18:08    255257

I'm reading with interest the fact that everyone refers to Killygarry packing their team each week to try to win Division 3 matches - have a look at the teams they have sent out in all of their matches to date and you'll notice a common trend.
The same team has more or less featured in all their games and rarely has a senior player played or been introduced. The team played is similar to the one that played division 4 last year and lost to Cavan Gaels in the Junior B final last year - so not too many seniors there. The other common trend is that they have lost 3 and drawn 1 match to date.
I realise that they are struggling in this division at the moment but at least they are using their second team players and not packing their side like others have done in the past. It is a testament to the work that is being done and they have a good blend of younger and older players. They will probably struggle & possibly will be relegated but I would bet on them having a say in what happens at the other end of table. Keep it going lads.

MGR (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 15/04/2009 23:15:13    258451

If Killigarry are fielding a similiar team each day out fair play to them, It can be very easy for teams to win games putting out senior teams like Crosserlough did last year. The County Board NEEDS to tighten up on this practice. Naming the first 10 is not enough, I know other counties name a first 13. And it should be investigated, teams naming people who no longer play with the club in the first 10 needs to be abolished. If the relegation from Divison 3 is going to continue rules need to be tighter. Its unfair that a team coming up from Divison 4 could put on 3 or 4 senior players in the final quarter of a game to win and possibly relegate another club's first team to divison 4.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 16/04/2009 09:17:13    258636

whats the div 3 fixtures for the weekend

cavan4ever (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 16/04/2009 10:18:09    258680

Saturday, 25th April 2009 @ 6.30pm
John Brady Insurances Ltd A.C.F.L. Division 3 Round 7

Templeport v Corlough
Referee: Martin Brady - Ballinagh
Munterconnacht v Cornafean
Referee: Raymond Kelly
Ballymachugh v Laragh Utd
Referee: John Smith
Butlersbridge v Bailieboro
Referee: Patrick Brady
Shannon Gaels v Killygarry (Game at 3pm)
Referee: Padraig Kelleher
Kildallon v Arva
Referee: Harry Conaty

SantaClaus (Cavan) - Posts: 108 - 16/04/2009 11:02:32    258742

Saturday, 18th April 2009 @ 6pm John Brady Insurances Ltd A.C.F.L. Division 3 Round 6 Corlough v Munterconnacht-Munchies, Corlough in trouble. Referee: Martin Brady - Lacken Laragh Utd v Butlersbridge-Laragh going well. Referee: Seamus O'Connor Bailieboro v Shannon Gaels-B'Boro, will be hard beaten this year. Referee: Darren Ward Killygarry v Swanlinbar (Game at 3pm) Swad, to start back on track. Referee: Ollie Donohoe Mountnugent v Kildallon Kildallon, Will build on last weeks win. Referee: Raymond Tynan Arva v Templeport, Arva, Templeport not going well. Referee: Gavin Smith

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 16/04/2009 12:35:04    258853

Corlough v Munchies - Corlough need a win soon, on home turf, if they concentrate on keeping mccabe and carroll out of game have good chance - munchies by 2

Laragh v B'Bridge - laragh's defeat last week will have woken them up to the fact they cant take teams for granted, you'd be expecting a home win but bridge are similar to shannon gaels and if mulvey is playing will push them all the way - laragh by 1

Bailieborough v Shannon Gaels - could be a banana skin for bailieborogh, gaels are a fast young fit team and after a great victory will be on a high - Bailie by 2

Killygary v Swad - despite an earlier posting by a killygary supporter this is an example where they have to play a different set of players as seniors playing later in the day, why cant county board do this every weekend, anyway swad will have too much firepower - Swad by 8

Mountnugent v Kildallan - no game for mountnugent last week as givney wasnt available so kildallan will be sharper, wont fancy this physical team in their own back yard - mountnugent by 3

Arva v Templeport - again arva's game was cancelled so templeport will be sharper, vital game for both teams to pull them clear of the relegation zone, close game - draw

cavan4ever (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 16/04/2009 14:24:18    258987

Corlough vs Munterconnacht...Corlough not playin well they need something from this but munchies will have too much firepower...Munchies by 5

Laragh vs Butlersbridge...Bridge havent played many games so could be lacking sharpness...Laragh by 4

Baileboro vs Shannon Gaels...Good win for the Gaels last week confidence will be high...Gaels by 1 to blow the league wide open

Killygarry vs Swanlinbar...Swad are over rated but will win this one....Swad by 6

Mountnugent vs Kildallan...draw

Arva vs Templeport...Arva to take this one against a troubled Templeport side...Arva by 2

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 16/04/2009 16:01:56    259149

Whats the problem Cavan4ever with Killygarry being in Div 3. Every week you're on here saying 'will pack the team this week' or 'wont be able to pack the team this week' Let me tell you that the Killygarry team isn't packed any week and even if it was it would only be with eligible players. Players from the first 12 aren't eligile to play yet Killygarry need to play without a first 15 or more every week due to the senior team playing, and no one at the club is complaining. We also play in Div 6, probably against your clubs second team, without a first 22 eligible, but the first 28-30 aren't even considered to play. This is against the other club minus the first 10. These games are never on the same day as the div 3 games, and therefore all junior clubs can 'pack their teams' for these games, with club senior players playing against another clubs third team. Maybe we at Killygarry should ask for the county board to play div 3 & 6 on the same day to stop the junior club having the advantage. What I'm trying to say is that all players turning out are eligible to play and as the previous poster said the team is the same every week regardless of the senior team playing the same day or not ie. without a first 15. So if you want to say every week that we will be beaten then fair enough do so but your reasoning is getting well boring.

Grrrh_Nuts (Cavan) - Posts: 6 - 18/04/2009 22:02:07    261777

Arva bet Templeport 1-10 to 2-5 . Templeport got 2 goals an last 5 minutes

zamora (Cavan) - Posts: 200 - 19/04/2009 12:28:51    261999

Corlough beaten by the Munchies by 2 points Corlough full forwards wasted far too many chances over 1o wides just in the second half

Mountainman (Cavan) - Posts: 15 - 19/04/2009 19:45:50    262253

Can anybody post the Division 3 league table including results from the weekend gone by.

paddyreilly (Cavan) - Posts: 22 - 20/04/2009 12:52:32    262807

Alrite lads.. Predictions:
Who is going up??
and
Who is going down??

and please give a reason for your answer.....

iluvkeoghan (Cavan) - Posts: 79 - 20/04/2009 14:43:37    262936

how can a team like mountnugent lose two games and make the county final last year..

scourging (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 20/04/2009 18:34:36    263215

Re. Scourging - Is your clock running a little slow, that topic was spoken about months ago.

paddyreilly (Cavan) - Posts: 22 - 20/04/2009 20:22:26    263309

Baileboro and ballymachugh!the other teams are proven junior teams!dont get me wrong 20r3 other teams will fight their case but i cant see any other outcome

howya (Cavan) - Posts: 30 - 20/04/2009 20:28:53    263318

templeport ave bn extremely unlucky to find themselves in the position they are. just wonder what has changed since last year. have they lost the believe

monkeydude (Cavan) - Posts: 55 - 20/04/2009 23:30:34    263541

monkeydude, i wouldnt say templeport are extremely unlucky to be where they are. two years ago they finished bottom of div3, when they got a reprieve there was a huge effort in training and commitment to prove to everyone why they deserved to stay in div3, that would be very hard to give the same this year. they've lost a few players also which is affecting them badly, i dont think they'll go down.

cavan4ever (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 21/04/2009 10:40:54    263795

West Cavan in awful bother... Corlough and TP will be relying on beating Killigarry to stay up which is very dangerous. Kildallon will probably end up safe as I can see them beating TP this year. If Corlough and TP cant scrape a few points from Killigarry then this weekends local Derby could be the relegation game.

On another note i visited a half of each of Corlough and Tp's games the weekend. Both forward lines very panicky on the ball. Standard of refeering was awful too.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 21/04/2009 11:35:03    263840