The Heineken Cup Semi Final At Croke Park

Bring the feckers to thurles.....

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 27/01/2009 18:36:38    191231

I believe the RDS' capacity isn't big enough it's only 18,500 capacity must be 20,000 plus

Sisco87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 759 - 27/01/2009 19:02:12    191255

Are you having a laugh?

Play it in England would suit me and most other people alright I would say. Foreign sport after all play it in a foreign land!

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 27/01/2009 20:47:32    191348

North Side Gael

"I dont see how they can call special convention when last year Donegal Celtic of Belfast wanted to play in Casement and where told that they needed to apply sooner as annual convention is needed to amend any rules to allow it to happen."

There is no need to call a special convention in this case, as Congress has already endowed Central Council with the power to allow this game to be played in Croke Park iof they so wish.

The amended text of Rule 44 (b) (formerly Rule 42) reads as follows:
(Note: Central Council shall have the power to authorise the use of Croke Park for games, other than those controlled by the Association, during a temporary period when Lansdowne Road Football Ground is closed for the proposed development. Congress has approved that Rules 3, 4, 5, 44, 46, 47, 77(f) and 147(g) shall allow for this for a temporary period, at the end of which all these Rules stated shall revert to their pre-Congress 2005 position.)

Whilst maybe no the intention of Congress, the rule as currently worded is fairly clear that Central Council have the power to allow any sport and any teams into Croke Park whilst Lansdowne Road is being redeveloped. There's no mention of restricting i to international teams, nor is there mention of restricting it to soccer and rugby.

Thus, under the letter of the law, only a Central Council resolution would be needed for any game, of any sport between any two teams, to be hosted at Croke Park.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 27/01/2009 21:02:09    191363

1. I amazed at some posters who are still pathetic enough not to accept rugby in ireland. rugby is a truly fantastic sport, played passionately by true atheletes, and followed by excellently-behaved, good-humoured and loyal fans. there is never any trouble of any kind at a rugby match, reminding me of the fantastic spirit which sets GAA apart from other sports. soccer has it's problems. but rugby can never do anyone any harm and will be an excellent money maker for the GAA and Croke Park stadium - take a look at the ireland internationals, a huge success. these are two Irish clubs who would potentially face each other - i can't see any problems there.
2. why don't people just read?? several posters have pointed out that the "home" tie cannot be played at Thomond Park because of the HC rules, but still people carry on and on ingnorantly declaring that the tie should be played at Thomond!

a tie at Semple Stadium would be great!

SamiPremier08 (Tipperary) - Posts: 177 - 27/01/2009 21:27:47    191398

Rugby is game of 90-95% physicality and 5-10% athleticism, tactics, vision etc. Just doesn't rock my boat in a big way. I'll watch it and enjoy it but I'll also watch and enjoy that weird sport in India where you shout something and try to touch someone else. Kinda like tig.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 27/01/2009 22:19:29    191439

Adminstrator
I still cnt beieve you are allowing posts that the 6 counties of Ireland are foreign, these posts are offensive to everyone who uses this site and and the fact that you are still allowing this to be posted after I have raised it numerous times is now beyond a joke
Please remove the offensive post

MB
Dont get me wrong folks I like rugby, and for the record detest soccer. However the fact is, it is a foreign sport in our land and should not be allowed to grace the sacred fields of the GAA and we should certianly never accomodate them again.
I know his might sound hardline but at the end of the day they are our competitors for the youth of today we should never help them out again

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 27/01/2009 22:19:43    191441

MB
Dont get me wrong folks I like rugby, and for the record detest soccer. However the fact is, it is a foreign sport in our land

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 27/01/2009 22:33:49    191463

Listen Jayo I didnt say anything about banning rugby or soccer from everyday life I just said they were foreign and we shouldn't give tham a helpng hand

One of the pillars of he GAA is that is completely native and unashamedly so. So we should not let our grounds be used for foreign games any longer, they are our competitors

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 27/01/2009 22:46:34    191476

Would the IRFU or FAI allow the GAA to use Lansdowne Rd, Thomond, Ravenhill, or does the well known Rugby Schools also have GAA teams, isnt Gaelic football forbidden in one of those South Dublin Schools.
GAA have been too accomodating, didnt the FAi rub our noses in it in Mayo, holding Coaching courses down there to coincide with the AGm, and boasted about being in the heart of GAA country, didnt they rename the Stands in Croke Park, ie North, South, East and West Stands. Lock the doors and keep them out. Not a lot of Rugby or Soccer in Tyrone and they have 3 All Irelands in this decade. Less concentration on the Heineken Cup and maybe Sam would be back in Munster or Leinster or Connaught.

sam02 (Tyrone) - Posts: 643 - 27/01/2009 23:29:10    191522

Its a dead rubber Muster will win there 1/4 final Leinster I doubt will beat the Quins only because they having difficulty in scoring try's Croker is a world class stadium that all gales are very proud of ,and I myself feel very proud when I see world class teams in Rugby and Soccer playing on this HISTORIC pitch as it shows the world how strong the GAA is in Ireland and around the world. No other Amateur organization in any other country can claim to be so well organized up and down the country and overseas in the facility's that the Gaa have provided . The IFA up north would love 2 or 3 of the county grounds in there league as they make Windsor park look like a 3rd world shanty towns pitch 'and thats doing an injustice to the 3rd world. CROKER IS WORLD CLASS and I hope to see MUNSTER LEINSTER OR ULSTER playing a European final there someday.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 28/01/2009 00:28:24    191564

Well lads, it is indeed sad to read some of these posts, the famous "Ulster Says No" showing again, even though the leader has retired.

We in Antrim are certainly thankful that the county team can train at Ballymena Rugby Club, and St Brigid's used Harlequin's facilities until they recently got a pitch of their own.

And what is this "fear of foreigners?". You all sound like Sammy Wilson of the DUP who this week broke about 20 laws by stating that jobs should be given to "our own" instead of foreigners.

Just as well they never had people like some of the posters here living in England or the US of A or Australia. Apart from the old Wembley tournament, played at Wembley stadium to raise funds for the GAA, the English have always tolerated Irish games in their land, using their facilities. The same applies to the people in America and all the other places the Irish emigrated to. Perhaps the people in those countries are more friendly, or less paranoid, indeed grown up and mature.

Mature as a ppeople and as a nation they must be. Perhaps that is needed in our own country, especially in the North. A bit of maturity from people who complained for years about not getting a fair crack of the whip, and now want to deny others equality. The hypocrisy of such a stance is truly amazing.

I mentioned Linfield and Glasgow Rangers earlier. Those institutions actually did grow up and move on. Could we please allow the GAA to do the same.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 28/01/2009 00:36:30    191569

As a Limerick man would far prefer it to be played in the gaelic grounds or Thurlas or Cork
In any case it would be foolish of G.A.A officials to turn down the chance to generate some valuable rental income this match would provide.
The na sayers who said Croke Park should never host rugby and soccer were put back in there box when we beat the English any Irish man G.A.A Rugby or soccer who wasn't proud that day might aswell pack there bags leave the country and leave there job to a proud Irish man.

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 28/01/2009 02:23:43    191596

They could use the "Bertie Bowl" in Abbotstown theres a field plenty big to play rugby and it holds 65,000. perfect solution.

But on a seriou note it would be a big loss to shops restaurants, bars, hotels and the staff whose jobs are at risk in these sectors as tourism numbers are expected to be well down this year. IF BOTH TEAMS DO PROGRESS IT WOULD BE A DISGRACE if this game was played in Wales or EnglandIt would be an act of stupidity on behalf of the GAA to say not to approx ?1.5million especially in the last year of this agreement this money needs to be kept for infrastructural improvements around the country.

gaeler (Sligo) - Posts: 5 - 28/01/2009 06:33:45    191628

well said omaghjoe and sam02. For the record there does be trouble at rugby matches and I can cite numerous incidents of it.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 28/01/2009 08:51:28    191643

SamiPremier08 (and Jayo) - just to back up your point - as far as I can remember, I read somewhere that there is a record of a really early football match (in the 1880s) under GAA rules where the final score is recorded as a try to nil. So rugby isn't exactly foreign to the GAA - it's just caid with a different set of rules.

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 28/01/2009 09:24:07    191664

Lads we sold our soul on this one a couple of years ago. At this stage we'll give the ground to any old eejits that have ?2 Million. Empty their pockets I say. Hit them where it hurts.

domoore (Laois) - Posts: 346 - 28/01/2009 10:03:09    191703

I am a proud Irishman and agreed to the opening of Croke Park two years ago. Now every time Munster might be involved in some big match the cries go out for Croke Park,Gaelic Grounds,Fitzgerald Stadium etc.Now if Munster were such a regular big crowd puller why did they build a new stadium with a capacity of only 27,000(Incl. corporate boxes)?. Surely they could have done better. Leave the present agreement stand as for Internationals.Strange if you disagree you are not a 'proud Irishman' Yet there are two colleges near me under the 'Proud Irish'Slogan who ban GAA. Also I have been many years going to Croke Park and I was proud singing Our National Anthem long before the England match.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 28/01/2009 10:10:40    191714

Sorry for the negative attitude but if I know Irish sport like I think I know Irish sport, then this semi final probably won't materialise.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 28/01/2009 10:27:15    191755

Real Kerry Fan

I am a proud Irishman and agreed to the opening of Croke Park two years ago. Now every time Munster might be involved in some big match the cries go out for Croke Park,Gaelic Grounds,Fitzgerald Stadium etc.Now if Munster were such a regular big crowd puller why did they build a new stadium with a capacity of only 27,000(Incl. corporate boxes)?. Surely they could have done better. Leave the present agreement stand as for Internationals.Strange if you disagree you are not a 'proud Irishman' Yet there are two colleges near me under the 'Proud Irish'Slogan who ban GAA. Also I have been many years going to Croke Park and I was proud singing Our National Anthem long before the England match.

One thing there RKF - the present agreement does not stand for Internationals only. It does not mention internationals at all. Brian Carty on RTE Radio 1 pointed that out last night.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 28/01/2009 10:28:41    191757