The Heineken Cup Semi Final At Croke Park

Entire debate will be rendered irrelevant when the Leinster Ladyboys succumb to Harlequins

Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 27/01/2009 15:37:00    190961

Heineken fixtures down for 2/3 May. 2 May is U21 Football final - not usually held in Croke Park as far as I know. In addition Div 3 & 4 NHL finals down for decision. 3 May is the day of the NHL Div 1 & 2 Finals. I mentioned yesterday that Hook, Pope and McGurk were labouring the point that there would be nowhere available in Ireland to host these games - it was quite clear what they were at! May well not be an All Ireland affair anyway. Pity the Aviva Stadium won't be ready.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 27/01/2009 15:45:05    190984

No. If the IRFU were serious they would have built a decent stadium at Thomond Park.We dont want anymore damage to the Croke Park pitch.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 27/01/2009 15:56:19    191018

Dontcha just love the way that Kerry lads, the most gracious of GAA supporters, turn so triumphalist when they start talkin about Munster...?

Mickoconnell...Would love ya to call Malcolm O'Kelly a ladyboy in his presence.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 27/01/2009 15:56:39    191020

Mr Potato
I would have no problem in addressing the said player- could you supply him with a milk crate to stand on so we could be on eye level.

Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 27/01/2009 16:17:54    191063

Is their a convention of the GAA before the date of this game to change the rules?

I dont see how they can call special convention when last year Donegal Celtic of Belfast wanted to play in Casement and where told that they needed to apply sooner as annual convention is needed to amend any rules to allow it to happen.

Or yet again will the GAA prove that the little man does not matter and fling the doors open at the sound of money?

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 27/01/2009 16:19:27    191069

I don't see any reason they can't play it in the RDS. If they can't play it in RDS, let them run on to Cardiff. I wouldn't let them in Croker.

donegal_insider (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 27/01/2009 16:47:16    191115

Eh cos that would be a home venue for Leinster donegal insider. And by wanting to send it to Cardiff Im so glad that your being considerate of the people who would like to travel to it and who are a wee bit strapped at the moment.

Ah right.. In that case MickOConnell, fair play to ya, hope ya got a few bob outta channel4 for that worlds tallest man programme the other night! If ur a bigger gent than Mal Ill eat my dog..

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 27/01/2009 16:54:43    191125

There will be no problem with the venue if Harlequins beat Leinster then the Semi Final will probably be played in the RDS the problem with the venue is going to be if both Munster/Leinster win their QF games

Redhot (Cork) - Posts: 739 - 27/01/2009 17:02:05    191131

Surely all those great Munster supporters we hear so much about who claim they would follow their team anywhere wouldn't mind heading up the road to Dublin to watch them. Or will they only follow them anywhere as long as that anywhere is in Thomand Park.
According to another poster, because it is classified as a Munster home game Munster will get the majority of tickets, and it will give Munster a chance to turn the tables on Leinster by raising the atmosphere in the RDS to a level that they are not used to.
Maybe sending them to Cardiff is a bit ridiculous but so is not having a suitable alternate venue.
It might seem like begrudgery, in fact I think it is, but I say tough! The GAA gave a home to the 2 National teams, and now they're expected to provide a home for the Provincial teams. Next thing there'll be application to allow them to use the Gaelic Grounds and Ulster will want to use Healy Park for the facilities.
We're starting down a slippery slope and I sense someone has to shout stop soon. Enjoy the alliteration.

donegal_insider (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 27/01/2009 17:08:45    191135

....maybe thinking too far ahead..... The way Leinster are playing at the minute they wont be contesting any semi Finals!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/01/2009 17:09:44    191138

No way, its one thing doing it for the international sides but its getting crazy, provincial sides in GAA rarely get to play in Croke Park, maybe if Bohs and Shamrock Rovers get to the cup final it should be opened for them too. Taking the *^"% if you ask me.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 27/01/2009 17:11:31    191140

27/01/2009 17:08:45
donegal_insider

Enjoy the alliteration.

LOL. I enjoyed it very much.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 27/01/2009 17:12:55    191142

This arose a few years ago. Leinster and Munster meeting in a possible HC semi-final with nowhere to play it. All eyes turned to Croker and the GAA. Everybody got their tuppence worth in. Thankfully both Munster and Leinster did the decent thing and lost their quarter finals. A classic case of counting the chickens. Here we go again. People never learn.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 27/01/2009 17:13:34    191143

If they both were to meet then I don't see a problem with Croker.....for the correct renumeration of course.If the ground is available then why not.I would also be of the opinion that when they get Landsdown sorted out then let that be an end of it.

northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 27/01/2009 17:15:55    191145

Croke Park is a certainty to stage semi final - GAA will be made an offer they can't refuse.
Ospreys will provide Munster with a lot of problems - Leinster will do the buisiness against Harlequinns.
Tie of the round is Cardiff V Toulouse.

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 27/01/2009 17:23:23    191152

spudenator
County: Laois

Dontcha just love the way that Kerry lads, the most gracious of GAA supporters, turn so triumphalist when they start talkin about Munster...?

Mickoconnell...Would love ya to call Malcolm O'Kelly a ladyboy in his presence.

Easy mistake to make Spudenator but "Mick O Connell" from County "All" is from one of the northern counties as far as I remember, possibly Tyrone. He's not from Kerry anyway.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 27/01/2009 17:26:21    191154

If Glasgow Rangers draw Linfield in a European soccer match and want to play at Croke Park, and the GAA can make money from it and gain publicity, I am all in favour of it.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 27/01/2009 17:45:02    191172

Im on for that Patrique. They could have a wee march down Jones' Road beforehand and the Artane Band could learn the Sash for them. Sure were all friends. Gas craic!

Haha..sorry 3inarow08!! Jumped to conclusions there when I saw the name..

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 27/01/2009 17:51:40    191184

No. Especially if its that shower of a$sholes who follow Leinster. Munster ones not so bad but time to call a halt. League finals on that weekend so shouldn't be facilitating rival attractions.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 27/01/2009 18:35:40    191229