Hey lads did it even occur to ya I was ribbing ye by having a look at where my county is?!!!!! Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 952 - 01/02/2009 18:06:45 195194 Link 0 |
oddball looks like you havent much of a clue what you are talking about.... you named the wrong team....i thought you said you were at the session....dunno how you were because they train on a fri not a thursday. Congrats on a great victory. The football was far from pretty but i thought we showed a great work ethic all around the pitch. Hopefully this will build up their confidence and we can continue to be competitive in div3. Thought Noel Farrell was excellent...of the new lads skelly tried hard, shanley kicked a great score and although not havin a great game flynn fisted a fine goal. The ref was very annoying at times..really slowed the game down a lot. some of the tickings were totally needless. Longford abu Ld (None) - Posts: 6 - 01/02/2009 18:07:55 195195 Link 0 |
some of yee people make me laugh, you'd swear we won the all ireland. hoganstandhunk (Longford) - Posts: 49 - 01/02/2009 20:05:10 195316 Link 0 |
wat are ya on about hollywood??Your putting down a gud win for a longford team lacking in some key players..including player of the year declan reilly and our best player in the last ten years paul barden...along with many more.. thegooch (Longford) - Posts: 20 - 01/02/2009 21:03:13 195384 Link 0 |
lads if that game was played another 99 times Cavan would have won so relax and recognise the fact that Cavan dominated possession and you got 3 soft goals which doesn't hide the fact that you have a lot to work on. Granted L'ford had a lot missing but Cavan also had 5/6 first choice missing too. Congrats though on your win, good wee pitch and decent supporters too. breffni47 (Cavan) - Posts: 34 - 01/02/2009 23:54:17 195570 Link 0 |
that was a fantastic win and i admit i didnt think we had a hope in hell but credit where it is due! bull, williams, noel farrell and berry were exceptional. hopefully they can drive it on and when the others come back, who knows!! dromardabu (Longford) - Posts: 175 - 02/02/2009 00:27:04 195587 Link 0 |
Credit to Kevin Mulligan he looked a really good player yesterday.... PearsePark (Longford) - Posts: 278 - 02/02/2009 10:26:24 195698 Link 0 |
Lads I honestly now think that we might (dare I say!) have a sniff or promotion.... PearsePark (Longford) - Posts: 278 - 02/02/2009 11:06:40 195734 Link 0 |
Good to get a win. The Bull and Mulligan were the best players for Longford. Little disappointed with Smyth, thaught that he could have done more, but he is cool under pressure. McGee didn't score much himself, but set up most of the scores. Think that Cian Mimnagh should have got in. He was excellent in the O'Byrne cup, he can score and would have kicked a few points. Need to get more out of a half forward line. The need to play as a half forward line. acomeon (Longford) - Posts: 82 - 02/02/2009 12:02:15 195793 Link 0 |
Looking back on the game I thought the Fist was very effective in Midfield, powerful runs and is a good option to have there. However he needs an imposing Midfielder with him the likes of Keenan who can catch and distribute ball. Flynn had a poor show yesterday but is worth another look. I think McGee has no specific spot in the team he seemed to wander of his own accord yesterday and poped up to take an easy score or two. He is either an inside forward or he plays the ball into the two inside I don't think he can do both. Backs were solid which was good to see. Shanley and Skelly both impressed and are two players who have been of county calibre for the past few years but weren't given a chance under Dempsey. With P Dowd, Bardens, Kav etc coming back we have to take positives from that performance. Eagleeye (Longford) - Posts: 31 - 02/02/2009 14:05:37 195910 Link 0 |
Great to win, how ever fortunate it was. The reasons that we weren't beaten home were the three soft goals , introducing Berry and some excellent defending. I would expect that from Ryan. He was a teak tough defender in his own day and Kildare won a lot of games scoring very little. Midfield got by , but I agree Flynn deserves another go. Mulligan was very good considering he was on his own. Forwards , Shanley was good, but he should stay closer to the goals. He makes these runs way out the field to get a ball. But if he gets it he's too slow on it that far out field. Other wise the rest of the forwards are medicore, but they too tackled well. Offaly will be different. We must win though for momentums sake if nothing else. Panc Panc (Longford) - Posts: 34 - 02/02/2009 19:40:06 196294 Link 0 |
good analysis panc but i disagree about flynn i just dont think he is up to it at all. its a shame keenan is gone because i think himself and kevin mulligan would make a great midfield partnership dromardabu (Longford) - Posts: 175 - 02/02/2009 22:34:21 196436 Link 0 |
good win from IMO a weak longford team,thought foy did well goin forward from cornor back,brings a new dimention to the back,his tackling mite be a bit off but he can work on that.farrell struggled with the big lad in the first half i thought.the bull had a great game,the most consistant player in longford.williams did well when he was marking the space but his man cause havok around the middle of the park and setting up attacks,didnt think smyth looked much like a captin gave away alot of ball and very slow.kevin mul was excelent ful of running,flynn was poor only caught one clean ball.half forward line was brutal.danny keenan didnt touch the bal after his point (which was well taken) mcgee was quiet and i was plesently suprised by shanley,berry made a big difference when he came on. on the 40 (Longford) - Posts: 156 - 03/02/2009 09:16:26 196526 Link 0 |
Panc what do you mean Offaly will be different? They were complete muck against Rosscommon PearsePark (Longford) - Posts: 278 - 03/02/2009 09:58:25 196569 Link 0 |
Ok we beat Cavan, but they were the better team. Now we need to win at least 3 more games to avoid relegation and have a chance of giving good confidence to the team. Who can we beat? acomeon (Longford) - Posts: 82 - 03/02/2009 21:29:32 197397 Link 0 |
johnnos bulls (None) - Posts: 527 - 03/02/2009 22:11:46 197454 Link 0 |
Offaly, Limerick and Tipp would be the three to target for definite. And would fancy my chances against the Rossies and Down at home. Both these games would depend on the injuries and players available. Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1355 - 03/02/2009 22:23:16 197472 Link 0 |
if we want to become succesful we have to be beatin offaly & tipp for starters. no reason why we cant take limerick or roscommon either but they will be tough and wins arent a guarantee! louth and down id be fairly pessimistic about even with our team at full strength dromardabu (Longford) - Posts: 175 - 03/02/2009 23:10:29 197513 Link 0 |
Acomeon, the better team usually win. Neither team are are world beaters at the moment. This league is clearly being used by both managers to experiment. Our manager, however, does not seem to get any defensive tactics right and selects too many small and timid lads who clearly dont cut the mustard !!! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 03/02/2009 23:14:49 197516 Link 0 |
we could beat brazil the way we're playing hoganstandhunk (Longford) - Posts: 49 - 03/02/2009 23:49:52 197538 Link 0 |