Interesting GAA Facts...

dublin and great supporters should be never put in the same sentence. in 2003 i think westmeath had a great run in the championship. we came up against dublin in thegame before the quarter final of the all ireland, and 3young dubs sitting on a corner started shouting " u ll never see september " at us on the way to the match.. i said nothing and went to the game, we won and on the way back, at the same corner the 3boyos were still mouthing off about dublin. it was obvious they didnt here the score or just to drunk to care, so i went over in a quite but firm voice and said,NOW YOU CAN BOOK YOUR HOLIDAYS FOR SEPTEMBER.. and walked off

AskUreSister (Westmeath) - Posts: 160 - 20/01/2009 15:04:52    184990

20/01/2009 15:04:52
AskUreSister
County: Westmeath

dublin and great supporters should be never put in the same sentence

That's a bit unfair AUS. You can't judge so many people on the actions of a few. I'm sure someone could just as easily come on here and tell a story that puts WM supports in a bad light. The Dubs have good supporters. No better and no worse that any other county. They are just as passionate about their team as you probably are about WM.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 20/01/2009 15:12:54    185005

So AskUreSister - they weren't at the game by the sound of things so I dunno how that makes them supporters - is it just cos they were from Dublin?

By the way I think your dates are wrong - in 2003 we were beaten by Armagh in the 3rd qualifying round - Westmeath had been knocked out by Monaghan in Round 1. Presume you are talking about 2004 when we were soundly beaten by Kerry. And I hope you didn't rub it into the lads too much that day - cos Derry beat Westmeath by two points !!!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 20/01/2009 15:26:25    185026

the older dublin supporters are nice people. maybe i was a bit harsh .

AskUreSister (Westmeath) - Posts: 160 - 20/01/2009 15:32:03    185029

The oldest club in continuous existence in Ireland is usually considered to be Dundalk Young Irelands alright. How old are Omeath Cuchullain Gaels? I'm sure there was a new club founded somewhere last year?

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 20/01/2009 15:32:17    185030

Very harsh AUS, i have nothing but praise for Dublin supporters. They are brilliant fans and bring a bit of colour to the championship, you can't label them all on the muppets you have dealt with!

The only problem i have with the Dubs is we never get to see them outside of Dublin often enough!

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 20/01/2009 15:34:54    185036

That's a bit unfair AUS. You can't judge so many people on the actions of a few. I'm sure someone could just as easily come on here and tell a story that puts WM supports in a bad light. The Dubs have good supporters. No better and no worse that any other county. They are just as passionate about their team as you probably are about WM. Dont agree with you there, i've gone to matches up down the country and never had any hassle with fans but yet when ever dublin is involved there's always a bit of trouble and i shall give you an example, around 2001 or 2002 i think Mayo were Playing Cork in the all ireland Quater final it was a double header Dublin were playing Donegal in the second game, it started off slowly from the crowd ''Hill 16 is dublin only'' and ''get the culchies off the hill'' soon most of hill 16 were singing it, then towards the end of the mayo cork game things started to get a bit violent, a few mates of mine started getting a few slaps across the head telling us to get out then kicks started flying one of the lads actually got money stolen from his pocket and the guy doing it didnt try to hide it. the gaurds were beside us and asked to leave for our own safety, after we got outside we met other mayo, cork and donegal people who all had similar experince's in the Hill, this wasnt from the minority of people in the hill but the majority, now tell me what other counties fans would do this???

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 20/01/2009 15:48:27    185055

yeah it was the 2004 season. got mixed up in the games and years. na i only said the one line to the lads and walked off..

AskUreSister (Westmeath) - Posts: 160 - 20/01/2009 15:52:07    185063

very unfair comment, in general d dubs are better humoured and better winners/losers than most. won't get better banter after a game than wit them win or lose! they may get a bit carried away with themselves but sure whats d harm in optimism, makes a change for this country...

jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 20/01/2009 15:56:05    185067

paddyogall

hail hail the mighty Dublins lets give them a Honorary All ireland title for being the cash cow of the GAA. i Have an interesting Question for some one to give me a fact on. How much money have the dubs brought to GAA coffers seeing as how they have 40 per cent of the population and how much have the rest of the country brought in. maybe on a per person basis maybe spme one can give me some type of ratio

Paddyogall im not sure of the exact ratio but i do know the dublin fans spend a lot of their social welfare on match tickets!!!!!!

Hoscarano (Laois) - Posts: 56 - 20/01/2009 16:30:18    185113

interesting fact is 1996 a-i hurling final gary kirby did not actually break his finger it might have taken a prang all right, but he could play for patrickswell the week after and score 10 points.

barrow (Carlow) - Posts: 128 - 20/01/2009 17:48:27    185233

paddyogall

185055 That's a bit unfair AUS. You can't judge so many people on the actions of a few. I'm sure someone could just as easily come on here and tell a story that puts WM supports in a bad light. The Dubs have good supporters. No better and no worse that any other county. They are just as passionate about their team as you probably are about WM.

Dont agree with you there, i've gone to matches up down the country and never had any hassle with fans but yet when ever dublin is involved there's always a bit of trouble and i shall give you an example, around 2001 or 2002 i think Mayo were Playing Cork in the all ireland Quater final it was a double header Dublin were playing Donegal in the second game, it started off slowly from the crowd ''Hill 16 is dublin only'' and ''get the culchies off the hill'' soon most of hill 16 were singing it, then towards the end of the mayo cork game things started to get a bit violent, a few mates of mine started getting a few slaps across the head telling us to get out then kicks started flying one of the lads actually got money stolen from his pocket and the guy doing it didnt try to hide it. the gaurds were beside us and asked to leave for our own safety, after we got outside we met other mayo, cork and donegal people who all had similar experince's in the Hill, this wasnt from the minority of people in the hill but the majority, now tell me what other counties fans would do this???

What about the Mayo fans that were throwing missiles at C Donaghy, there are Bad eggs in every county paddy

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 20/01/2009 18:50:16    185289

From my own encounters with dublin fans cant speak highly enough. Most are good GAA people> Was at the Dublin Tyrone game this year and went to maddigans after the game, had some nights craic with the dubs and tyrone fans. And to be honest one's doing the most partying were the dubs!

when most people here complain about the dubs there not complaining about the GAA fans, its normally some inner city soccer head that have watched green street and the football factory too many times and don't have the first clue about the GAA.

seanbuncrana (Donegal) - Posts: 36 - 20/01/2009 19:04:32    185300

what happened to the interesting facts?

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 21/01/2009 00:19:15    185644

4 of Dublins all-irelands came between the years 1893-99 when there was no representation from either Ulster or Connacht, hence no semi finals.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 21/01/2009 10:48:31    185831

4 of Dublins all-irelands came between the years 1893-99 when there was no representation from either Ulster or Connacht, hence no semi finals.
samin10 , 21/01/2009 at 10:48

However the other 18 ............. Meanwhile Armagh have one.

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 21/01/2009 13:13:34    185949

Tipperary and Kildare are joint 9th on the roll of honour for Football All-Irelands. Thats higher than Tyrone, Mayo and Armagh!

Rock & Roll (None) - Posts: 74 - 21/01/2009 13:49:46    186005

killanny gealdines in monaghan are the only club in the country whos home pitch is in another couny(louth).....truly ruly facinatin

the_wee_parish (Louth) - Posts: 197 - 21/01/2009 18:08:12    186300

monegal (where obama is from) is on the offaly tipp town most of the town is offaly i think but the pitch is in tipp they play in the tipp championship

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 21/01/2009 18:26:13    186331

down 5 all ireland finals 5 all ireland wins! not sure if the minors have been beatin in an allireland final ano the last 2 finals they havent!

dj27legend (Down) - Posts: 641 - 21/01/2009 19:16:31    186379