Im sick to death of limerick people bemoaning Wexfords triumph in 96. Particularly people who are still going on about Liam Dunne breaking Gary Kirbys finger. the truth of the matter is wexford would have won either way. Gary Laffan ruined yer full back line with his power and ball winning ability and would have been man of the match only for a few missed chances. Also Wexford played a lot of the game with only 14 men. If Kirbys finger was so bad why didnt he let someone else take the frees? theclawhammer (Wexford) - Posts: 240 - 19/01/2009 19:10:23 184170 Link 0 |
theclawhammer is talking absoloute pugwash.... gary kirby battled through 4 broken fingers and a broken hand to continue and apparently he was suffering a calf strain the same week. its a disgrace that this venerable mans commitment should be called into question miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 19/01/2009 19:47:22 184219 Link 0 |
and another thing Liam dunne is only a handicapp miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 19/01/2009 20:02:30 184234 Link 0 |
Amusing that after almost 13 years the main topic of conversation in Wexford hurling is still 1996 and im sure no one will question Kirby's injury and to do so is disrespectful on the man, Maybe the yellowbellys should stick to the football SWP (Limerick) - Posts: 81 - 19/01/2009 20:19:00 184245 Link 0 |
13yrs ago move on wexford man. wexford and limerick should be trying to get back to top not looking back at past glories. declan30 (Limerick) - Posts: 652 - 20/01/2009 02:33:52 184475 Link 0 |
I know its the off season, but come on. Posting comments about an all Ireland from 13 years ago and expressing your disapointment about not getting the recognition you feel you deserve for winning it.........Must be a really quiet day for you. bighitter (Limerick) - Posts: 33 - 20/01/2009 13:14:01 184817 Link 0 |
and those jerseys,uuuggghh,sorry Ballybricken. pullhaard (Limerick) - Posts: 195 - 20/01/2009 14:13:14 184918 Link 0 |
I'd expect nothing more than bitterness from people from a wasteland of a county like limerick. Our team didnt get the recognition it deserves. If the Wexford team of 1996 at their peak were to play the current Kilkenny team Wexford would win with 5 or 6 to spare. theclawhammer (Wexford) - Posts: 240 - 20/01/2009 19:29:24 185321 Link 0 |
theclawhammer would want his knock checked. hes obviousally some sort of mug miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 20/01/2009 19:51:14 185337 Link 0 |
miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 21/01/2009 00:32:38 185653 Link 0 |
beating the cats by 5-6 pints. i want some of what your on!! 14theroad (Limerick) - Posts: 249 - 22/01/2009 20:51:54 187490 Link 0 |
Lads, Don't reply to to that langer from Wexford. gaagaa69 (Tipperary) - Posts: 131 - 23/01/2009 21:10:32 188391 Link 0 |
to be honest i agree with claw hammer... im from limerick and read liam dunne's book and he talked about the incident with kirby which he insisted his innocence...i looked back on footage and kirby was further from the ball than dunne... limerick people use this as an excuse but we forget easily that we had houlihan.as hard as you'd ever get.. if kirby was that bad why wasnt he subbed... norry (Limerick) - Posts: 12 - 24/01/2009 19:04:49 188772 Link 0 |
Norry, to answer your question about Kirby being subbed, I met Frankie Carroll many years later and i asked just that question. He told me Gary was handed a hurley in the dressing room at half time, he told the management his hand was gone and he couldn't grip the hurley. He was told by Tom Ryan to stay on and he might be abe to hit a few close in frees, this is fact, this is what happened at half time. Now you tell me was that not a gift to wexford. exile (Limerick) - Posts: 214 - 25/01/2009 18:11:54 189045 Link 0 |
EXILE im not saying it wasnt a gift but it wasnt liam dunne or wexfords fault which has been suggested to clawhammers comments by limerick people. if ur facts are correct which i believe they are, then its down to bad management for limericks failure to win and no one elses... norry (Limerick) - Posts: 12 - 25/01/2009 19:44:32 189127 Link 0 |
NORRY i couldn't agree more, its not wexford's fault our management on the day was a joke, our next best forward and back up free taker Mike Galligan sitting in the stands not togged out. No idea how to use the extra man when we had him. We shot oursleves in the foot completely that day, i was more gutted after that game than in '94. What our deluded Wexford friend was saying though is he thinks that man for man wexford were a better team, now that i would argue with, man for man we should've won that game, only for the incompetence on the sideline that day that said, that had nothing what so ever got to do with Liam Dunne or Wexford, they hurled their game and fair play to them. exile (Limerick) - Posts: 214 - 25/01/2009 23:50:17 189240 Link 0 |
The Limerick team were probably better man for man but as they showed in 94, many of the players were too mentally fragile to win an all-ireland. theclawhammer (Wexford) - Posts: 240 - 26/01/2009 21:56:15 190239 Link 0 |
ive one question for theclawhammer... miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 27/01/2009 18:41:45 191238 Link 0 |
mike_tyson,what are you doing bringing it up on the Wexford message board ?????? Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 28/01/2009 05:46:24 191623 Link 0 |
listen Duffy u stick to the Wexford page. You know very little about Gaa in ur own county and even less about the scene in limerick. theclawhammer (Wexford) - Posts: 240 - 29/01/2009 00:42:04 192798 Link 0 |