The great pub quiz questions..sporting matters only.

23/01/2009 18:11:03
Plink
County: Monaghan

Very good Loughduff Lad. One more off the top of my head...

Name the World Cup winner to play in the League of Ireland.

This is again the urban legend of Socrates I presume.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 23/01/2009 18:22:19    188296

No urban legend with this one. Only played 1 or 2 games but definatly played.
It wasn't Charlton though

Plink (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 23/01/2009 18:31:15    188305

I stand corrected pearsesabu. Apologies. There has been 2

Plink (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 23/01/2009 18:35:41    188310

Donegal Insider

Heard this question on the radio a few months ago but didn't hear the answer - Which GAA team won their county Junior Champioship, Intermediate Championship and Senior Championship in successive seasons?

It could be Dromcollogher/Broadford from Limerick, I know they went very close to doing it if not succeeding in the late 90's/early 00's. Definitely won the Junior & Intermediate anyway.

limerick man (None) - Posts: 32 - 23/01/2009 19:12:26    188344

Man Utd question

City: Dublin
River: Jordan
Mountain: Blanc/Moses
Bird: Busby/Robins/Eagles
Animal: Webb/????

limerick man (None) - Posts: 32 - 23/01/2009 19:18:44    188347

What phenonomel feat took place on September 28th, 1996?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 23/01/2009 20:02:10    188374

I think Hurst or Nobby Stiles came over as well (or was it Stiles has a son played League of Ireland). There was definitely a spate of pay-for-play visits by big name players from the English League at the end of the career. I think Best even was lined up to play for somebody.

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 23/01/2009 21:26:41    188400

Lads - for sure Bobby Charlton played for Waterford Utd in the mid 70s. I remember well going to Dalymount to see him play against Bohs - I think he played almost a full season. I also remember that Geoff Hurst may have played for Cork but can't be sure. Around this time some of the English pros used to come over at the end of their careers. A guy called Bobby Tambling (Chelsea & Palace) played for Cork, Waterford & Shamrock Rovers. Rodney Marsh also played around the same time as best - what a player! Older posters may remember Best and Marsh and the circus when they went to Fulham around '76. Just recalling this now is weird!!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 23/01/2009 22:40:23    188439

Who is the only man to ride a grand national winner, three years later win the Olympic 200 metres gold medal, and then 9 years later score in the European Cup Final?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 23/01/2009 22:41:31    188440

First african to win European Cup.

Hannnibal, scored against Roma in the final

JimMorrisson (Leitrim) - Posts: 309 - 24/01/2009 00:37:36    188506

Eusebio was born and reared in portuegese east Africa - only became Mozambique after independence in the mid 70's.

I think Grobbelaar is correct

JimMorrisson (Leitrim) - Posts: 309 - 24/01/2009 00:40:05    188507

dwight YORKe played for United andthats a city!

JimMorrisson (Leitrim) - Posts: 309 - 24/01/2009 00:48:12    188508

Patrique

Tommy Smith

JimMorrisson (Leitrim) - Posts: 309 - 24/01/2009 00:54:33    188510

Niamh
County: Derry

187048 The Sage, is it Frank Mitchell?

Yes Niamh - It is Frank Mitchell AKA Francis McClory won a club AI with Burren
Frank Mitchel is his 'stage name' - Like you would need one to read the weather on UTV ! !

The Sage (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 24/01/2009 03:10:26    188532

Easy one - But worth a mention for those who don't realise the greatness of his achievement

Player who won AI for club and county in both hurling and football

(son plays prof soccer across water)

The Sage (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 24/01/2009 03:15:03    188533

Only Junior team to win 2 all stars in same season

The Sage (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 24/01/2009 03:19:33    188534

JimMorrisson
County: Leitrim

Patrique

Tommy Smith

Excellent, Jim, well done indeed.

I assume it was the same person, there was only one Tommy Smith? That's what the Liverpool fans used to sing anyway.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 24/01/2009 14:02:11    188621

WHO IS TOMSMITH

AskUreSister (Westmeath) - Posts: 160 - 24/01/2009 14:19:59    188637

name four players that played with liverpool and everton in the premership?
name four player managers that reached the fa cup final?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 24/01/2009 18:35:35    188757

Any evidence of this theory that Alonso won an All-Ireland medal? He did state ages ago that he played Gaelic Football with some boys while staying in Kells and said that it was so savage that players should wear crash helmets. No mention from the man himself about winning an AI medal, just idle message board gossip i think!

my cousin went to school with him, sure they had him on the panel for the crack, ya know, giving the exchange student the whole irish experience thing

milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 24/01/2009 18:59:05    188769