Were Tyrone robbed of an All-Ireland in 1995?

Dubinmeath

180785 In one post there dellpole you have changed the argument from one about senior county team support to that of U21 support. The usual nonsensical rubbish and twisting and evasion we have come to expect from you. Are you in politics? But you really should get out more (a lot more). You are most certainly the top of the class when it comes to the 'Posters to Absolutely Ignore' category, which I will do from now on, as I suspect most people already do. Get yourself a WII or a Playstation or something and leave people to have a sensible chat. Away with you now. And don't even bother with your usual PC response about everyone entitled to their opinion and if you don't like it etc. Jeeze, sometimes democracy sucks.

Your replying to them so if you do not like them why reply . Now who made the fool of them selves there . So what fans do you bring outside dublin . And yes i was out tonight at the tyrone game thanks for asking . So read what you wrote before typing in future .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 14/01/2009 23:36:31    180798

"Peter Canavan was the only member of the 95 Tyrone team to go on and win an All Ireland Medal in 2003 & 2005"

"Incorrect, chris lawn won all-ireland medals in 03, 05 and also was a part of the 95 team! "

I think you're both wrong. As far as I know the following players were in the Tyrone panel in 1995 and 2003, how many actually collected medals in 2003 I don't know.
Chris Lawn, Seamus McCallan, Jody Gormley, Pascal Canavan, Peter Canavan, Damian Gormley and Gerard Cavlan.

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 14/01/2009 23:37:16    180799

DBPC i am on about senior championship games ok do you think croke park want dublin to travel to tullamore and play offaly while they can get seventy thousand or more in croker its all down to money simple as that . And dublinmeath you are right DBPC speaks with fork tongue but where would people likes his hatred go if we were not here

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/01/2009 23:43:39    180807

PJ County: All Posts: 553 180796 Dellboypolecat County: Tyrone Posts: 1792 180761 hipster County: Dublin Posts: 215 180749 trileacman i am not been smart but all you ever get on these posts is people giving out about Dublin gaa like we robbed yous in 95 we ruined the late late show our fans are fairweather fans our players are brutal it kills a lot of lads here to say any good about dublin . all i pointed out is that we sell out croker more than anyother county and believe it or not we would prefere to play our county matches outside dublin cause we love to travel but the gaa wont let this happen cause were the cash cow Your still talking jibberish lad. And sure the year you played tyrone in navan in the u21 final you never filled the crowd and it was only in navan and when you played us in omagh yous did not bring much of a crowd . So what is your point here that you said yous want to travel and clones one year as well . So please tell me what your saying please . Dell tell me an under 21 team that gets the same crowd as their county team would, and as for not bringing much of a crowd to Omagh, you need to look back at the turn out of the tyrone fans last year, especially in Omagh, pathetic I would call It myself. Of course they all jumped on the Band wagan when they reach the latter stages of the championship. Jibberish? The Jibberish is in the Middle paragraph of this post I'm afraid PJ I have said this alot before and on the dublin board tyrone had one of the worst last year and your right it was a disgrace but i have said this so many times there summer men . 500 in louth less than a 1000 in newry about 9 thousand in omagh 8 against yous and mayo and about 15 against wexford so yea your correct . That is what you call bad support but you will notice i said this more than once .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 15/01/2009 00:14:53    180834

"I think you're both wrong. As far as I know the following players were in the Tyrone panel in 1995 and 2003, how many actually collected medals in 2003 I don't know.
Chris Lawn, Seamus McCallan, Jody Gormley, Pascal Canavan, Peter Canavan, Damian Gormley and Gerard Cavlan.

pearsesabu, I forgot abot Chris Lawn being on the 95 Team and was rightly corrected by titasikram

But the players you have listed Bar Peter Canavan & Chris Lawn were not on the panels in both 95 & 2003

Seamus McCallen - Retired
Jody Gormley - Retired
Pascal Canavan - Retired (Pascal dropped out of the panel at the start of 2003 and sadly missed out on an All Ireland after all the years of service he gave to Tyrone)
Damien Gormley - Retired
Gerard Cavlan - On the Senior Tyrone Panel in 96 not 95

RiceysBrother (Tyrone) - Posts: 125 - 15/01/2009 09:42:56    180903

JayoCluxton

180503 Is this thread still going....Brilliant!.....
jimbodub , 14/01/2009 at 17:15

I think its brilliant jimbo! If we can just keep it going another 11 years we can have a special 25th anniversary. We can have a re-enactment of the game. Charlie getting sent off and taking 8 minutes to leave the pitch - old age is a divil! Peter Canavan not picking the ball off the ground. And maybe we'll get a few fireworks - in 2020 they'll probably cost around 20 million - but what the hell. This match deserves to be remembered and celebrated forever ....

ps It may also be the 25th anniversary since Dublin won Sam :-)

Haha.... I agree it should be remebered forever! but 2009 is our year Jayo. I dont really know what I'm basing that on.... but never mind the facts, 2009 is our year.

I dont want to wait until the Artane "Robot" boys band plays Molly Malone to the Hill to see us win Sam....although that would be kind of cool.....! :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/01/2009 09:52:38    180909

RiceysBrother - I stand corrected - I was just going by the panels for 1995 and 2003 listed in Joseph Martins The GAA in Tyrone: The Long Road to Glory.

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 15/01/2009 10:02:22    180923

RiceysBrother

Gerard Cavlan - On the Senior Tyrone Panel in 96 not 95
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Incorrect - Cavlan was on the panel in '95. In fact, he made his senior debut in the league in 1993, although still a minor in 1994.

Cavlan scored 1-6 away to Derry 2 weeks after the all-ireland final, and 0-8 off Martin O'Connell against Meath in Navan in the same league campaign. How he wasn't brought on against Dublin, when we were crying out for a score, I will never know.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 15/01/2009 12:05:30    181055

That was a great Dublin if I remember rightly. The boy wonder Jayo set the world alight back then. Member he lost his boot in the semi final against Cork and still scored a smashing goal. Brian Stynes, Paul Bealin, Jim Gavin, Dessie Farrell, Charlie Redmond, Paul Clarke, Mick Galvin, John O'Leary, Paul Curran, Keith Barr, Mick Deasy all great players, they deserved an All-Ireland. What was the name of the number two on that team?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 15/01/2009 12:31:25    181089

Moran?

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 15/01/2009 12:51:08    181118

What was the name of the number two on that team?
Loyal2TheRoyal , 15/01/2009 at 12:31

Loyal - twas Paddy Moran from Whitehall Colmcilles.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 15/01/2009 12:51:37    181119

Ye I was thinking his name was Moran. He was a very good player too - the best corner back in the country at one time.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 15/01/2009 12:56:38    181128

....That was Moran and it was Mick Deegan and Dermot Deasy.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/01/2009 12:56:42    181129

Yeah saw that Cavlan was named on the subs, when reading the PDF file - Long Road To Glory By Joseph Martin

Calvo was an amazing player at minor level for tyrone, so I would also ask the question why a player of his skill wasn't brought on when tyrone's forward line (Bar Wee Peter) was struggling?

I Suppose its a bit like what Roy Keane said when asked about the Sapian fallout and if looking he would have handled things diferently? Keane's answer - "Hindsight Is A Great Thing"

So with Hindsight I suppose it's easy to look back and think of ways we could all do things diferently if we could......

RiceysBrother (Tyrone) - Posts: 125 - 15/01/2009 12:57:12    181131

Jayo as per our chat......

Bump!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/01/2009 17:33:29    184061

This match on tg4 this evening. Brutal stuff

pundit2 (Louth) - Posts: 597 - 31/07/2013 21:20:46    1449287

Yep terrible game but we won so who cares haha

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/07/2013 21:25:27    1449296

Us Dublin boys are as hard as teak!....the rest of ye hold yer manhoods cheap where Dublin boys are about!....we throw ye Mammys boys around like the rag doll Anna!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 31/07/2013 21:28:24    1449299

In fairness, after heartbreaking defeats in 93 and 94, and after Charlie scored their goal, I didn't actually begrudge the Dubs this one. Felt sorry for Tyrone, particularly since they deserved a replay. Cr*p game though

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 31/07/2013 21:34:09    1449312

Snufalufagus

Us Dublin boys are as hard as teak!....the rest of ye hold yer manhoods cheap where Dublin boys are about!....we throw ye Mammys boys around like the rag doll Anna!

Now i know the secret to understanding your inane drivel, just think the opposite . One thing yer not sunny jim is natural hardman.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 31/07/2013 21:40:34    1449323