Despite what some posters have said about Tyrone people being "Sore Losers", "Whinging On About A Defeat 14 Years Ago", the truth is were are merely responding to a Meath poster who started this thread, asking the Question "Were Tyrone Robbed Of An All Ireland in 1995" So in response to this tread, just like any other Hogan Stand Member, Tyrone posters are entitled to give their opinion. Having been at the game as a Tyrone supporter I would be the first to admit it was a poor Final and accept bar "Wee Peter" (Canavan) Tyrone played poorly. The Media Hype machine had Jason Sherlock & Co. built up as world beaters, But in that particular game Dublin also played poorly and were a pretty average looking side. A one point advantage may have been all that separated the sides on the scoreboard at full time, but the 95 Final will always be remembered for the controversy involving Sean McLaughlin's disallowed point for Tyrone at the very end of the match and Dublin's Charlie Redmond not leaving the pitch when Sent Off by Ref Paddy Russell in the second half and having to be sent off for a "Second time" when Russell noticed he was still on the pitch. As stated by PearseAbu, Tyrone were entitled to appeal the Final result on the grounds that an official rule (6.4) had been broken by Dublin's Charlie Redmond 6.4 (a) To refuse to leave the field of play when ordered off. A Player(s) refusing to leave the Field when ordered off, or rejoining the Game having been ordered off. Forfeiture of the Game and Award to the Opposing Team Had the Tyrone County board appealed the Result, Tyrone "would" have been awarded the Final, but to win our first All-Ireland on appeal grounds was a No No. I still feel that had the scenario been reversed, an appeal would have been made by Dublin and/or pressure would have been made on the Tyrone County Board to offer a Replay due to the unique circumstances. How would Dublin or any team on the other side of the fence react, If The scenario was reversed? Tyrone Win The 95 Final With A One Point Win Over Dublin Tyrone's Ciaran Corr Is Sent Off But Stay's On The Pitch For Eight Minutes Before The Ref Notices And Sends Him Off For "The Second Time" Dublin Have A Chance To Equalise The Match In The Final Minute When Pat Gilroy Scoops A Bouncing Ball To Jason Sherlock, but the "Equalising Point" is ruled out for a debateable foul on the ball before Dublin's equaliser. Carlowman says "Please read Russells book. It does clarify clearly what happened. Russell believed that Redmond had been sent off and was off. When he did notice him again, he did send him off for a second time, straight away. Redmond made a meal of it at the time and made Russell look fairly small, now with his book, the record is there for posterity." While this may clear up how Charlie Redmond managed to stay on the pitch, It still can't change the "FACT " that the official rule (6.4) was broken by Dublin Where Tyrone robbed of an All Ireland - No We were entitled to be awarded the Final under the GAA's official rules So maybe being offered a replay by Dublin would and should have been the outcome RiceysBrother (Tyrone) - Posts: 125 - 14/01/2009 14:49:38 180247 Link 0 |
1995 is the only time I can ever recall a losing team not only not congratulating the winners but filling the papers the following days with whinging and moaning. I could fill pages with occassions when Dublin were 'robbed' as I am sure other people from other counties could. 13 years ago for jaysus sake! Get over it. Dublin and Meath and Kerry NEVER engaged in that sort of *****. Just another one of the great innovations you've introduced. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/01/2009 15:07:03 180276 Link 0 |
Two things. pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 14/01/2009 15:19:22 180285 Link 0 |
hurlingdub - the papers are fileld with robberies in Dublin already why would you want to add to it!!!!! bocerty (Tyrone) - Posts: 539 - 14/01/2009 15:35:59 180300 Link 0 |
Quote HurlingDub "1995 is the only time I can ever recall a losing team not only not congratulating the winners but filling the papers the following days with whinging and moaning." The Papers got filled with exactly what they wanted "A Controversial Story" IT SELLS PAPERS!! I mean when a Reporter came knocking and asked a member of the Tyrone team how they feel after the final & their viewpoint on the mentioned incidents, well what did anybody from Dublin seriously ask them to say?? Did people expect the Tyrone Management, Players & Supporters to "Lie" to the Reporters about their views on the incidents? In this match the "Controversial" descions went Dublin's way The old arguement, some days the decisions go for you other days they go against you doesn't really wash with the 95 final When have Tyrone or any other county had a player sent off and then not go off in a Senior County Chamionship match? FACT Official GAA Rule rule (6.4) was broken by DUBLIN not Tyrone 6.4 (a) To refuse to leave the field of play when ordered off. A Player(s) refusing to leave the Field when ordered off, or rejoining the Game having been ordered off. Forfeiture of the Game and Award to the Opposing Team Peter Canavan was the only member of the 95 Tyrone team to go on and win an All Ireland Medal in 2003 & 2005 History remembers the Winners in All Ireland Finals, Tyrone had every right to fee aggrieved and when questioned express their feelings to the Press, Supporters, family & friends. RiceysBrother (Tyrone) - Posts: 125 - 14/01/2009 16:48:03 180399 Link 0 |
Is this thread still going....Brilliant!..... jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/01/2009 17:15:45 180425 Link 0 |
OK we cheated and robbed tyrone we have been found out it was a gaa conspiracy after we done the moon landings and the JFK thing we decided we better teach tyrone a lesson and we waited till the third weekend of september 1995 and we got yousand got yous good. Come to think about it i dont think we ever won a match with out cheating diving getting players sent off abusing players when they are taking frees and feigning injury. And the seventy odd thousand fans you see at dublin games well they are all actors cause we hate the gaa in dublin dont we . WHERE WOULD YOUS BE WITHOUT US no one to fund the gaa and no one to hate . hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/01/2009 17:17:54 180429 Link 0 |
Yep you were robbed, that's sport. RUBADUB (Dublin) - Posts: 477 - 14/01/2009 17:30:04 180439 Link 0 |
hipster Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 14/01/2009 18:03:33 180471 Link 0 |
I cant believe they are still whinging :) bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 14/01/2009 18:34:51 180501 Link 0 |
Is this thread still going....Brilliant!..... JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 14/01/2009 18:39:38 180503 Link 0 |
"WHERE WOULD YOUS BE WITHOUT US no one to fund the gaa" trileacman (Tyrone) - Posts: 759 - 14/01/2009 20:18:49 180561 Link 0 |
Riceys Brother titasikram (Tyrone) - Posts: 117 - 14/01/2009 20:37:58 180572 Link 0 |
RUBADUB brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 14/01/2009 20:42:47 180578 Link 0 |
trileacman i am not been smart but all you ever get on these posts is people giving out about Dublin gaa like we robbed yous in 95 we ruined the late late show our fans are fairweather fans our players are brutal it kills a lot of lads here to say any good about dublin . all i pointed out is that we sell out croker more than anyother county and believe it or not we would prefere to play our county matches outside dublin cause we love to travel but the gaa wont let this happen cause were the cash cow hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/01/2009 23:02:19 180749 Link 0 |
can we expect a meeting of minds on this one lads dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 14/01/2009 23:08:32 180757 Link 0 |
hipster Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 14/01/2009 23:11:51 180761 Link 0 |
The real question should be 'Why have Dublin underachieved since?'. That Dublin side 90 - 95 had some really decent players and they deserved the title after coming so close for 4 years. Tyrone, Canavan apart, were poor that day and while the disallowed point was a talking point it wasn't the main reason Tyrone lost. They only really started to play in the last 10 mins and if there had been another 5 mins at the end they would have won, they put the Dubs under real pressure towards the end. Leaving aside the other scientific block as to why Antrim with it's population and potential is still cr*p it's a mystery why the Dubs seem unable to do the business when it matters. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 14/01/2009 23:16:13 180767 Link 0 |
In one post there dellpole you have changed the argument from one about senior county team support to that of U21 support. The usual nonsensical rubbish and twisting and evasion we have come to expect from you. Are you in politics? But you really should get out more (a lot more). You are most certainly the top of the class when it comes to the 'Posters to Absolutely Ignore' category, which I will do from now on, as I suspect most people already do. Get yourself a WII or a Playstation or something and leave people to have a sensible chat. Away with you now. And don't even bother with your usual PC response about everyone entitled to their opinion and if you don't like it etc. Jeeze, sometimes democracy sucks. Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 14/01/2009 23:29:05 180785 Link 0 |
Dellboypolecat PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 14/01/2009 23:35:43 180796 Link 0 |