Were Tyrone robbed of an All-Ireland in 1995?

Tyrone probably deserved a replay with the Canavan"free".They were beaten by a Dublin team at the end of their run just about but Tyrone were nothing near the Harte teams and Dublin were much better 2 or 3 years before that.

northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 12/01/2009 12:09:02    178238

Much as I hate to get involved in this - since no-one has quoted the rules (I assume these were in place in 1995) I thought I'd just post them up. Technically, the playing rules (6.4 below) were not applied as Redmond came back on the field and the referee didn't notice for 8 minutes. Thus, Rule 146d should have been applied, as it was not dealt with by the match official. As far as I know, the Tyrone club chairman met after the final and were told they could appeal the result of the game under Rule 146, Dublin would forfeit the game and it would be awarded to Tyrone. Since it was clear to everyone that Redmond was sent off and then the Dublin management told him to him to go back on after he was sent off the field of play - there were no grounds to claim mitigating circumstances here. The choice the Tyrone club chairmen had was whether to win their first senior All-Ireland by appeal. They chose not to, stating that they wished to win it outright on the pitch - and fair play to them. Playing Rules 6.4 (a) To refuse to leave the field of play when ordered off. (b) To rejoin the game after being ordered off. PROCEDURE First give a three minute warning to the team captain, or the official in charge of the team, or the player(s) involved, and then, if the player(s) refuses to comply, terminate the game. GAA Rulebook Rule 146 (d) (1) Premature Termination of a Game- By reason of Serious Disruption by Players, Officials or Supporters of a Team; Penalty: Team - Forfeiture of the Game and Award to the Opposing Team (unless both Teams are responsible), save where there are exceptional mitigating factors involved. Other Penalties - at the discretion of the Council or the Committee-in-Charge. (2) Premature Termination of a Game - By reason of- (i) A Player(s) refusing to leave the Field when ordered off, or rejoining the Game having been ordered off. (ii) A Team or Player(s) leaving the Field without the Referee's Permission or Refusing to continue Playing. Penalties: Team and other Penalties - as in (1) above Player(s) who caused Termination - 24 weeks suspension, in addition to any suspension for an Infraction committed in the Game.

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 12/01/2009 12:24:57    178261

Tyrone got a penalty for a perfectly fair tackle by O'Shaugnessy 3 years ago. Probably turned the game. Just mention that as one example. Lots of others and know Armagh have a few! Strangely most people don't still whinge about such like 14 years later! There's hardly a match that does not have a controversial incident.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 12/01/2009 12:26:51    178263

Unlucky but we werent robbed. Think Russell's decision was incorrect but you win some, you lose some. That particular Dublin team were unlucky in the preceding years.

I would echo the statement that the 96 defeat had a worse effect on Tyrone.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 12/01/2009 14:02:17    178362

Another question that has bothered me.

Did Meath teach Tyrone and indeed all Ulster teams how to win at Gaelic Football? Personally I thought 1996 was a superb performance by Meath, if the Canavans and the Lawns and the Doohers and the Devlins and anyone else got hurt, then it was because they weren't good enough not because Meath set out to injure them. Graham Geraghty and Barry Callaghan and a few others gave a masterclass that day. In actual fact, this is the first time, I've heard supporters claiming they should have won a game despite that the fact they lost it by 9 points!!!!!

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 12/01/2009 15:09:49    178431

Dellboypolecat

177832 PJ yes your correct to a certain extent but my point is a player that was sent off but still on 8 minutes later now come on that has never happened before . And the dubs are the only ones in the whole of ireland to say it was not a point when clearly it was . In 2005 the ref sent o neill of saying he got two yellows in which he did not and we lost that game as well . Your man got sent off and stayed on for 8 minutes . But i do see what your saying and it is over now but we where asked a simple quiestion where we robbed and yes we where.

Robbed No, Tyrone just lost a close game that could've went either way, Dublin and other teams have lost tight games down through the years, yet you don't see them setting up threads 14 years later crying about it, move on

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 12/01/2009 18:12:27    178639

Loyal2TheRoyal

178431 Another question that has bothered me.

Did Meath teach Tyrone and indeed all Ulster teams how to win at Gaelic Football? Personally I thought 1996 was a superb performance by Meath, if the Canavans and the Lawns and the Doohers and the Devlins and anyone else got hurt, then it was because they weren't good enough not because Meath set out to injure them. Graham Geraghty and Barry Callaghan and a few others gave a masterclass that day. In actual fact, this is the first time, I've heard supporters claiming they should have won a game despite that the fact they lost it by 9 points!!!!!

If Meath are so good at teaching other teams how to win the All Ireland I think it would be a good idea if they taught themselves how to do likewise,

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 12/01/2009 18:17:35    178643

if the Canavans and the Lawns and the Doohers and the Devlins and anyone else got hurt, then it was because they weren't good enough

erm?

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 12/01/2009 20:59:24    178741

Loyal2TheRoyal

178431 Another question that has bothered me.

Not insulting your county but how many of them has 6 allstars and 3 all ireland medals .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 12/01/2009 21:29:53    178769

PJ

178639 Dellboypolecat

177832 PJ yes your correct to a certain extent but my point is a player that was sent off but still on 8 minutes later now come on that has never happened before . And the dubs are the only ones in the whole of ireland to say it was not a point when clearly it was . In 2005 the ref sent o neill of saying he got two yellows in which he did not and we lost that game as well . Your man got sent off and stayed on for 8 minutes . But i do see what your saying and it is over now but we where asked a simple quiestion where we robbed and yes we where.

Robbed No, Tyrone just lost a close game that could've went either way, Dublin and other teams have lost tight games down through the years, yet you don't see them setting up threads 14 years later crying about it, move on

PJ I am agreeing with you in a way but answer me this when ever did a player get sent off but still on 8 minutes later and what would you call that.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 12/01/2009 22:11:36    178804

PJ, For your infomation, Meath are in 4th place in the All-Ireland Roll of Honour list with 7 titles behind Galway, Dublin and Kerry. By the way where do your alegiances lie?

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 12/01/2009 22:19:56    178813

PJ have another look at who set up the thread and you'll find it was a MEATH man not a tyrone fan.

bocerty (Tyrone) - Posts: 539 - 12/01/2009 22:56:46    178849

to tyro8...re the referee letting Charlie Redmond run around the field...

Please read Russells book. It does clarify clearly what happened. Russell believed that Redmond had been sent off and was off. When he did notice him again, he did send him off, straight away. Redmond made a meal of it at the time and made Russell look fairly small, now with his book, the record is there for posterity.

Redmond was free to speak to the press and made Russell look like a juvenile and the ref could do or say nothing at the time. Russells book puts the record straight. So browse the section and it makes for interesting reading...

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 12/01/2009 23:30:44    178867

12/01/2009 21:29:53
Dellboypolecat

Loyal2TheRoyal

Not insulting your county but how many of them has 6 allstars and 3 all ireland medals .

That is insulting Dellboy to the likes of Maurice Fitzgerald for one, Mick O'Connell, Sean Purcell, indeed just about anyone who matters in a discussion about say the best player ever.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 13/01/2009 00:15:23    178879

dublin better team on day, tyrone team flash in pan that year, dubs had a seasoned team. hey who won more since tyrone 3 dubs 0, time has a way of leveling out things. mayo 4 sam 09!

richiescats (USA) - Posts: 420 - 13/01/2009 02:34:31    178887

Dellboy

PJ I am agreeing with you in a way but answer me this when ever did a player get sent off but still on 8 minutes later and what would you call that.

It was'nt Redmonds fault that the Officials were'nt up to the Job, there was confusion as to whether redmond was sent off or not, even the commintators on the game were'nt sure. Anyway that had nothing to do with Tyrone losing the Game, If anything tyrone probably would have lost by more if he went off earlier, as 14 men usually rise to the challenge.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 13/01/2009 16:09:05    179342

Diego

178813 PJ, For your infomation, Meath are in 4th place in the All-Ireland Roll of Honour list with 7 titles behind Galway, Dublin and Kerry. By the way where do your alegiances lie?

I'm a Dub, clicked on the All button by Mistake when signing up. These ol things happen i suppose.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 13/01/2009 16:17:35    179349

hipster

177456 TYRONE some of yous are poor losers and poor winners just anti dub

dublin supporters are the worst losers ive ever hear and seen. the village i live in is full of dublin folk. if its not gaa its soccer. ye whinge about everything. ye build up ure football team so much that when they do lose ye pick on the management and then the players. im sure its bad in every county but i see it alot from dublin supporters.

AskUreSister (Westmeath) - Posts: 160 - 13/01/2009 17:15:54    179460

askuresister THANK YOU FOR PROVING MY POINT

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 13/01/2009 18:09:23    179529

AskUresister

dublin supporters are the worst losers ive ever hear and seen. the village i live in is full of dublin folk. if its not gaa its soccer. ye whinge about everything. ye build up ure football team so much that when they do lose ye pick on the management and then the players. im sure its bad in every county but i see it alot from dublin supporters.

As you say there are bad losers everywhere, the reason you see more from Dublin is because Dublin have more supporters than any one else, but I'm sure you knew that anyway,

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 13/01/2009 19:05:07    179580