.....To all the Tyrone lads. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/01/2009 14:31:02 177263 Link 0 |
patrique County: Antrim Posts: 1621 177067 09/01/2009 21:07:23 charlotted County: Leitrim Posts: 205 177037 this is like listening to someone complain about a ref after a match, we could have won only for a few decisions bla bla bla. BS. what happened happened, deal with it. if me aunty had 6&!!s she'd be me Very true. But if we just accepted "that's what happened" all the time there would be no discussin boards, no discussion, and life would be very boring. In 1996, after the bold Patrique had declared to one and all that Tyrone were a sert to win the title, they lost to Meath in unfortunate circumstances. I think that's when they decided to become a little bit more cynical, to ensure a first title. Now I know why the glens of Antrim are so green. Well fertilised by the words from your good self. 7 years elapsed between the Meath lesson and the first All Ireland,not to mention different managers and countless players. Just another sweeping generalisation from your good self, critique RichardCranium (Tyrone) - Posts: 262 - 10/01/2009 15:16:23 177286 Link 0 |
But Jimbo, what about the matter in which it was won? It was one of the worst finals ever, with Peter lighting up the occasion. There is no doubt in my mind that the ball was definately bobbling, sure God doesnt lie. Redmond blatently cheated and Dublin therefore won an All Ireland which is somewhat tainted by the matter in which it was won. Tyr08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 435 - 10/01/2009 15:21:23 177292 Link 0 |
PJ How do you call it fair when a player gets sent off and still on 8 minutes later and a good point not giving . ROBBED. Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/01/2009 15:38:54 177319 Link 0 |
RichardCranium County: Tyrone Posts: 61 177286 patrique County: Antrim Posts: 1621 Now I know why the glens of Antrim are so green. Well fertilised by the words from your good self. 7 years elapsed between the Meath lesson and the first All Ireland,not to mention different managers and countless players. Just another sweeping generalisation from your good self, critique 10/01/2009 15:21:23 So Dick Cranium, you can count. That is progress. From 1996 to 2003 Tyrone made every effort to win but simply were not good enough, falling to the mighty Sligo in the quarters in 2002, and playing second fiddle to a good Armagh team for much of the time. I honestly cannot see what point you are TRYING to make. When they were next in a final, 2003, they adopted cynical tactics and won. That's all I said. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 10/01/2009 16:27:19 177343 Link 0 |
If Tyrone had or won the game by a point and a Tyrone player stayed on for 8 minutes after getting sent off then GAA headquarters would have ordered the game to be replayed. Simple fact is they did not want an Ulster team to win it for the fifth year in a row. samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 10/01/2009 16:56:07 177357 Link 0 |
.....To all the Tyrone lads. MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 10/01/2009 16:57:10 177358 Link 0 |
I would say the meath game in 96 will last longer in my memory than 95. the physicality meath showed towards dooher and canavan that day put the confidence of tyrone back years, not until the golden generation of mcguigan, gormley, mcmenamin et al added a youthful tenacity to the wily heads of canavan, dooher and cavlan, here were players who had came through the ranks used to winning, and although the succesful underage sides of the early 90's included cavlan and canavan, they did not have same quality of player moving up to senior ranks alongside them as the minors of the late 90's that won tom markhams. milo (Tyrone) - Posts: 238 - 10/01/2009 17:24:22 177368 Link 0 |
SAM10 Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/01/2009 19:30:47 177439 Link 0 |
Patrique, black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 10/01/2009 19:44:36 177444 Link 0 |
Agree with Samin10, Tyrone were definitely robbed in '95 as everything went against them. Can anyone imagine a Dublin player having a point disallowed for a "lift" ball or the reaction of the crowd if a Tyrone player having been sent off remained on the field for 8 minutes. I dont blame the Dubs for this entirely as it was the officials fault. Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/01/2009 19:53:48 177451 Link 0 |
Tyr08 But Jimbo, what about the matter in which it was won? It was one of the worst finals ever, with Peter lighting up the occasion. There is no doubt in my mind that the ball was definately bobbling, sure God doesnt lie. Redmond blatently cheated and Dublin therefore won an All Ireland which is somewhat tainted by the matter in which it was won. Thanks again....ahhhh such happy memories...and just to add THE manner in which it was won!!!....at least we were unbeaten in 1995...and Leinster Champions. Manner in which it was won!!!... haha thats rich coming from a Tyrone back door beauty. Thank God for the Qualifying System aye... Haha you boys really think things started in 03 dont yiz.... manner in which it was won...At Least we could actually call ourselves ALL IRELAND Champions.....not 3/4 All Ireland Champions. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/01/2009 19:55:53 177453 Link 0 |
TYRONE some of yous are poor losers and poor winners just anti dub hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 10/01/2009 19:57:49 177456 Link 0 |
The point Im making, critique is that you state that Tyrone decided to take a cynical approach in 1996. What bearing does a game against Meath in 1996 have in relation to Tyrone beating Armagh in 2003?Everyone talks about Dooher, Mc Bride and Canavan getting injured in that game. Fact that Tyrone were outclassed by a good team seems to be lost in the mist somewhere. Men against boys in that game, same as the 1994 Ulster final when Down gave Tyrone a lesson. Cynical is not a word I would use to describe ther 03 victory. More like a team well organised and with a winning mentality. RichardCranium (Tyrone) - Posts: 262 - 10/01/2009 20:07:29 177461 Link 0 |
would have to agree with thomas clarke on all of his points there. orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 10/01/2009 21:01:53 177500 Link 0 |
jimbodub brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 10/01/2009 21:05:19 177504 Link 0 |
Dick Cranium, I was at every Tyrone game in 1996. ANYONE who says they lost to a better team in Meath in 1996 obviously knows very little about football. Tyrone were capable of beating that Meath team by at least 10 points. They were the victims of some shocking tackles and poor referreeing. After that defeat I think they got the "win at all costs" mentality. By 2003 they indeed had a winning mentality. As I said, if a "winning" mentality is the Dubs in 1995 and Tyrone in 2003 then I for one can do without it, I would sooner watch Laois and Mayo playing football. And as you know I like the Dubs, and I have said that Tyrone redeemed themselves in 2005 and 2003. In short, if I felt justified in being annoyed by the Dubs in 1995, I felt justified being annoyed by Tyrone in 2003. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 10/01/2009 21:11:41 177505 Link 0 |
very good Jimbodub - almost as childish as when you threw the dummy out of the pram a while back when you didnt like some of the posts about the GPA, but i'd rather have a laughing jimbodub than the sulking 'i'm not playing anymore' one we had not so long ago. bocerty (Tyrone) - Posts: 539 - 10/01/2009 23:17:16 177562 Link 0 |
if you are talking exactly about the point in the end- no we were't robbed it was a clear take off the ground-i dont know how anyone can argue agianst that. with anything else its just the way it goes sometimes you get decisions some times you dont there were times in the recent years when we have got decisions that helped us. it all comes down to luck i suppose passerby (Tyrone) - Posts: 724 - 10/01/2009 23:32:45 177567 Link 0 |
Peter Canavan apart, Tyrone were very unconvincing that day. However there's no doubt that the referee's poor decisions affected the result NOT through any malpractice it must be said. The occasion became too much and overwhelmed him eventually. Canavan didn't pick the ball off the ground at the end, it clearly took a bump before he grabbed it but the ref didn't give the the point. Only he knows why as it was clearly the wrong decision but that wasn't a bad Dublin side. I would agree with some other posters who said the following year was worse for Tyrone. They were given such a battering by Meath it would make you wince. Tyrone learnt a lesson from then and that's why I laugh when some of our southern brethren go on about the Ulster physical side. Meath and Cork in the 80's and 90's beat most of their opponents black and blue and I don't recall too many calls for rules changes then. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 11/01/2009 01:29:39 177590 Link 0 |