Dublin greats of the past. Where are they now??

Was doing an early bit of ''spring cleaning'' the other day and came across some old programmes from matches I went to when I was a nipper. Some great names and I couldn't help but wonder if some of them are still involved with their clubs? Does anyone know if Jim Roynane is still involved with Clontarf? Is PJ Buckley still helping out at Isles , Likewise is Ray Hazely still involved with St Vincents???

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 05/01/2009 19:50:44    173472

pj buckley is still living around finglas.not sure if hes still involved with the isles.never heard of jim ronayne since his car garage on jones road closed down.

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 06/01/2009 00:36:00    173642

I am nearly sure PJ Buckley trained Kells a couple of years back but I could be wrong

thesnail (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 06/01/2009 11:13:10    173762

There was a good few old heroes in Pairc Barrog on New Years Day. Having said that, there was so many stars,past and present at the match that you would be hard pressed to spot them all. I'm sure some of the three lads you mention were there freezing like the rest of us.

culawan (Dublin) - Posts: 129 - 06/01/2009 20:42:31    174353

didnt realise you had any can you jog my memory.lol

olivers (Tyrone) - Posts: 283 - 07/01/2009 10:37:08    174675

You were probably watching Celtic at the time.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 07/01/2009 11:00:44    174709

Olivers. Check out the GAA before 2003 , quite a lot of good players from all counties , INCLUDING Tyrone as well. A fella called Frank McGuigan , Kevin McCabe & Plunkett Donaghy spring to mind!!

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 07/01/2009 11:12:51    174721

dub up north i think you dubs have a brain the size of a pea.why are you changeing the subject you said past dublin greats .i asked who' you name players that never lined out for dublin.read my post i ask name some dublin greats cause i cant think of any.i cant speak irish so when i see tg4 gold ,dont under stand the names

olivers (Tyrone) - Posts: 283 - 07/01/2009 14:07:00    174922

Olivers , the commentary on TG4 all Ireland gold is in ENGLISH (Or as Bearla if u prefer??!!) so there's no reason why you wouldn't hear the players names now is there? Dublin , I'm proud to say has produced many a great player over the years ( I've even named a few at the start of the thread AND in English as well Olivers!)
Unfortunately you seem have a low opinion of the intellectual abilities of us Dubs. I'm sure that many of your fellow Tyrone men & women who have come to live and study in Dublin would beg to differ with you and your narrow minded little opinions but as a great Dublin man (Oscar Wilde) once said , those who live in the gutter can at least look at the stars!!

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 07/01/2009 15:15:13    175038

olivers

"lino why dont you stay on your own page .Im sure you must have plenty of things to talk about on the dublin page"

...Olivers why don't you heed your own advice that you dished out on the Tyrone page and stay off the Dublin page?

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 07/01/2009 15:57:40    175085

olivers, don't be minding dubupnorth he will argue with you till you get the better of him and then ignore you.I apolagise on behalf of all true Dubs for the abuse he has just given you. I think he has lost his grip on reality as he was going on for ages about the Dubs match on NewYears Day but now won't mention it because he was afraid to go out in the cold.He will be down looking for tickets in the Summer though.As for your question, my favorite old time player is Brian Mullins.not only was he a great player but his strenght of character in coming back from that horrific injury should be an inspiration to all.What do you think?

culawan (Dublin) - Posts: 129 - 07/01/2009 16:31:33    175120

just for the record and sorry for going off tangent on this thread. I did attend the blue stars game on new years day despite what other posters have claimed (see the thread about fair weather fans). Also , the thread is about what happened to Dubs greats of the past and NOT who your favourite past player was.

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 07/01/2009 17:09:56    175169

olivers

174675 didnt realise you had any can you jog my memory.lol

lol is right Mr Wum. Even the dogs in the street know that you being a Tyrone man(boy) when it comes to things Gaa, you're memory would'nt go back any further than 10 years, and we all know why that is.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 07/01/2009 17:21:49    175178

I did not attend the bluestars game SO WHAT they would not be able to facilitate all of us anyway NB cant hold 82,000. I would'nt go back to that club as they have neglected their past and present players for so long and now will be down intermediate until they start to use players from the old parts of kilbarrack and leave out the softies from the borders with Raheny and Sutton. As for the bluestars why have it at all its a waste!!!!!

St_barrys (Dublin) - Posts: 38 - 07/01/2009 18:21:36    175239

OLIVERS You have annoyed everyone on the tyrone page then come here spouting and giving us a bad name even though i think your not a tyrone man still never named your club . BE QUIET .

Lads qiestion for yous dubs my favourite dublin players years ago kieth barr, paul curran, barney rock, Are they managing now at all or was barney rock with kildare team . Not sure how yous rate these players i liked them as footballers.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/01/2009 18:22:57    175241

Howya Dellpoleboycat - story bud? Yeah Barney managed Cellbridge this year to win the Kildare senior for the first ever time - some man. He managed other teams as well be4 that. No sure what Curraner is up to - was with U21 setup last year - I thought he was gonna be in teh Dubs senior setup cos I saw him talking to Mullins when the job was up for grabs and they were having a big chinwag but Giller got it in any way. Keith is still knockin around alright - does be up in the Isles some nights for a pint and tha'. Don't mind that Oliviers fella - all kids does be like tha' when their teethin. As for Culawam stickin up for him - wake up and smell the Bulmers man know wot I'm saying.

TommyHillFigure (Dublin) - Posts: 94 - 07/01/2009 22:10:58    175398

Keith Barr - Funniest thing I ever seen in thw '92 final when Barr laughed at Martin McHugh after he kicked his first wide only for McHugh to run him ragged the whole game!

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 08/01/2009 09:10:58    175531

dellboy, curran is managing thomas davis a senior div 1 team in dublin they got to the Q/F of the dub senior champo only to lose to st vincents they also got to the final of the league but lost to crokes, barney is managing celbridge in kildare he brought them to the county final lost on a replay,not sure about barr.
for me curran was my favorite player growing up best player of the 90s along with canavan and giles.

rubywalsh (Dublin) - Posts: 356 - 08/01/2009 18:54:09    176030

TommyHillFigure County: Dublin Posts: 8 175398 Howya Dellpoleboycat - story bud? Yeah Barney managed Cellbridge this year to win the Kildare senior for the first ever time - some man. He managed other teams as well be4 that. No sure what Curraner is up to - was with U21 setup last year - I thought he was gonna be in teh Dubs senior setup cos I saw him talking to Mullins when the job was up for grabs and they were having a big chinwag but Giller got it in any way. Keith is still knockin around alright - does be up in the Isles some nights for a pint and tha'. Don't mind that Oliviers fella - all kids does be like tha' when their teethin. As for Culawam stickin up for him - wake up and smell the Bulmers man know wot I'm saying. Thanks for the reply like i said they where my favourite dublin players and yes do not mind olivers annoys everyone .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 08/01/2009 20:14:02    176074

rubywalsh

176030 dellboy, curran is managing thomas davis a senior div 1 team in dublin they got to the Q/F of the dub senior champo only to lose to st vincents they also got to the final of the league but lost to crokes, barney is managing celbridge in kildare he brought them to the county final lost on a replay,not sure about barr.
for me curran was my favorite player growing up best player of the 90s along with canavan and giles.

Thanks for that great player and he must be doing alright managing at that level.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 08/01/2009 21:13:51    176117