Curse on Mayo football

Just a load of nonsense.........although I believe some gypsy put a curse on me. How else can you explain why I haven't won the lotto?

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 658 - 10/09/2013 11:35:14    1479021

Yes, there is a curse on the Mayo team and that's why they haven't won an all ireland since 51. It's nothing to do with the players on the pitch or the opposition. Dublin could send out a team of toddlers on Sunday week and Mayo would still lose - all because of the curse.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 10/09/2013 14:07:08    1479186

It's utter nonsense. Pure rubbish.

don492 (Mayo) - Posts: 165 - 10/09/2013 14:53:30    1479250

As said above, a terrible insult to the remaining members. Anyone who believes in this nonsense is an idiot.

MayoMark (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 12/09/2013 14:11:49    1480747

I heard it was a funeral in either foxford or swinford, that passed thru during celebrations involving the victorious mayo team. The pp was disgusted that the proceedings didnt stop out of respect for the funeral precession. He put the so called curse on mayo football that day. 100% true no doubt.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 12/09/2013 15:35:52    1480846

ha ha the fact that ye are even discussing this, comical...

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 12/09/2013 17:10:01    1480946

It is nonsense of course but Mayo people themselves will be saying it if Dublin win,whoever started this rubbish is a disgrace,imagine how it makes them men feel?
any word on Cillian O'Connor?hope he makes the final.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 12/09/2013 17:10:17    1480948

A load of nonsense. I didn't know priests could go around dishing out curses, do they teach that in the seminary? I'd better get myself back to weekly mass in case I upset our local fella! No wonder people stuff those envelops, they must be afraid of being cursed if they don't cough up to these wizard priests!

bringbackmc (Mayo) - Posts: 30 - 12/09/2013 21:24:53    1481157

A curse can only effect a team if the team believes in it. I doubt the current Mayo team believe in such a curse.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 13/09/2013 10:15:12    1481247

silly curses that never happened or that are ridiculous if they did. Also. avoid staring at the sun for a couple of weeks and best of luck in the big game

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1759 - 14/09/2013 13:07:33    1481890

The best team in a year will almost always win Sam.

I don't believe in this curse, Not in a million years I think its a load of nonsense. If you believe that you believe anything

There is nothing sinister about Mayo's failure to win an All Ireland in the last 62 years. They have just been beaten by the better team each time.

The two best teams this year will meet in the final.

Personally as a Dub I think Dublin have been the better team all year, We are only 10 months into Gavins reign and are way ahead of where we thought we'd be realistically at the start of the year, Weve only lost one competitive game all year, We've already beaten Mayo twice, Won the league for the first time in 20 years, won Leinster beating Kildare and Meath, Had harder games against Cork and Kerry (challenge wise), Have no injuries or doubts. Does that mean we will win though ? who knows, But I do know some curse wont have a say in it .. Whoever wins will have to perform to the best of their ability

Mayo fans, I wish you the very best of luck and may the best team win.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 14/09/2013 15:05:38    1481935

Donegalman

I heard it was a funeral in either foxford or swinford, that passed thru during celebrations involving the victorious mayo team. The pp was disgusted that the proceedings didnt stop out of respect for the funeral precession. He put the so called curse on mayo football that day. 100% true no doubt.

Yes facts since 1951 huge monkey to carry for all these years. It would be nice see you break this curse next week the best of luck to Mayo. You showed your hand against Donegal and Dublin showed theirs against Kerry so if the homework was done you will know how to beat them. best of luck.
By the way even if McQuillan did ref behind closed doors for the Dubs he will be giving a good account of himself next week so forget about him play your game and go for it. You have the ability thats for sure. Looking forward an open game of football for we have had enough negative crap for a few years now.
One other thing no verbals for the ball will be brought forward every time DISCIPLINE is the order of the day.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 15/09/2013 12:18:32    1482288

As far as I'm aware it wasn't the priest who issued the curse it was the widow of the man who's funeral was taking place, and the Mayo team bus broke the funeral procession. The widow put the widow's curse on the team that they wouldn't win another All-Ireland until that team were all dead. Anyone who as ever listened to the old people tell stories would know that the Widow's curse was taken very seriously in them days. Now Im not saying I think there's anything in the whole thing, I can assure yeh there's people in Mayo who still believe this stuff can happen, I heard a story only recently where a neighbour claimed all his calves were dying because of a Widow's curse.

The_Oracle (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 15/09/2013 13:21:14    1482313

There seems to be a lot of curses on them, the one heard was that when they were coming home winning Sam in 51, they passed a tinkers funeral in Longford and the widow tinker cursed them. Same curse that they would not win Sam again while anny member of the team living

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 15/09/2013 14:00:58    1482327

No, thats the same curse you're referring to there Culmore, it happened in Longford alright. To be honest there doesn't seem to be much debate about whether or not the curse was put on them, it happened alright, the only question is, do you believe that such a curse can have merit? In a lot of countries in Africa they still believe in witchcraft and often kill children they believe to have the devil in them. Did that child have the devil in them? No. But they're no less dead.

We could possibly contact a few widows in Kerry and see if they'd have any interest in putting the curse on Dublin following they're disgraceful tactics in winning the semifinal.

The_Oracle (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 15/09/2013 16:50:10    1482387

Jeez lads would ye cop on. You're just making a laughing stock of the county with that superstitious claptrap. This sort of shite has no place on HS and should be confined to Halloween kids tales.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 658 - 15/09/2013 17:03:56    1482398

Lads its Sunday evening and the time for the sideshows is over. Nothing but positivity from here on in and certainly nothing about bull S**te piseogs and other nonsensical ramblings about curses or omens or signs etc... It has to be done on the field of the play next Sunday and anything that has gone before is irrelevant.

murser (Mayo) - Posts: 46 - 15/09/2013 17:46:38    1482425

lads will ye stop it, how do ye expect to be taken seriously with all this childish nonsense, i hope to god none of ye are adults

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 15/09/2013 18:49:52    1482458

This nonsense "would well become a woman's story at a winter's fire, authorized by her grandam."

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 15/09/2013 19:09:42    1482474

UNADULTERATED NONSENSE No need for any more claptrap excuses

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 15/09/2013 19:24:31    1482488