how can any gaa follower be disrespectful to tyrone. look at our history.... eochair (Tyrone) - Posts: 213 - 06/01/2009 15:09:07 174013 Link 0 |
the greatest forward in the game: Pat Spillane bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 06/01/2009 15:35:59 174050 Link 0 |
eochair 3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 06/01/2009 15:38:11 174055 Link 0 |
eochair the greatest forward in the game could be someone like pat spillane or padraig joyce or colm o"rourke there are so many how could you pick one who would not make many peoples top ten outside tyrone but he was a great player. greatest manager i heard of some chancer in kerry i think his name is mick o"dwyer and that upstart in meath called i think sean boylan not to mention the countless other great managers. I think the problem most people have with some tyrone posters is that yous dont give any other counties respect yous seem to think that football started a few years back. AS for team of the decade it has to be kerry the results dont lie hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/01/2009 16:32:37 174120 Link 0 |
Hipster you wouldn't even have to go back to the days of O' Rourke and Spillane, you could just say Maurice Fitzgerald and leave it at that. 3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 06/01/2009 17:04:05 174155 Link 0 |
eochair the greatest forward in the game could be someone like pat spillane or padraig joyce or colm o"rourke there are so many how could you pick one who would not make many peoples top ten outside tyrone but he was a great player MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 06/01/2009 17:12:35 174167 Link 0 |
3inarow08 Maurice was my favourite player a truly skillful player but as i always say its impossible to say who is the greatest player or manager if you judge it by success then kerry are the best by a mile .And Mick O"Dwyer well what can you not say about him a true great and is still going strong today he was never afraid of a challenge hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/01/2009 17:36:28 174206 Link 0 |
Hipster you wouldn't even have to go back to the days of O' Rourke and Spillane, you could just say Maurice Fitzgerald and leave it at that. MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 06/01/2009 17:36:53 174207 Link 0 |
Michael as i said canavan was a great player but of my top ten forwards he would not get in it but Dooher probably would .all i say its impossible to say who is the greatest player with so many greats who played over the years hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/01/2009 17:49:40 174221 Link 0 |
Michael as i said canavan was a great player but of my top ten forwards he would not get in it but Dooher probably would MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 06/01/2009 17:52:03 174226 Link 0 |
Canavan would make top 3 for sure . Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/01/2009 17:52:06 174227 Link 0 |
its just my opinion michael i am not saying he was a poor player all i am saying in my opinion i like dooher more but as i said its impossible to say who was .if i said mullins was the best midfielder ever a lot of kerry fans would say jacko or dara o never mind all the other counties who had great midfielders its all about opinions hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/01/2009 18:03:42 174244 Link 0 |
Canavan was as good as I have seen, well up their with the best anyway. His ability to win ball, and he had the heart of a lion, made him a great forward. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 06/01/2009 19:39:34 174317 Link 0 |
canavan is the best player to come out of tyrone at the minute(sean cavnagh may surpass him)but his record is only on a par with at least another ten exceptional forwards maurice fitz spillane the gooch john egan james mccartan jnr the great matt o connor you could name many more. i think our friend eochair is still a young un and we shouldnt be too hard on him. any sensible tyrone fan would realise that ok we have a brief recent history of achievement over the past 10-11 years with 4 minors 3 seniors and a few 21 titles, as well as countless ulster titles but before club tyrone and the increased efforts of the schools coaching etc we were shit lets face it. so as the mayo dublin and galway lads will testify when you have a brief bright spell in a century of rubbish dont get too carried away. bigfinger (Tyrone) - Posts: 203 - 06/01/2009 19:45:33 174321 Link 0 |
Dubinmeath sure I know you're only winding however I would like to point out that the 'Tyrone Super Saves' was not a thread started by me, rather some eejit who chose a board name similar to mine unfortunately. Always look for the capital 'G' if you want to know if its the real Goodfella!!! Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 07/01/2009 11:08:34 174717 Link 0 |
bigfinger patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 14/01/2009 23:28:21 180783 Link 0 |
hipster "greatest manager i heard of some chancer in kerry i think his name is mick o"dwyer and that upstart in meath called i think sean boylan " heres the thing hipster o'dwyer managed a great great kerry team and never was he told countlessly to leave his post and that he had lost his touch and then come back that year and answer them with an all ireland has he? and anyways i dont think when harte leaves his tyrone post that he will he go around glory seeking with other counties eochair (Tyrone) - Posts: 213 - 15/01/2009 01:51:10 180852 Link 0 |
Whats the story with the woolworth vouchers?? dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/01/2009 16:34:36 181430 Link 0 |
Funny patrique didnt see Kevin McGourty lining out for Antrim or Queens during the week. Havent seen him play in a while in fact. Was so despondant to see the "finished article" abandon his county in two successive years, we were never given the time to see the blinkered opinion that mcgourty is a great player proved wrong in the heat of championship battle. So CJ McGourty scored 2-5 the other night, Was he on the winning side Patrique? Was it the championship Patrique? Our was it just a McKenna Cup game played against half a tyrone panel who had dragged their ****** back onto a football pitch after holidaying in Orlando? You can ignore all the other questions patrique if you simply answer this next one honestly and with a load of horses*** about camogie, tommy murphy, taking part, honest play and stories about antrim before 1951. Are Antrim just disjointed or is it the cold hard truth that Antrim are the worst football county in Ulster simply because they have the worst football players in Ulster without a clue how to win something meaningful? trileacman (Tyrone) - Posts: 759 - 15/01/2009 17:14:09 181509 Link 0 |
I shall be honest Trileac. Kevin and CJ McGourty, Thomas McCann, Justin Crozier, who destroyed Antrim last night playing out of position for QUB, Paddy Cunningham, and more, have all played well in Sigerson over the last few years. The last time Antrim had that many Sigerson players was in the early 70s when about 5 of them were in the Combined University team that won the Railway Cup. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 15/01/2009 17:54:08 181585 Link 0 |