Dr McKenna Cup Squad 2009

stonedog come out come out whereevr you r?
bt il wait 2 championship time 2 judge down

THATSRIGHT (Down) - Posts: 16 - 12/01/2009 20:37:18    178723

good win for down but tyrone wernt fully out and there only home from amercia and havnt been training bt a win agaisnt the All Ireland champions is good still doubt some of the players ross has on the panel and to be honest no1 realy takes this competetion seriously.

stonedog (Down) - Posts: 352 - 12/01/2009 21:26:06    178762

After all the debate on this message board about how Rory Simpson is good enough for the county seniors despite playing division 4 football, i think it is safe to say after last nights performace that he is quite simply not up to the required standard to be playing county football. I welcome any comments about his performance last night and people trying to justify his selection.

My_Gee (Down) - Posts: 45 - 15/01/2009 12:01:37    181049

My-gee simpson wasnt great last night but for god sake give the lad a chance? do you expect him to come from playing in the 4th and set the world alight over night. i understand what you are saying and i hope you understand me as wel?

Did the likes of rafferty,mcveigh(goalkeeper) hughes,fegan stand out on their game. sure look at the 2 magees in the fullforward line last night and against tyrone (not great). that boy duffin is a solid player and last night he looked like he was in the wrong place. coulter wasnt even good last night

newryview (Down) - Posts: 748 - 15/01/2009 12:37:15    181101

that was ment to say on thier 1st games for down

newryview (Down) - Posts: 748 - 15/01/2009 12:53:32    181121

I understand where you are coming from newry view and yes fair enough every lad deserves to be given their chance but i just can't see simpson making the final cut. By the way everyone had been rating him on this message board yes i would like to have seen him come in and set the world alight but the fact of the matter is in my opinion he has been over rated by everyone. I thought rafferty was alright in the 1st half but didnt notice him in the 2nd half. The goalkeeper was McAlister and he made a few decent stops when required although i think he dwelled on the ball for a second or 2 more than he needed to. Hughes only came on in the 2nd half with around 12 minutes to go and made an immediate impact so i think given the playing time he got he did alright. Fegan only got the last 5 minutes so didnt have a chance to make an impact. Once the championship comes around you will see the 2 Magees sitting on the bench, michael is only really in their because of his free taking ability with the left boot, he hasn't really done all that much in the games, especially against St Marys when he was marking their weakest player and he only managed to score 1 point from a free. The problem with Duffin last night was he was never near his man he was always standing off him when Monaghon were attacking, was good at attacking but wasn't so brillaint at getting back after attacking. We all know that Coulter can play a lot better and we will see come championship time what he is really made of.

My_Gee (Down) - Posts: 45 - 15/01/2009 13:18:12    181153

For Ross to drop john clarke is a disgrace, and also, in my opinion mark doran is not a county player, laverty is too light, mickey walsh maybe. and it will be good to see mccomilsky back in feb

AnRiocht08 (Down) - Posts: 27 - 15/01/2009 13:54:09    181174

i know the goalie wasnt mcveigh and what im saying is that rafferty, hughes and fegan werent at their best when they began their playing days for the county. i wasnt talking about last nights preformances on these four players. and yes i know coulter is class, but do you get my point?

newryview (Down) - Posts: 748 - 15/01/2009 14:41:09    181234

obviously got the wrong end of the stick there newry view. Im not 100% sure of when they all broke onto the scene but the 1st time i seen d rafferty playing was 2 years ago (if that was his debut year) i thought he was a very good player and seemed to settle in straight away. As for Fegan the 1st time i seen him play was in last years mckenna cup and again i thought he was a solid enough player going by the mckenna cup performances but when it came to championship time and up against tyrone he just wasn't at it for me. I couldn't even tell you when hughes debut year in the red and black was!

My_Gee (Down) - Posts: 45 - 15/01/2009 18:10:18    181620

Down were poor last night, a shadow of the team that played Tyrone on Sunday.
The 2 man full forward line didnt work, neither of them seemed to want the ball. The balls played in, in the first half werent reaching their target because of the wind, in the second half the balls were going past the full forward line and going straight to their keeper. Coulter should have stayed in the full forward line last night instead of roaming out the field.
We were totally shapless, leaderless and directionless further out the field, though I thought our midfield did fairly well, but we still have a tendency to take too much out of the ball and over carry it, when a quick direct pass would split an opposition defence.
In our defence its the same old same old. Some of our defenders were showboating and lost possession and in turn vital scores. Get rid of the ball FFS instead of playing keep ball in front of your own goal.
Monaghan were quick to make changes last night, whereas I thought we were slow. I change at half time and then no more changes until about 15 minutes to go, with Sexton only thrown on for the last 5 minutes. Daniel Hughes scored two sublime points when introduced, we could have done with him sooner.
I think a special mention should go to last nights referee, who saw a penalty when no on else, Monaghan players included saw it. It was a hell of a point that led to the penalty. Also Monaghans first 2 points after the penalty were both at least a foot wide, though they did have a clear point ruled out in the second half, the umpire thought it had gone wide. So they led 1-2 - 0-02 after 10 minutes thanks to the referee and his officials, I wonder where they were from?
But lets not be too hard on Down, it was a very cold wet January night and it is only the McKenna cup. Hopefully that is the end of our involvement in it now and we can concentrate on promotion from Division 3.

The Gael (Down) - Posts: 115 - 15/01/2009 18:31:50    181642

AnRiocht08 i agree wit u about the john clarke sitiuation but wud laverty and mark doran not be better than some of the players on it?

stonedog (Down) - Posts: 352 - 15/01/2009 20:49:08    181773

i can se that most of yous arent commenting on last nights game. think that shows you werent at it. what excuse can yous use for this? its not as if the venue was far away, monaghan probably had it their to accomdate our supporters

newryview (Down) - Posts: 748 - 15/01/2009 21:42:29    181806

why does my comments not come up? they are not bad in anyway! monaghan were a stael last night at 5/4/. had them done in my bet which came up lol

dj27legend (Down) - Posts: 641 - 15/01/2009 22:02:17    181827

newryview i was at the game so there

stonedog (Down) - Posts: 352 - 15/01/2009 22:49:20    181883

Stonedog, i would maybe give Doran a chance during the Mckenna cup and NFL just to see what he's like, and when big ambrose comes back he should defo be in the running for a midfeild jersey, but laverty is too light, you need a bit of presence in the full foward line, Garleth Johnson for Loughinisland, now these a man who shoud be given a run out in these games, hes big, striong and can catch and goal pretty well. And newry veiw i dno wat ur on about but go bk to sleep ;)

AnRiocht08 (Down) - Posts: 27 - 15/01/2009 23:16:43    181913

Newryview, depends where you live as to whether it was convenient. I live in Dublin, it took me and hour and a half to get there wednesday night as had to contend with the all meath/louth commuters. Agree with The Gael on most points, and I do hope that Down perform well but get knocked out in semi's, as this cup has been totally devalued by the closed season nov/dec (Gaelic Life must be peeved, and if they are reading, stop stickin feckin papers under my wipers). I have been critical of Jackie Lynch in the past, however I though he was one of the better players on Wed nite. Priority now must be the league, in theory 1st Feb in Tipp should be an easy run in.

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 16/01/2009 09:12:01    182043

An Riocht 08 whats this the mourne mafia tring to scare newryview. yous are pretty good at tring them type of things when yous have a home fixture, not so smart when yous have to venture outside the mountains, Fishy talkers

newryview (Down) - Posts: 748 - 16/01/2009 10:16:12    182097

Just out of interest. . . How do people think Louis Sloan is performing in centre half back?? In my opinion i think he is solid in that area and could be around come championship time!

hope4down (Down) - Posts: 24 - 16/01/2009 10:33:29    182109

TheGael

From where i was sitting i thought the 2 points that you are talking about that monaghon scored were wide aswell. Although Paul Finlays shot in the 2nd half was correctly ruled wide it just went centimetres the wrong side of the post.

My_Gee (Down) - Posts: 45 - 16/01/2009 10:54:11    182126

have to agree with you HOPE 4 DOWN playing solid enough stuff (a good player) think tho he might just lack a bit of pace, but yep will be around come championship

newryview (Down) - Posts: 748 - 16/01/2009 10:57:43    182131