HAG_AND_CHEESE patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/12/2008 20:03:01 162466 Link 0 |
Wexford in 1996 delighted hurling fans with their honest hurling that year, rekindling the spirit and excitement of the 1950s. Fitzhenry is an excellent keeper, and in Dunne and Storey they had two players who could hold their own in any era. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/12/2008 20:05:30 162468 Link 0 |
think its time for the poultice, poultas. dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 11/12/2008 21:14:57 162544 Link 0 |
yidfan Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 11/12/2008 22:44:10 162618 Link 0 |
HAG_AND_CHEESE Think the part I didn't agree with was this part 'Ye wexford lads are gas men all the same.. I can see why the wexford lads the wexford lads think this ye were wait so long for the all-ireland that team are like gods to ye i'd think the same about the tipp team of team.... but don't let sentiment cloud reality not a hope in hell lads.' I've seen your posts on Wexford before, you were on this site a couple of years ago belittling Wexford (in the lead up to the game with ye) after we got hammered by KK and before we beat you guys in the next game. The only thing I agreed with was that I don't believe that the team of 96 was one of the great teams. Still would probably have 13 or 14 of them on the current Tip team though. Hurling in Munsters not what it used to be despite all the crapping on. Like the current Wexford team is a million miles behind the team of 96 yet in the past couple of years we've done OK against Munster teams. So if I can state that the current Wexford team isn't nearly as good as team of 96 then you guys probably wouldn't come near them (I.e. the team of 96) at the moment considering your recent record against Wexford in the Champ. Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 11/12/2008 22:54:12 162628 Link 0 |
Nick, i sure am from Wexford, maybe i am a realist not an eternal optomist, or deluded supporter. What have i said that so offends you - that club hurling is rubbish and as a result the county team is the same. FACE FACTS SIR. CAGER95spit or wat ever you like to be called "as for Pinkie wat you said their is complete tripe.......... you a traiter to your county........ guiney gave everything for his county and dis is how u spit in his face metaphorically obviously". How am i a traitor - do you seriously think Rod Guiney was a better hurler than Tommy Walsh. I never suggested that he didnt try, but I cannot see how you could for 1 second believe he is a better hurler Walsh. BTW, i have not missed a Wexford senior champ match for nearly 20 years (except when i was in hospital in 1994), go to most league games, not to mention club games and underage county games as well as training an underage team in my club - dont question what Wexford hurling means to me and call me a traitor. Youse lads give Wexford fans a bad name, look at the joke you are making of yourselves. The whole country is laughing at youse, so be it if i see the ridiculous side of this claim like them all. Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 11/12/2008 23:01:29 162633 Link 0 |
Pinkie County: Wexford Posts: 242 Maybe you should stop going to look at Wexford, it's making you a bitter-----. Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 12/12/2008 00:04:28 162660 Link 0 |
mossbags patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/12/2008 00:17:14 162670 Link 0 |
i am from kilkenny and that wex team of 96 was one of my favourites of all time, for sheer heart and determination. a game between that 96 wex team and current cats would b closer than alot of people think. the competition today is very weak makes the cats look awesome, i'm living in america now that's where i picked up that word ! richiescats (USA) - Posts: 420 - 12/12/2008 03:42:17 162697 Link 0 |
I can't say that Kilkenny versus Wexford '96 would be anywhere near a proper competitive match. Kilkenny would do what they did to every other team they faced in the last Championship St.K (Cork) - Posts: 210 - 12/12/2008 05:16:50 162701 Link 0 |
Are you on the county board Nick? You must be - you seem to be of the impression that everything is great and that Wexford are great! Apologies if i'm a realist not a deluded supporter. Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 12/12/2008 08:00:34 162707 Link 0 |
Momentum and confidence count for an awful lot in hurling and along with the right setup Kilkenny have this in abundance the last few years. Wexford never seemed to get the same momentum. On any given day they can beat anyone. 2004 a wexford team backboned by many 96 men in their twilight zone - Fitzhenry, Liam Dunne, Mitch Jordan, Larry Murphy and Fenlon. This wexford team were not a patch on the 96 team yet they put Kilkenny to the pin of their collar and won. Why kilkenny have so many All Irelands is because every year they have an excellent 15 been able to bring in 1 2 or 3 new players every year. Other counties just cannot implement new players with such success. The wexford team of 96 was just one year where wexford got everyting right - the training, management and they had the momentum and confidence to take on anyone. And to say that these men wouldnt beat Kilkenny of the modern era on any given day is ridiculous. KK had Cody but if Griffin had of stayed with wexford they would have reached at least another 5 all ireland finals DaPoultas (Wexford) - Posts: 38 - 12/12/2008 09:27:06 162732 Link 0 |
re:Nick Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/12/2008 10:28:37 162771 Link 0 |
re:DaPoultas Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/12/2008 10:30:01 162773 Link 0 |
re:patrique Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/12/2008 10:52:56 162799 Link 0 |
re: Pinkie Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/12/2008 10:55:55 162802 Link 0 |
re:DaPoultas Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/12/2008 11:04:16 162809 Link 0 |
re: nick Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/12/2008 11:16:50 162824 Link 0 |
Oh, what was the " I you were a Girl" thread ?? Biff_Tannen (Kildare) - Posts: 12 - 12/12/2008 11:31:00 162835 Link 0 |
I already said i was been a bit biased. current kilkenny crop have more longetivity but if wex96 got them when they were in their peak they would SMASH them DaPoultas (Wexford) - Posts: 38 - 12/12/2008 11:38:23 162848 Link 0 |