Kildare minor and u21, 09

adam tyrel??? are ya sure lads. i went to the under 17 game before the minor game there on saturday and he wasnt starting that. although he scored a goal and a point when he came on the game was all but over as a contest. we need ta keep our feet on the ground for the meath game. there the current champs and it was all ireland champs tyrone who ended there run last year. des holten is a welcome inclusion and he'll push for a starting place. it may mean changes to the full back line possibly even a different full back. i'd love ta see corrigan go in there and o shea ta move ta centre back bringing cullen or mcdonnell ou to the wing. that just my opinion no doubt i'll be slated for it. 5 weeks ta get everyone fighting fit and ta see what the lads who've been left out are made of fitzy,jimmer,doherty and barret and co

98KESAM (Kildare) - Posts: 56 - 26/05/2009 13:04:19    294194

exactly..lads cant be whinging anymore..they have 5 weeks to prove themselves..no point making up excuses after that.

joeyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 412 - 26/05/2009 17:26:38    294636

Minors squad played the u17 squad last night ended 1-12 to 2-07, some fine footballers on view

ballyboy (None) - Posts: 36 - 30/05/2009 22:13:13    298096

Who impressed for the 17s ballyboy?

Lip4Life (Kildare) - Posts: 12 - 11/06/2009 23:51:56    309009

Well lads only a Week and half till we face Meath.. Any news on the Venue? heard a rumor it could be in Tullamore before the Senior Semi? Cant see Meath giving up home venue to easy..
Will the Team start the same as was against Wexford?

yermon (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 16/06/2009 13:39:25    313357

Believe its in Navan on Saturday week at 2pm. Tough assignment

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 16/06/2009 17:57:43    313764

i'd be very wary of our full back line agsinst meath..i also worry about a half forward and a member of the full forward line whether there up to it against quality opposition..i think kildare will be doing very well to beat meath..there performances so far have been brilliant regardless of opposition..but meath seem a very strong outfit..

joeyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 412 - 17/06/2009 00:02:10    314218

Have to agree with joey, Meath will be favs after 2 tough games v Offaly and Westmeath..
I think the places joey mentioned are spot on, and no doubt there will be changes.. they play Roscommon tonight, 24 will prob be named after..

yermon (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 19/06/2009 16:01:44    317211

who stood out in the roscommon team, will any new lads be brought onto the 24?

sexyface (Kildare) - Posts: 175 - 21/06/2009 00:37:24    318070

i dont think wer as good ye seem to think lads our fowards are very good but our defence is dodgy and midfield is inconsistent...is paul cribben playin for yas if he is ye will prob win id say

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 22/06/2009 18:14:29    319727

Was at the game against Wexford. I think your full back could be your downfall. Wex hadn't done their homework on him and put a big strong lad in on him and, fair play to your full back, he just ate him up and spit him out. But I don't think he'd have a chance on a fast and clever full forward. Not sure what your goalie is like. Otherwise ye have a super team.

paddywexman (Wexford) - Posts: 289 - 25/06/2009 19:20:50    323189

It should be a cracker of a game on sat in navan,we've a very strong team again this year but by all accounts the lillies will be no pushovers.Our centre back is a huge physical lad but I fear that he wont have the legs for Cribben if he's 11.
Anyway may the best team win.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 26/06/2009 01:09:49    323504

This should be a very close match. Have read on the meath forum that they seem unsure about the midfield. If we can beat them at midfield and get good quick ball into the forward line i can see our forwards taking the meath backs apart with their great movement and skill. If we dont manage to win the majority of the possesion in midfield we might be in trouble as i dont think 2 or 3 of our backs are up to scratch. Aswell as that the keeper was at fault for one of wexfords goals the last day out and seems a bit dodgy. Should be very interesting though and looking forward to it

Mr.Efficient (Kildare) - Posts: 27 - 26/06/2009 01:22:50    323507

I heard that they have drafted in a new keeper to the starting line-up. Anyone have any idea who it may be?

lilywhite09 (Kildare) - Posts: 80 - 26/06/2009 12:34:38    323803

I think it could be Mark Donnellan from maynooth. He was the u.17 keeper this year and i heard he got called up to the minor panel after the minors played the u17s in a friendly match. From what i've seen of him he's a very good goalkeeper, good under high ball, good shot stopper and very good kick out.

Mr.Efficient (Kildare) - Posts: 27 - 26/06/2009 12:57:03    323835

Team was picked last night. 8 of the starting Team are underage again next year.
New goalie, corrigan at corner back, Byrne at centre back, are the only changes. Forwards, Midfield remain the same.
I would worry a little about some lads in the forwards if it Meath are physical.

yermon (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 26/06/2009 15:43:48    324082

who is this new keeper is he really good enough to take over in championship football

Burr (Kildare) - Posts: 44 - 27/06/2009 19:18:01    324848

I think he is but rumour has it he'l have stiff competition in Maynooth from a new keeper called Ronan Kirwan. He still has another year of minor.

The_Ger (Kildare) - Posts: 1 - 28/06/2009 13:53:13    325321

no ronan is a very talented corner forwar not a goalkeeper get your facts right son!

bigdon (Kerry) - Posts: 35 - 28/06/2009 15:04:12    325359

very impressive win over the 17s 2nite in clane..have to say i was impressed hugely by bolton at full forward but others to stand ou were some who arent makin the panel. lambert in midfield was very good particulary goin forward. and barret and mcgovern won alot of ball. great ta see these lads pushin the lads on the panel. bolton and barrett seemed to be in a 2 man full forward line and most of the scores involved them they were great to watch.. fitzy worked hard as did holton and brown..surprised and a little bit disappointed wit the 17's performance as i was there for them but the minors played well.

saw them gettin a team photo so presume the team is picked as the numbers are on the jerseys..well thats my own idea anyway...anyone no anything on it..

98KESAM (Kildare) - Posts: 56 - 04/07/2009 00:41:32    331689