Fav Xmas Songs ...

Right this is the Fairytale of HS - all about the abusive posting and our love for our teams and our dreams. Took 10 minutes so its a bit rough but ye know the tune .......

It was christmas eve babe
On the Hogan Stand
An old poster said to me, wont see another one
And then he wrote a message
The rare old 'Gods or What'
I turned my eyes away
And dreamed about it

Then came another one
At about eighteen to one
Loyal said he'd a feeling
This years for Meath and you
So happy christmas
I love you posters
I can see a better time
When all our dreams come true

We've got guys with ideas
We've got guys won't be told
But the barbs go right through you
Its no place for the old
When HS first took my mouse
On a cold christmas eve
It promised me
Croker was waiting for me

It was handsome
It was s****y
Queen of Dublin city
When the moderator finished publishing
They howled out for more
Snuffy was spouting,
All the girls they were pouting
We typed in a corner
And read through the night

The boys of the HS posters
Were typing Ulster's gay
And the 'Nordies' were roaring out
On christmas day

You're a fool
You're a Jack
You're an old slapper on crack
Sitting there almost dead on a keyboard instead
You s**mbag, you eejit
You're worse than the media
Happy christmas your ****
Your team's a total farce.

We could have been someone
Well so could anyone
Our teams took our dreams from us
When we first found them
We kept them with us though
And put them with our own
Cant make it all alone
We've built our dreams around them..

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 03/12/2008 15:34:27    155936

'Oh Holy *****'... by Tommy Lyons (Written for Christmas - after 2003 All Ireland Quarter Final defeat to Armagh)

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 03/12/2008 15:36:24    155941

Thats quite poor JayoCluxton. Some of your stuff is good at times, if very self indulgent mind, But thats poor. Liams one about Jim however is a classic.

fearansrathban (Tyrone) - Posts: 49 - 03/12/2008 15:41:30    155951

That's harsh Strabane man, some parts of it were quite funny!! Not bad for 10 mins work Jayo, and getting paid for it too!!!

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 03/12/2008 15:48:55    155963

Christmas time , hoganstand website , people moaning & talking *****
liams in the boozer & snuffs off his tree and chalkie from derry is stalking me

there's a time for living a time for loving and when we play tyrone , a time for a drubbing
cheers from rio and tom clarke dungannon , when they saw the mayhem the harte boy was plannin'

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 03/12/2008 16:12:08    156009

Fearansrathban -

To be in a position to criticise, you need to have contributed something (intentionally) humorous to the board yourself. I look forward to your HS xmas song.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 03/12/2008 16:16:47    156017

Has to be the Power of Love - FGTH

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 03/12/2008 16:23:01    156029

Very good JC
Beats Liams by a mile

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 03/12/2008 16:37:43    156042

folks , will finish off the rest of my little ditty when time allows. Just got busy here in work. Damned black ice and car crashes!!

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 03/12/2008 16:58:54    156073

How about the all time classic released in 1996 i think. Not sure by who.
"Sam Maguire is going back to Mayooooo"

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 03/12/2008 17:09:59    156084

Self indulgent - moi? Would never have considered that of myself but then the guy who makes that accusation follows it up one minute later on another thread with the following -

fearansrathban
Great stuff Liamo. You have a talent! Why waste it on here with these morons?

So yep - you're a genius lad and the rest of us are morons. You seem to like to have a cut at JC now and again - it appears you have an inferiority complex of some sort - and rightly so! That post sums you up really lad. Seasons greetings!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 03/12/2008 17:55:25    156165

Fairytale of New York.....brilliant!

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2024 - 03/12/2008 19:18:47    156259

Pogues Fairy tale of new york for sure

conor15 (None) - Posts: 347 - 03/12/2008 19:43:59    156280

Jayo - I noticed he didn't reply to my comment on that thread anyway!!!

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 03/12/2008 19:50:46    156286

JayoCluxton

156165 Self indulgent - moi? Would never have considered that of myself but then the guy who makes that accusation follows it up one minute later on another thread with the following -

fearansrathban
Great stuff Liamo. You have a talent! Why waste it on here with these morons?

So yep - you're a genius lad and the rest of us are morons. You seem to like to have a cut at JC now and again - it appears you have an inferiority complex of some sort - and rightly so! That post sums you up really lad. Seasons greetings!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well said Jayo - it's not unusual up these parts for Strabane men to have an inferiority complex!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 03/12/2008 20:16:34    156310

10-its the most wonderful time of the year(andy williams)
9-santa baby(eartha kitt)
8-rockin around the christmas tree(brenda lee)
7-let it snow!let it snow!let it snow!(dean martin)
6-the christmas song(nat king cole)
5-sleigh ride(the ronettes)
4-i wish it could be christmas every day(wizzard)
3-merry xmas everybody(slade)
2-white christmas(bing crosby)
1-fairytail of newyork(pogues and kirsty mccoll)

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 03/12/2008 20:17:15    156311

Rudolf the Red Hand Rover

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 03/12/2008 20:41:47    156326

Almost forgot - Stop the Cavalry by Jonah Louis is a classic!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 03/12/2008 22:29:58    156425

Darlene Love......Alone for Christmas.
It was in one of the Home Alone movies.
A Winters Tale......David Essex
I wish it could be Christmas Everyday.... Bryan Adams

3 classiscs. The last 2 were great for getting an owl snog to in the slow sets.

Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 04/12/2008 11:22:08    156663

1-fairytale of new york(or in mayos case,fairytale of croke park)
2-band aid-do they know its christmas
3-toss up between about 5

jaysus shane mcgowan was playin in de local de last nite with mundy and sharon shannon.was a night to remember,it was a recording for TG4 and Kerrys Daithi o se was presenting.

ACtribe (Galway) - Posts: 401 - 04/12/2008 13:51:04    156825