Ulster is the softest province

danjoe, isn't football a contact sport? If you want something a bit soft and easy on the eye I suggest you take up soccer instead.

Armaghgeddon (Armagh) - Posts: 539 - 03/12/2008 10:34:22    155623

Ah lads of course it was just a bit of a wind-up but about a fair issue. Fair play to Monaghan it was a great achievement this year but ive always wondered about the lack of hurling in Ulster, sure wasnt Cuchulainn an Ulster man. Hopefully Antrim will get stronger now they are playing in Leinster

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 03/12/2008 11:08:48    155651

poor wee danjoe, God love him. Stay close to mammy now when you're near the big bad boys from Uladh.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 03/12/2008 11:13:21    155656

02/12/2008 21:19:03
Nick
County: Wexford

And they said my posts last week were stupid.

Yeah, they did.

Say no to WUMing

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 03/12/2008 12:02:42    155723

Nick
County: Wexford

And they said my posts last week were stupid.

They were stupid, very stupid...nearly as stupid as your comments about meath and dublin!

sheepshooter (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 03/12/2008 12:09:27    155734

it works both ways lads! kilkenny, waterford, tipp, clare etc all the strong hurley teams but what are they like at football?? only exception being cork they are good at both!! as for saying us ulster people are soft?? whens the last time sam has been in leinster orconnaught. :)

dj27legend (Down) - Posts: 641 - 03/12/2008 13:33:42    155810

...sure wasnt Cuchulainn an Ulster man...

Ehhhhhh .... at the risk of sounding pedantic ... I think he's actually from Muirthemne Plain which is in the Cooley peninsula/Dundalk area of Louth. But under the FatherFromFermanagh/MotherFromFiji Law - it isn't a hurling stronghold either. His father was Lugh (of the Longarm) - obviously a high-fielding footballer, no doubt of the catch-and-kick kingdom vintage.

All of that makes his hurling ability even more surprising...

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 03/12/2008 14:18:46    155843

DANJOE

perhaps if mayo had have adopted some of those types of tactics in recent years they nay have won an all ireland rather than rolling over and surrendering tamely to kerry. Just a thought.

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 03/12/2008 14:35:13    155860

If any one believes the title of this thread, then they should take a look at the Ulster GAA website; especially the coaching section. The effort that they have put in is second to none; in hurling and in football. It is no wonder that they are the best province in football and steps are being taken in hurling. They might seem like baby-steps (like Monaghan winning Division 4 of National League-fair play to them) but they are significant. I have no doubt, that they will catch up at some stage. They put counties in other provinces to shame, my own especially. We might be good at both hurling and football but that is due to tradition and numbers. Without effort we will soon be drifting to oblivion. I commend the Ulster GAA board and its counties. We would be better off copying them then start non-sensical posts. Jealousy will get you nowhere.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 03/12/2008 14:42:47    155868

Danjoe - the wee Mayo girls that play on your mens senior football team woudnt last one game in ulster. Cora Staunton is the toughest player in your county at the moment!ha

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 03/12/2008 15:27:36    155927

Brolly
County: Monaghan

155927 Danjoe - the wee Mayo girls that play on your mens senior football team woudnt last one game in ulster. Cora Staunton is the toughest player in your county at the moment!ha

dont you just have to laugh at this. a monaghan kid lecturing a mayo man on football. what have monaghan ever won of note? mayo 3 monaghan 0. as for our womens team, theyre a sight better than yours! monaghan is only known for chickens. are you a chicken brolly?

danjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 137 - 03/12/2008 16:11:14    156007

In Cuchulainns time Ulsters borders would have included louth and the Royal county as it was an Ulster High King of Ireland. Open to correction on this but I think thats how it worked

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 03/12/2008 16:20:51    156026

Good man danjoe, I knew that ever so original and insightful retort was coming once Brolly dared to remark on Mayo. Can't you come up with something at least a bit fresh that we haven't heard before? And as for your comment on the ladies football, eh who put out Mayo this year? Bloody eejit!

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 03/12/2008 16:58:13    156071

mid-mon man
County: Monaghan

156071 Good man danjoe, I knew that ever so original and insightful retort was coming once Brolly dared to remark on Mayo. Can't you come up with something at least a bit fresh that we haven't heard before? And as for your comment on the ladies football, eh who put out Mayo this year? Bloody eejit!

well well it must be the rooster. a 'banty' rooster no doubt! why should i come up with something new? the facts speak for themselves and the facts are that mayo have been, are, and will always continue to be better than monaghan.

danjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 137 - 03/12/2008 17:23:33    156111

In Cuchulainns time Ulsters borders would have included louth and the Royal county ...

Suas sios - it's a long story. In brief, all of those areas (directly or indirectly) fell under the descendants of the Niall of the Nine Hostages (basically - the O'Neills). The Irish word for a province (cuige) means a 'fifth' suggesting there were originally five provinces - the fifth centered, roughly, on Meath, Westmeath, Louth etc. They didn't really have formal boundaries, as they were more spheres of influenced roughly on those areas.

The reall GAA story and BIG cover-up and disgrace here is that the GAA squeezed 12 counties into Leinster just so they could have four provinces supplying teams to two semi-finals in their competitions - which no longer applies. I think they should restore Meath as a province: Louth, Dublin (or at least Fingal which would be technically correct), Meath, Westmeath, Longford and maybe shove Monaghan in there for good measure, too. Would make for reasonable hurlling and football championships.

you'd know the season was over, wouldn't you?

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 03/12/2008 17:44:03    156148

Fair enough danjoe that's your opinion, but you still haven't answered my point on the ladies football.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 03/12/2008 17:59:43    156167

pearsesabu fair play cuchalainn a louth man, you live and learn.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 03/12/2008 18:02:32    156170

Seems to be a lot of jealousy directed at Mayo here, probably for their success at football, 4 finals in the last 12 years, which is 4 more than most teams, including Monaghan.

We can't all be winners lads.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 03/12/2008 18:21:04    156201

I've nothing against Mayo at all anyway patrique. You'll find I never said anything derogatory about them.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 03/12/2008 19:55:14    156287

DANJOE,,,, your giving ulster football and tyrone in particular a hard time these days,,, whats all the cheap shots for,,,, is it because they have scooped three SENIOR ALL IRELAND TITLE IN RECENT TIMES,,,,, as far as am aware peter the great was in mayo within this last few weeks to give you boys a bit of a pep talk at some sports convention. now dont quote me on that but it was a mayo gael who gave me such info,,,,,, so i think its time for u to lose the chip bro,,, PS PATRIQUE u can give it a rest also,,,,

sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 03/12/2008 22:16:36    156415