Ulster Club Final.Cross getting away with a lot.

EnolaGay you are correct polecat does give you a bad name but we all know he just represents himself and not the people of Tyrone. He has a hatred for Cross for some reason but sure who cares I don't think anyone will lose sleep over it. As for DoireCK he just wrote a few paragraphs of nonsense. Oisin McConville never dived in his life and if I remember correctly the Slaughtneil fans threw stones at the referee after the game some of which hit their own manager and then had the cheek to blame it on Cross fans. The referee later said that the slaughtneil fans threw the stones at him and the cross players. Beat that for fair play.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 02/12/2008 08:07:50    154438

Cavan Slasher
Contrary to the common held belief the umpires cannot call a square ball. It is solely the decision of the referee. They do however signal a square ball with after the ref has given in. In this case the ref is quite within his remit to allow the goal as,according to the rules, if the ball is returned to the square before the attacking player has been given adequate time to leave square then that is allowed.

Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 02/12/2008 09:10:44    154459

THIS CAMP IS SPLIT LOL

Dublinexile (Dublin) - Posts: 96 - 02/12/2008 10:01:54    154507

Mick the referee has final say in every discision. Umpire can signal a square ball, he is rarely overruled. Referee can overturn linesen and umpires on every call they make if he chooses.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 02/12/2008 10:28:02    154529

One All Ireland from Armagh
I could just imagine the situation at some south Armagh club in a league game when a non neutral umpire signals a square ball all right- absolute pandemonium. You are still harking back to the old days and the archaic rules. It is no longer the case where an umpire gives a square ball. I have this on authority from a leading Tyrone inter county referee!!!

Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 02/12/2008 13:27:07    154663

Snuffy, the problem for Crokes is that Francie might not need to be quick enough if Cross meet them as he will probably wind-up Vaughan to a degree that he will do something stupid (as he is prone to doing) and get himself sent off. Vaughans scoring rate is pretty consistent this year at club level and he would be a big loss

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1210 - 02/12/2008 13:34:11    154669

Dellboy, you are right, i didnt see the man in the green bib therefore I will not comment on it. I did see the McEntee incident though and no matter how many times I watch it I still don't see him making contact with Conways face. If he had went down holding his ribs would he have got a red card? No. Tom1916 is right. Either you have a hatred for crossmaglen (more likely jealousy that hatred) or you are trying to defend the actions of one of tyrones worst referees... p.s. i dont like the smell of coffee :)

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 02/12/2008 13:40:45    154678

The bottom line is he was sent off for striking and lads you ony seen what you wanted to see .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/12/2008 17:54:02    155058

PATRIQUE Sorry well thought you always have a pop at us . As for tom he thinks striking a player is ok on and off the ball and it he only sees the one side. From the minute the ball was throwing in the cross where hitting lads off the ball and how kernan stayed on the field is way beyond my believe . And these lads that where watching the game did not see the incident on the sideline well not sure what game they where watching or is it all one sided typical attitude .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/12/2008 19:23:30    155191

is cuimhin liom Conaill O mairtin anois- d'fhan se sa teach cheanna linn i '95 mar ceannaire. Bhi a dhearthair ann fosta, Lorcan gurbh ainm air

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 02/12/2008 20:48:06    155289

Baker the glen

i could start an easy argument by sayin that of course ballinderry dive and cheat because after all they are from tyrone!!! but i wont....

This must be in the running for post of the century.

Not that I agree with it, certainly not, but it is class.

Some posters accuse others of being jealous of Cross. I could get a team from the 11 houses in my street to beat Cross, home and away. Have they even won a county title in their history?

They have a good football team I suppose, have to give them that. Perhaps given time they could help the GAA to spread Irish games.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 02/12/2008 20:52:35    155298

PATRIQUE Your correct how would anyone be jealous of them. They have the worst club football in ulster the same team winning every year which means the standard is very poor . If cross where in tyrone i know they would not win the championship every year fact .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/12/2008 22:10:57    155382

Tom1916 I dont know what you mean by "a load of nonsense" I'm assuming that you are going by hearsay on that one or that you are a diehard Cross fan. I know what happened as I was there that day - both in Glen Maghera for the drawn game and in Crossmaglen for the Slaughtneil v Cross replay. I saw first hand what was going on. I'm not saying that the whole Cross team were dirty - in fact the majority of them try to play football (and do so quite well). I just highlighted a few incidents of their unsporting play. By the way --- was sidelined that day (in the replay) for elbowing to the head in a tackle after only coming onto the pitch about 2 mins beforehand. My point was that when you employ sneaky tactics to win a game you have to expect the opposition to do the same. I hope that the replay proves to be a clean game of football and I expect Ballinderry to gain the upper hand.

DoireCK (Derry) - Posts: 162 - 02/12/2008 22:44:05    155421

Patrique I think you'll find that Ballinderry is in Derry. The football pitch is on the Derry side of the border only the parish extends into Tyrone and as a result they have players from both counties playing. Why dont you stick to supporting one of the Belfast teams with all their 'blow-ins' next year??

DoireCK (Derry) - Posts: 162 - 02/12/2008 22:47:03    155423

I know exactly where Ballinderry is, I live closer to it than I do to Belfast.

As for blow ins, well you might be on a sticky wicket there if you examine the lineage of many Derry residents.

Let's face, even my family are not really from Derry, we are blow ins from Donegal.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 02/12/2008 23:01:56    155439

Patrique our club have three or four players from donegal and where glad of them . Does your club have any .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/12/2008 23:12:55    155457

PATRIQUE Your correct how would anyone be jealous of them. They have the worst club football in ulster the same team winning every year which means the standard is very poor . If cross where in tyrone i know they would not win the championship every year fact .

So they have the worst club football in ulster and cross would not win tyrone and yet they are Ulster champions for the past 2 years!!!! Perhaps tyrone don't participate in the competition but I could have sworn the tyrone county champions were beaten by st eunans who cross later beat (by 3 points).

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 03/12/2008 08:11:01    155516

02/12/2008 20:48:06
Suas Sios

155289 is cuimhin liom Conaill O mairtin anois- d'fhan se sa teach cheanna linn i '95 mar ceannaire. Bhi a dhearthair ann fosta, Lorcan gurbh ainm air
Thats easy for you to say.

GrizzlyAdams (Tyrone) - Posts: 576 - 03/12/2008 09:04:57    155528

Mick O Connell

154663 One All Ireland from Armagh
I could just imagine the situation at some south Armagh club in a league game when a non neutral umpire signals a square ball all right- absolute pandemonium. You are still harking back to the old days and the archaic rules. It is no longer the case where an umpire gives a square ball. I have this on authority from a leading Tyrone inter county referee!!!

Whats the point in having any umpires or linesmen then at club games if they are not going to be trusted? Linesmen at club league games are normally one from each club. Is every decision they give going to be in favour of their club? Why does the referee not call these decisions also? What about in inter county games where officials are neutral do they umpires get to call a square ball then?

Bellboypolecat

You seem to be forgetting Cross have been the most dominant club in Ulster and Ireland during this period also.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 03/12/2008 09:47:52    155577

SAM10 Why do they get in to ulster. Because how easy the football is in armagh and will you listen. You would not be in ulster every year if cross where in tyrone and that is a fact. Bunch of poeple that tried to knock lumps out of the derry boys last week and then you whinge when they stood up to you.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 03/12/2008 15:23:57    155921