GAA Stereotypes

Rio Bingo

"Someone who dives and cheats their way through a match, grabbing your arm and falling over for frees, i've no respect for them. "

-------------------
sean cavanagh springs to mind.

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 27/11/2008 16:59:11    151724

KerryLondonder

151705 samin10 you don't half talk some drivel. Backed up ably by ThomasClarke1.

You must be right, you're a kerry person after all.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 27/11/2008 17:03:12    151730

"Kerry people because they are from Kerry believe they know eveything about football. Some do, most dont."

Sam, another wet dream about Kerry football last night? We've talked about this obsession of yours before, it's not healthy. Just try reading a book before going to bed and stay away from the Kerry forum for a few days.

Tomás Tralee (Kerry) - Posts: 391 - 27/11/2008 17:05:02    151734

All proving me right yet again, cant handle any form of criticism.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 27/11/2008 17:08:39    151738

JOAN BALANTINE... good job your a maths lecturer

sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 27/11/2008 17:32:32    151764

Sam 10 - we're complaining about stereotypes here so why are you stereotyping against Kerry people?

MayoHollymount (Mayo) - Posts: 74 - 27/11/2008 17:37:43    151771

Setanta0 - couldn't resist - sure you know me! But fair play to Colin Corkery - I read about that before - he used to auction off the boots for charity after the games (same ones as Beckhams). As you say though we have perceptions and pre-conceived ideas about guys who play our games - yet many are involved in all sorts of charities etc and don't go shouting from the rooftops about it. Fair play to them.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 27/11/2008 18:01:10    151795

the hurling evangelist is another stereotype many gaelic football folk feel like anthony daly or liam griffin are preaching to them when really they just love the game nearly too much for the good of their health and cant understand how anyone would pick football over hurling. just an observation not trying to start a football v hurling debate. Pat Spillane is another stereotype for Kerry he does them no favours the world revolves around kerry for him. i don't think Joe brolly goes to bed with his wife just a football and an ulster flag.

barrow (Carlow) - Posts: 128 - 27/11/2008 18:06:31    151799

that my club are a crowd of drinkers with a football problem-
wait a minute

no3 (Galway) - Posts: 66 - 27/11/2008 19:00:49    151862

samin10 you are just slagging Kerry people off. Jealous. Valid criticism with a fair point is taken. You just offer up drivel. As you say, conversations you have with a stereotype Kerryman who does not agree with your point of view, the Kerryman always says how many AI do you have etc etc. You must have many, many examples. Please can you offer one example (don't make it up now) to the rest of us so we can see you are not stereotype BS.
As I say, valid criticism with a fair point is taken, you are unable to even do that.

KerryLondonder (None) - Posts: 37 - 28/11/2008 08:15:13    152097

MayoHollymount

151771 Sam 10 - we're complaining about stereotypes here so why are you stereotyping against Kerry people?

I said its a stereotype that because kerry people are from kerry its believed they know everything about football. I said SOME do MOST dont. So with those two words in mind how did i stereotype anyone?

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 28/11/2008 09:07:38    152125

samin10
County: Armagh

its true, have a discussion with a kerry fan and it they dont agree with you its normally the same tripe, how many all-irelands have Armagh, Tyrone whatever. Because 30 lads from within a 30 or 40 mile radius of where you live wins a few games of football does not mean you know everything about it. Armagh might have only one all ireland but i probably have as many all-irelands as any kerry poster on here. ie sweet fa

So your point is that as long as Kerry people agree with you then everything's fine. But if we dare have differing opinions to you then we know nothing and claim to know all???

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 28/11/2008 09:54:43    152161

Heres a proven stereotype for yis lads.....Irish GAA people abroad can be spotted a mile away wearing: blacksocks with sandles, tight o'neills shorts , an oversized county/club jersey and usually sporting some form of travel bag around the waist and the essential farmers tan along with some patches of horrific looking sun-burn!! cringeworthy stuff. And mayo people can be heard a mile away giving out about '96 and how meath are the dirtiest team in the country. I have personally witnessed all of the above on my travels around asia, australia, america, etc...
Heres a tip....dont do it lads, invest in some new threads before going travelling and give the gaa a rest when yer away and absorb the beauty of whatever country your in, the gaa will still be here when you get back!!!

sheepshooter (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 28/11/2008 10:04:25    152174

Londoner

I have not the time nor patience to start looking through threads to pull out examples they are there. Go look at the thread on Kerry page "Kerry fans in denial" a Mr Ciarrai Abu is one of many examples. No point in talking to you lot anyway kerry have 35 all-irelands. Your Granda's, neighbours cousin has an all ireland medal he won in the 1920's so that means you know everything about football.

3inarow08 nobody expects you to agree with me about everything but the fact is the vast majority of kerry posters on here cannot take any form of criticism, try to defend the indefensable (OMahony, OSe, Galvin). Fail to accept anyone from outside of Kerry having an opinion on them. What would i know sure Armagh have only one all-ireland?

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 28/11/2008 10:24:23    152204

i dont like the stereotype that if your a full forward over the height of 6 foot you cant hurl and are just there to batter lads

Annes Man (Wexford) - Posts: 208 - 28/11/2008 10:43:51    152227

The best type of stereo i ever got was Technics....

Chester1970 (Armagh) - Posts: 509 - 28/11/2008 10:59:23    152247

sorry p.j what do you mean that cavan people are mean?
please explain?

mightycelts (Cavan) - Posts: 29 - 28/11/2008 11:24:21    152275

samin10
County: Armagh

3inarow08 nobody expects you to agree with me about everything but the fact is the vast majority of kerry posters on here cannot take any form of criticism, try to defend the indefensable (OMahony, OSe, Galvin). Fail to accept anyone from outside of Kerry having an opinion on them. What would i know sure Armagh have only one all-ireland?

The only Kerry person to use the argument " We have more All-Irelands than you so I'm not listening to you" is Ciarraí Abú. I haven't seen any other Kerry poster with that attitude. As everyone knows on here, every county has a "Ciarraí Abú".

Kerry people can take criticism. We've taken an awful lot this year, warranted or not. But I've yet to see anyone defend O' Mahoney's actions this year on here. Honestly now Samin10, have you? And do not give me Ciarraí Abú. I don't think even he defended his actions. He might come out with a "We've 35 (36 incl. hurling) AIs" but that's about it, he wouldn't defend him. As for the other 2 players, they were sinned against, that was the point Kerry people were making, I didn't see anyone from Kerry defending their actions by saying that hitting opposition players or slapping notebooks is acceptable. We tried to give the other side of the story. Of which there was, is and always will be in situations like that. Maybe you want us to have a blinkered view like the rest of the country? Dara doesn't go out on the pitch to lamp a fella for the craic. Galvin's hobbies don't include notebook-slapping. There was a reason for both of those actions, and Kerry posters wished to inform people of those reasons. It's not defending them, it's giving people the other side of the story to give them an informed opinion to make up their own mind. Defending them is saying "Sure there's nothing wrong with giving a lad a belt so it's fine". If something similar happened to someone from Armagh, would you not like to air your view/give the full story?

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 28/11/2008 12:10:24    152323

Samin10 the line 'but the fact is the vast majority of kerry posters on here cannot take any form of criticism' coming from one of the sons of Ulster is the most ironic line of the year on HS!

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 28/11/2008 12:45:07    152365

3inarow08

Cant remember who it was but it was not Ciarrai Abu who said OMahony did what he did for as he said "self preservation", he said it was to stop himself getting booked as he was already on a yellow card, my arguement to him was do not get involved in the first place or just walk away. He was saying his actions was to avoid getting sent of himself.

In a round about way, and i can only assume its unintentional but you are trying to defend Galvin and OSe. Not interested in what led to their actions what they did was bang out of order. No two sides to every story. This is my point why cant you just say they were wrong without making excuses for them?

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 28/11/2008 13:08:17    152382