GAA Stereotypes

The whole tights debate there got me thinking! The Irish as a nation are generally very stereotypical. We in the GAA even more so. As a defender I've come across a number of forwards in my time. The one that really gets me though is the stereotype about corner forwards with white boots or bleached hair or even one who wears tights!! The amount of gulpins in the stand who sit and roar "Knock that pansy's block off" or something slightly more crass to that effect. People assuming because they are wearing white boots they are immediately as soft as wet tissue! Firstly i've yet to come across a corner forward playing senior football in Tyrone anyway who is soft, white boots or not. Secondly, knock his block off and give away a scoreable free or get yourself booked or sent off - NO THANKS!

Is there any other stereotypes out there that anybody feels the need to address??

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 27/11/2008 15:01:55    151521

Kerry people because they are from Kerry believe they know eveything about football. Some do, most dont.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 27/11/2008 15:07:17    151530

Here's a good thread. A very good one I might add. I call them posers myself rio. Sissys. These players (however good they are) often care more about their own stats and appearence than the over teams goal of winning games. They tend to obnoctious and in love with themselves. most of them I have come across fit into this discription anyway. But tights is unacceptable. Simple as that.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 27/11/2008 15:08:04    151532

i agree with samin10

ThomasClarke1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 392 - 27/11/2008 15:11:43    151540

I used to think that colin corkery was a bit of a poser with his white boots with his name engraved in the tongue, until i heard that after every game, said boots were raffled for charity! Either way, you must be fairly handy to pull off wearing white boots, a bad player can be overlooked, a bad player in white boots is easily spotted

setanta0 (Louth) - Posts: 112 - 27/11/2008 15:12:18    151541

ps, can i include a cliché here with the stereotypes......... winners who say "people have been knocking us all year", i even heard a Kilkenny lad saying that this year.... lan that annoys me

setanta0 (Louth) - Posts: 112 - 27/11/2008 15:14:16    151544

Joe Brolly blowing kisses to the crowd after he scored typifies corner forwards, Fantastic player though

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4663 - 27/11/2008 15:18:23    151557

I used to think that colin corkery was a bit of a poser with his white boots with his name engraved in the tongue,
setanta0 , 27/11/2008 at 15:12

Jaysus that sounds painful - I've heard of studs in your tongue - but getting your name engraved!!!!!!!!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 27/11/2008 15:20:55    151563

in fairness daytona iv come across plenty of obnoctious players who wear black boots and have normal hair, its not just people who wear white boots and have fancy hair

Gandalf (Meath) - Posts: 57 - 27/11/2008 15:23:41    151569

samin10
County: Armagh

Kerry people because they are from Kerry believe they know eveything about football. Some do, most dont.

Yawn.....

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 27/11/2008 15:25:04    151573

Thats fair enough but at least they dont have the obnoctious look about them!!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 27/11/2008 15:26:51    151577

Cavan people are mean! Or not?

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 27/11/2008 15:36:24    151590

3inarow08

its true, have a discussion with a kerry fan and it they dont agree with you its normally the same tripe, how many all-irelands have Armagh, Tyrone whatever. Because 30 lads from within a 30 or 40 mile radius of where you live wins a few games of football does not mean you know everything about it. Armagh might have only one all ireland but i probably have as many all-irelands as any kerry poster on here. ie sweet fa

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 27/11/2008 15:36:46    151593

Corner forwards, i just don't trust them. Someone who dives and cheats their way through a match, grabbing your arm and falling over for frees, i've no respect for them. If i get married and have kids, and have a little girl (who incidentally i'd call Dualta, love that name) and she grows up to be the image of her mother, damn good looking, and ever ever ever ever ever ever ever comes home with a corner forward as a boyfriend, i will disown her.

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 27/11/2008 15:37:41    151596

For me? As a part time mathematics lecutrer i have to look at the correlation. its not necessarily true that players that wear coloured boots, have coloured hair, wear copious amounts of gel, (CCC if you will) are flash gits or soft tarts. nor does it follow that players who wear black boots, have a no1 haircut and think that gel is somethin you put on soar legs are averse to a bit of showboating and goin down easy.

but i think its a case of a few bad apples spoilling the box that the apples came in.

people like that stand out and hence people remember them more as they are easy to pick out. i take your point rio.

cant think of any others off the top of my head.

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 27/11/2008 15:40:58    151600

There is definitly an old school type who, whenever they get posession, always kicks the ball into the general area of the forwards with as much force (and sometimes height) as possible instead of taking a handy handpass option of placing a nice ball into the space for a forward to collect! This terrible pass is usually followed by a rant about the forwards are not looking for it!

ferm (Fermanagh) - Posts: 239 - 27/11/2008 16:26:06    151664

ringo bingo, dualta is a grand name alright, it is however a boy's name. Jayo, i knew someone would have a comment like that, but i couldn't be ***** elaborating.

setanta0 (Louth) - Posts: 112 - 27/11/2008 16:32:56    151675

samin10 you don't half talk some drivel. Backed up ably by ThomasClarke1.

KerryLondonder (None) - Posts: 37 - 27/11/2008 16:48:48    151705

Being small and Fast as a foirward, and therefore getting punched before the throw in. Why not accept that people could be small and SLOW?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 27/11/2008 16:51:37    151710

Setanta, i'd definitely disown her then for being a clown and running around with a boys name!!! Tut tut youngsters these days, wasnt like that when i was a cub. No fancy names then. It was either Patrick, Joseph, Patrick Og, Patrick Joseph, Patrick III, Patrick IV, or Mick.

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 27/11/2008 16:52:27    151713