Matthew Donnelly

This is all excellent stuff reading this!... That Fermanagh kid hasn't a clue about football so thers no point even wastin ur time writin bak 2 sumthing like that!.. the fact of the matter is that mattie donnelly is a quality footballer 4 all his age. an he DID at th end of the day get the equaliser in the all ireland final at croker!
an dromoregreat..u mite think ur rite an smug sittin ther degradin intermedaite football...but dis milo kid fairly put ye in ur box son..... tell me this is it dark in there?Im nt a trillick man but wish them all the best in the final on sat!!

BlueAnWhite (Tyrone) - Posts: 18 - 26/11/2008 23:18:46    150960

Milo what is your problem?
Am I not allowed to put forward a view about a team or a player that are being blown out of proportion? I was just trying to give a fair balance to the debate. If the truth hurts that means that i was accurate.
Also, I'm not related to any shams and if i was i would hang my head in shame!

dromorethegreat (Tyrone) - Posts: 181 - 26/11/2008 23:56:14    150997

dromorethegreat,
my prob is people like yourself who come on slate players and clubs without offering any facts or backup to your arguement. You said this, and I quote "The question i would ask Trillick or those who support them, why if they are so great they are stuck in a lower grade division?" all i did was point out dromore and trillick will be in the same division next year, not stuck down in a lower division. What do you want trillick people to do, not be excited about appearing in an ulster final? Everyone's entitled to their opinion but i don't believe your arguement was balanced. Trillick have been in either division 1b or intermediate for approx four years now (i stand to be corrected) and are now in division one as of next year. Dromore, to the best of my knowledge came from the same div 1b, although i again stand to be corrected, before they went on to dominate the current div1.

milo (Tyrone) - Posts: 238 - 27/11/2008 13:04:31    151339

Initially, I intended not to comment but it hard to stomach clubs who promote themselves beyond their real position. Being from Fermanagh and next door neighbours to Trillick, I know that fierce rivalry exists for years even that we are from different counties. But that isn't the reason I commented. I just came on here to the Tyrone people know that Trillick's pedestal was easy to climb given that Monaghan or Fermanagh were among the worse in their respective counties. Taking these facts together with the fact Trillick depend more or less on one player gives a true picture of the team who somehow got through to an Ulster final. Unless, the Derry finalists play bad on the day, Trillick will be knocked off the 'media hype' pedestal and then you will all see why I was right in my assessment and correct to redress this media nonsense about the great young player and his great Trillick team. PS. I'm disappointed that a newspaper has published a photo of an alleged incident without checking first if indeed that this photo was a fake or not. A Belleek work colleague told me that this Trillick guy in question lost his balance rather than being touched and in time the alleged assault will be dismissed by the GAA.

lrvinestownGael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 847 - 27/11/2008 15:16:42    151555

SkinTown Gail
Are you trying to say it was 2 phantom punches Donnelly got then. Think your work colleague may be extracting the Michael. You have only made yet another gaff to go with the countless others. How could your club have a rivalry with a team from a different county.Do you not need to play competitive games against someone to have a rivalry? Another pearl of wisdom from your good self.

RichardCranium (Tyrone) - Posts: 262 - 27/11/2008 15:44:46    151605

sham gael wat a load of tripe u r putting about.
how could mattie tumble unconcious without a fist making actual contact?

This is the incident/judge for yourselves:

Coa_gael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1185 - 27/11/2008 18:01:59    151796

Just seen that link. that is a disgrace!! Matty Donnelly does it the right road and lets his football do the talking! good luck trillick in the final

updacelts (Tyrone) - Posts: 61 - 27/11/2008 18:50:37    151850

you are full of it sham gael. anyone who was at that match seen the outrageous punches that were thrown. it was a complete disgrace. Typical Fermanagh begrudgery though. was disgusted to see so many fermanagh men on their board condone thier actions.

trileacman (Tyrone) - Posts: 759 - 27/11/2008 18:55:49    151856

sham- wat u on?? u should b standing at the corner with ur mates!! name me 1 i-town player with football ability?? none!!!

jib (Tyrone) - Posts: 3 - 27/11/2008 19:18:48    151875

Although I'm from Fermanagh, I teach in Tyrone. Therefore, I heard about this Donnelly incident and I'm disgusted how this incident is being played out on this message board.

I reject Irvinestown Gael's take on the incident. I will allow people to see the actual incident in the link below so if anyone had doubts as to whether the young Trillick player fell over, lost balance, etc., this will be put to bed.

http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/view?q=ulster%20club%20championship&psc=G&filter=1#5273659675397954674

ekn_teacher (Fermanagh) - Posts: 272 - 28/11/2008 11:06:01    152254

think matties actually 18 now but anyway....
deserves credit, works hard trains hard. unsung hero for minors this year
that sham person talking on here obviously knows nothin bout football...ta slag off a clubs run n a young players progress is jus stupidity or jealousy. he is wat he is and hes improving so much with trillicks championship run this year. trillick at the minute are an intermediate club and so there playing intermediate teams and doin the best at what they can. next year hopefully they can hold ther own but thats next year..i wouldnt expect any support from dromore people but we wouldnt support you either..its jus club rivalry like
but that irvinestown person is jus stupid..sure they cant even beat bellek who trillick double scored against... even if it took a while.cmon trillick for ulster

only87 (Tyrone) - Posts: 29 - 28/11/2008 11:17:16    152266

and another thing irvinestown gael...trillicks chances dont depend on any one player... they ve had to shift responsibility about so much coz of injuries and fatigue. u cant reli judge coz u havent been to the matches.. i mean in the county final philip mcgrade stepped up n was the main scorer. the next game mattie donnelly took out with a great game. this is all without speedy county panellist niall gormley so not they dont rely totally on mattie but he is doing well so credit to him. one thing remains consistent in all trillicks matches is that a majority of the scores come thru niall donnelly..he is the main ball winner and worker in the forward line n regardless of who puts it over in the end he is outstanding and is definitely not gettin the credit he deserves..a real character on and off the pitch and terror for any one two or even three players to mark (the count seems to increase with evry match) as is shown by the amount of times hes fouled

only87 (Tyrone) - Posts: 29 - 28/11/2008 11:24:36    152276

another thing again... u said that man lost his balance in the stand.....im here ta tell u he didnt..the woman and her fathers behaviour was a disgrace and unprovoked...mattie donnelly had jus been punched a number of times and trillick people were obviouslty roaring ther objections to this and next thing she and her father let themselves ther club and ther county down by taking things nasty.that is not what gaa is about. i was disgusted and then to see one of the belleek panel spat on the head of an eleven year old trillick supporter is sickening. whatever slagging a small girl mite give you about her club beating could not justify that behaviour...ever.disgrace!

only87 (Tyrone) - Posts: 29 - 28/11/2008 11:35:44    152291

Enniskillen teacher why are you on here at this time of day? you wouldnt be a teacher at trillick? Stick to the teaching and leave gaa matters to the pitch. and as for spelling should lost not be lossed?
I hear that at trillicks training last night confidence isnt so high when they heard bout the derry club creditentals. uphill task for the boys in red i think. you will have a long way to go when any of you are able to fill the boots of a dromore player.
come saturday night will see whose right!

dromorethegreat (Tyrone) - Posts: 181 - 28/11/2008 11:53:52    152306

Oh dear Dromorenotsogreat at spelling yourself.No such word as 'lossed' you eejit. As for your use of the word 'whose' -the less said the better. You should think carefully before slagging an Enniskellen teacher.

RichardCranium (Tyrone) - Posts: 262 - 28/11/2008 12:29:39    152346

I'm not convinced about those photos as with the appropriate software they can be modified to give an impression of something that may not have happened.

Even if and its a BIG F, the photos and incient are true one must ask what provoked the attack? You may find that the said young Trillick player may not be that innocent.

I still stick by my prediction and that is that Trillick will be humilated in the final based on reading about their Derry opponents.

lrvinestownGael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 847 - 28/11/2008 13:04:12    152379

dromore person ever heard the phrase if uve nothing nice ta say then dont bother sayin it...fair enough if u dont wana see us win but why r u bothering to come out with all this rubbish.obviously u like ur own club players better but we like our boys and obviously at the minute use are a stronger team but we are havin a crack at wat we can do so get over it n quiet down.. we are enjoying watchin our team do well....thats a part of wat footballs about

only87 (Tyrone) - Posts: 29 - 28/11/2008 14:17:07    152436

well i was there...n it happened jus like that..
im sure there was the usual exchange of verbals between the players but simple fact is he hit him once, waited and when mattie did the wise thing for his team by not reacting, lyons slapped him, then punched him n then punched him again to the ground...
doesnt mater wat slabberin they were doing to each other that isnt acceptable...
the player got ragged coz mattie was startin to completely roast him n had jus scored another great point from a long range free..
plus...anyone who knows mattie knows hes wouldnt exactly have a razor sharp tongue on him so i really cant imagine him sayin anythin too bad before the punches

only87 (Tyrone) - Posts: 29 - 28/11/2008 14:51:31    152469

sham gael wat more evidence do u need? the gaa authorities have a enuff to ban the offending player 4 a long long time.
just want 2 say the best of luck 2 trillick tis weekend.

by the way matty is still only 17 and not 18 until dec.

Coa_gael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1185 - 28/11/2008 15:21:04    152494

hi only87 should are s slabber. I'll have the last laugh lad com tomorrow nite!

dromorethegreat (Tyrone) - Posts: 181 - 28/11/2008 17:38:32    152662