carna v oughterard

Gaillimh,how do you come to the conclusion that Connemara teams stick together,and how can you say Oughterard played politics yesterday by Beating Carna,it would be different if they let Carna win. From what i heard (i was not at the match) they showed great determination and were the better team,this was also stated in some of the other comments posted. Also Alfie,i think Carna should not have played St Michael's until they had the Oughterard game out of the way,you are the one with all the rules,will you have a look and see if there is a rule that says the final round of the league has to be played on the same day by all the teams?????????????????????????????????

reteoir (Galway) - Posts: 197 - 24/11/2008 15:38:38    148520

wouldn't be so sure that leitir mór will now go straight through to a final with St. Michaels. Carna and Oughterard aren't going to let a team on the same points as them into a final without some kind of opposition, especially since Carna played a weakened team against Michaels as they already thought they had the 2 points from the Oughterard game (the one all the confusion was about).

high_fielder (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 24/11/2008 16:02:53    148553

i don t think that will come into it carnas game against michaels. if they decided to play an understrength team then thats their problem. they should have been going out to win every game.

citygaafan (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 24/11/2008 16:53:18    148618

I would have to agree with high_fielder on that. It seems to me there is a strong possibility that either Carna or Oughterard will appeal. The West GPC are not very clear on the matter and like someone mentioned earlier all the final league games should have been played on the same day and what do they mean by scoring average? Should it not be score difference?

gemcarn (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 24/11/2008 16:54:55    148619

Gaillimh

148443 Yesterdays game just shows how connemara teams stick together! Oughterard played politics yesterday and that just might come back to haunt them yet, This would not happen in the north board!
Michaels and Glenamaddy think they have it easy now cause carna are out, Good luck to Naomh Anna and I hope yee trash them.
.........................................................................................
Gaillimh....I have heard some ridicilous statments in my life!! But you defnitley get first prize!! How in GODS name, you came to the conclusion, that Oughterard were involved in some kind of conspiracy, for going out and winning a game is beyond me!!! Or do you think Carna let them win???? Is that your problem???
Now Sorry, I shouldnt have given you first prize for that one!! The one about it never happening in NORTH Galway, has to be the statment of the century!!! So please stop making an eejit of yourself, coming out with that tripe!!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 24/11/2008 19:40:50    148816

If ya ask me it all seems to be a bit of a joke! This whole situation has been handled terribly by the GAA, typically leaving everone confused about where the teams stand.. also, in what shape are Leitir Mor for the final? Surely they didn't expect this outcome?

GalwayBoy (Galway) - Posts: 11 - 24/11/2008 19:47:14    148820

Ok,enough of the speculation,is there a rule that the last round of league games have to be played on the same day at the same time or not,?????????????????????????? If the answer is yes,then why did the west board not make sure that the Carna V Oughterard game was finished before the last round was played. Where is Alfie with the rules book to clear it up,so we can move on!!!!!!!!!!!!

reteoir (Galway) - Posts: 197 - 24/11/2008 19:50:42    148821

reteoir
There is nothing about playing all the last round games at the same time in the rules but it is common sense.
If it had been a Championship Match the competition would not have continued for anybody but league is different I'm afraid.

Anybody here from Carna or Oughterard care to comment? Where do you stand?

Football Board Convention is next Monday night if you want rules changed for next year but Deadline has probably passed.

alfie (Galway) - Posts: 309 - 24/11/2008 20:24:04    148853

Now I know why you are Sammy the BUD, you dont have a clue!!

Gaillimh (Galway) - Posts: 191 - 24/11/2008 20:57:26    148882

"Sammythe puck, are you for real"

Jeez Mise u were fairly quick to jump down Sammys throat wen all de poor man woz doin woz congratulating Ougtherard on a famous win. If ur so sensitive y didnt u respond to bigtoms vicious attack on ur people(which u definetely saw as u posted under same topic 3 days later)

"whats going on in West IFL? matches cancelled, appeals etc.. North IFL final would have been over last week but for weather.. ye should just give Michaels cup, no one better than them anyway. typical connemara handbags at dawn.... "

So its allright for ever1 else except Sammy to insult ya is dat it?

FrankFox (Galway) - Posts: 37 - 24/11/2008 21:35:48    148903

i thought you Sammy would at leasst stand by another Conamara club, but then again breathnachs are a set apart from all other Conamara clubs. every1 knows that u.ard did not want to play game when it was fixd. they celebrated yesterday like they won the county final. 6 different referee's refused to ref thr game, a match that had not one bad foul in it. why???? Only good thing about been Intermediate 2009 is that U. ard have to travel to carna.... lets hope they turn up when they are supposed to now. As for fear chuigeal, i though you emigrated, havent heard you since we beat ye off pitch in Carna, , by the way were you not cheering our every score when we played Michaels. any ways good luck v michaels and i hope ye beat Glenamddy too, another team who play with gamesmanship

mise (Galway) - Posts: 144 - 24/11/2008 22:51:07    148954

Carna got what was coming to them after fielding a mickey mouse team against Michaels resulting in Michaels finishing ahead of Leitimor. What goes around comes around!!! As well as that Carna are nowhere near senior standard and are fooling themselves into thinkin otherwise. As for the North board slagging of the west board; I can remember on many occasions Minor teams, junior teams etc. waiting 6 or 7 weeks for the county final just because the north board couldn't get there act together. All Glenamaddy will have waited (provided theres no replay) is 3 weeks!!!!

t.g (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 25/11/2008 00:05:37    149006

THANKS, Frankfox!!! The problem with us back here, frankfox is, I will say us! Is the place is full of LICK *****.. They are good at attacking each other..but like you pointed out..when any outsider insults them, they hide in a corner, and pretend they did'nt hear or see anything!!
Fair play to OUGHTERARD, Fair play to St. Micheals, also!! They were by far the best two teams in the west at that grade, so I dont know what all the fuss is about!!! A crowd of school kids wouldn't let in Four goals! And then Gaillimh goes ranting on about a Conspiracy!!! He still cant explain what he meant!!!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 25/11/2008 00:11:56    149011

Alfie.....We all know the Rule book and Common sense, are two totally different things in the GAA!!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 25/11/2008 00:18:39    149013

word has it St. Michaels V Litir Mor 2p.m sunday invern

citygaafan (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 25/11/2008 08:53:25    149053

Gaillimh, i'd have to agree with Sammy the Bull on this one, it's only a few years since two north board teams played each other with both needing a point to keep their senior status, lo and behold they managed to play out a draw and both teams did keep senoir status. Apparantly that game was a total joke with players jogging around, nobody bothering to put any pressure on the opposition and for most of the second half attempting not to score rather than score. Compare that with your accusation about oughterard playing politics, oughterard did what you expect every team to do and went out to win a game. Which sounds more like politics?

top_corner (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 25/11/2008 09:23:19    149068

Lads I dont know what ye are gettin all worked up about things for anyway. Michaels would hammer the best these 3 teams could put out between and will destroy leitir mor sunday. All connemara teams cant play football and are just interested in hitting and fighting,etc. Michaels will win the All ireland and lets hope St. James come up next year and leave all ye wasters killing yerselves down in intermediate..."its now or never,kiss me my darling..."

cityboy (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 25/11/2008 12:00:45    149258

to cityboy...next time you sign in,you should sign in as.. citygirl.

Paddy_Ireland (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 25/11/2008 12:41:19    149304

Oh, i think you are loosing the run of yourself a little cityboy. While i do agree with you that St Michael's are a decent team and the best of luck to them,i hope they do win the All Ireland. When you look back at the year,you will see that they didn't go unbeaten and had there share of luck from time to time.In the first round of the championship they had to go to extra time to beat Caherlistrane's 2nd team. Then they were beaten by Kilconly,so they only got into the championship final by the back door.Also out west,they were beaten by Uactar Ard in the league,so as you can see they are no world beaters. I think that they had a little bit of luck this year and to win anything every team needs a little bit of luck,don't you agree. I also think that they will have it all to do to beat Lettermore in the final.I don't know what kind of a panel they have,but if they are smart they will use it wisely in order to avoid injury,because i would think that the All Ireland is there main goal.

reteoir (Galway) - Posts: 197 - 25/11/2008 13:33:26    149355

Cityboy.....Would you stop like a good man!!!! We were just starting a serious conversation between a few men!!! And then something like you comes along!!! I wish Micheals the best, I think it is great for that side of the City, And as for Connemara men fighting, I agree most of us are able to look after ourselves!!!! But to see the real stuff, we have to travel into Eyre SQ, Tuam SQ, Ballybane, etc,etc,etc..... on the weekend!
There, they fight for no reason at all... Great spectacle!!! Better than the late night show!!! Bit more civilised back here , thank God!!So a bit of passion between a few Connemara men on a football pitch, is better than that stuff anyday!!!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 25/11/2008 13:36:38    149363