Ireland's Call

Devils advocate here - Bottom line is its a United Ireland team which like it or not incorporates two seperate countries. Trimble and co aren't from the Rebublic so our anthem is not theirs. Why should they have our anthem played when it doesnt represent them? Surely they have as much right as the players from the Republic?

Shouldnt the only fair solution be something common for both? And if the answer to this is yes, then whats wrong in theory with Ireland Call?

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 26/11/2008 11:18:08    150233

derfil. I can't understand why people can't wrap their head around what you just said... It's very simple!!!

TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 26/11/2008 14:41:21    150471

Ye are all completely wrong. I know everyone is entitled to their opinion, but that doesnt mean its a good opinion.

Ireland's Call is a farce. I dont care who is on our team, its the IRISH team, and should have ONLY the Irish Anthem played. If some people/players/whoever dont like it, thats fine. We have done an awful lot over the past few years to respect the wishes of some people who live in the 6 IRISH counties in the North. But basically saying its wrong for our anthem to be played like what happened at the World Cup? I find that appalling.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2573 - 26/11/2008 14:57:40    150492

i personally find it very hard to get behind a team who sings a phil coulter 'b - side' with such vigor,this culture of self loathing in ireland is becoming farcical,lets embrace our own cultural identity for once

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 26/11/2008 15:53:22    150568

Lads, its here to stay...unless of course some highly unlikely major political events take place over the next few years to dictate otherwise. Until such time, its there, it gets played, its not the biggest deal in the country at the moment, so get over it and stand proud because I think any single one of us would be proud to be standing out there while it gets played! Do you honestly think any of the players give a toss when they're out there on the field?!

sheepshooter (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 26/11/2008 15:57:24    150571

So Irish people who want their own National Anthem played in their own country are .... wrong !!! God help us all !!!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 26/11/2008 16:56:14    150631

Darren Gibson is from Derry, because Derry is in the North should Ireland's Call be played at Soccer matches?

I'm basing this question on the words of both songs.

dachubba (Cavan) - Posts: 74 - 26/11/2008 17:49:48    150699

AAAAHHHHH, now i see what everyone is trying to say and i finally agree with yous, DOWN WITH CHANGE!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/11/2008 18:51:51    150736