What about the dancing ladies??? BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 21/11/2008 14:19:54 146965 Link 0 |
Keano 3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 21/11/2008 14:26:57 146976 Link 0 |
'Rugby be in Ireland is not a bigoted organisation like the Gaa and Soccer can be, Irish Rugby accomadates both communites and traditions', bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 21/11/2008 14:36:44 146985 Link 0 |
Look, I will make this as simple as i possibly can. Ok now what part of this do you lot NOT understand? The Irish rugby team represent 32 counties, it is NOT the REPUBLIC of Ireland Rugby team, its the ISLAND of Ireland Rugby team. ANF is the anthem of the REPUBLIC, not the Island.....It is played at home games because the republic is the host country, but the team is the ISLAND of Ireland. Rory Best is as dedicated as any of the Munster/Leinster lads. He gives as much and it means as much to him as any of them. The lads who come down from Dungannon etc also. Irelands Call is a poor song yes but it is a "necessary evil" Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/11/2008 14:42:53 146988 Link 0 |
Northpole:"Was at one match and when it came on I just went to the jacks,problem solved....well two problems solved." jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/11/2008 14:45:52 146991 Link 0 |
Patrique, bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 21/11/2008 14:54:04 146997 Link 0 |
Ye see if ye just stuck to supporting the International Rules team there'd be none of this nonsense. It's the only true 32-county team we have. That rugby & soccer shower don't represent my country as far as I'm concerned. I'd rather they dropped Amhrain na bhFhiann before the Rugby matches & got rid of the Irish flag & the Ireland name while they're at it. Wouldn't that keep most of them happy? They could call themselves the Western Isle or some such & I could stop being annoyed every time that song is played as my country's national anthem. domoore (Laois) - Posts: 346 - 21/11/2008 16:19:20 147122 Link 0 |
Liamwalkinstown Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 21/11/2008 18:11:51 147222 Link 0 |
realgaa PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 21/11/2008 18:38:36 147248 Link 0 |
redhandman PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 21/11/2008 18:59:58 147257 Link 0 |
I'M SO SICK OF THIS!!! Be reasonable, realistic and for God's sake have some COMMON SENSE!! GROW UP!!! NOBODY who isn't from the Republic of Ireland should have to sing our anthem!!! WHY SHOULD THEY!?! Amhrán na BhFiann is NOT the anthem of the island. It's the republics anthem!!! TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 21/11/2008 19:40:49 147300 Link 0 |
LIAM!!!: TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 21/11/2008 19:46:28 147302 Link 0 |
Fair play to you lino_de_legend you seem to be the only other person here which loves the idea of a united ireland built around compromise. Anyway i have better things to do on a friday night so il get back to all you other idiots at a later date. Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/11/2008 20:14:43 147321 Link 0 |
Htaem is bang on with this one. 32 county team, including players from more than one denomination. ireland's call isn't a great song, but it allows for a balance to be found. everyone on our team deserves to be treated with respect for their efforts in the green of ireland. evangelist (Longford) - Posts: 245 - 21/11/2008 20:53:46 147349 Link 0 |
I told you once before. The song is part of the peace process, highlighting an alleged two "cultures" and all that nonsense. It was a decision made by politicians, not the rugby team or administration. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/11/2008 23:18:48 147393 Link 0 |
So because there is a small minority of people on the "Island of Ireland" rugby team and a small minority of supporters of the "Island of Ireland" rugby team that might be offended by a national anthem the majority wants, it should be avoided. For years the nationalist communities in the north have been the minority and have had to grin and bear it. It was only recently a Tyrone supporter was asked to remove Tyrone gaa supporter colours if I am not mistaken. There was uproar on this very site about the incident. Now the shoe is on the other foot with the unionist communities being in the minority and some people on this site want to bow down to them straight away in fear of offending them and rocking the boat. The day God save the Queen was sang in Croke park was a sad day in Irish history and a terrible blight on the memories of the great men who used the gaa to instill a sense of national pride and identity into the irish people. The adversity they faced from a barbaric and unscupulous britsish government whilst trying to do this makes their feat of establishing the gaa all the more significant. Irelands call has no place in Croke Park Amhran nabhFiann is the irish national anthem that should be played in Croke park. There is no place either for the english supporters who come here to promote racism, bigotry and anti irish sentiments. JohnMitchel (Dublin) - Posts: 178 - 22/11/2008 06:40:35 147447 Link 0 |
Its just so the Ulster players have something to sing. John_3__7 (Meath) - Posts: 546 - 22/11/2008 11:03:18 147470 Link 0 |
So to follow this through to liam's logical conclusion, what national anthem should be played when northern counties play in croke. bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 22/11/2008 15:08:43 147530 Link 0 |
John Mitchel, did you read what you wrote? patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 22/11/2008 20:30:34 147669 Link 0 |
Rugby be in Ireland is not a bigoted organisation like the Gaa and Soccer can be, Irish Rugby accomadates both communites and traditions, I think this should be appluaded. I think the gaa and fai should take note. Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 22/11/2008 20:33:05 147672 Link 0 |