Ireland's Call

If your insulted by my point of view then your obviously deluded MayoHollymount, you can't challange my patriotism or that of anyone else who shares my views. Im every bit as patriotic as you are and like you (im sure) id love to see a united Ireland but the big difference between us is that im all for breaking down barriers and compromisiong, where as you (and your not alone unfortunitly) want to have everything and concede nothing, sort of an iron fist attitude. How can you expect protestant players from NI to stand and sing for Amhran na bhFiann, they need some sort of compromise do they not? Ps, you'll have plenty of time to conjure up a competent response MayoHollymount because i won't get a chance to be on HS until evening time tomorrow. So i suggest you use your time wisely and come up with some sort of logical explanation as to why you hate a constructive, bonding anthem like Irelands Call and love an alienating, dividing piece of crap like Amhran na bhFiann.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/11/2008 22:44:42    146490

Now before i go, Cavan_Slasher that thing about Cavan was only a joke, so lighten up or get off the scales buddy. Plus i don't live in Navan nor do i even like the place so i really couldn't care less what you say about it.

Why should the Nationalist people of the 6 occupied counties of Northern IRELAND be subjected to that, that is NOT their National Anthem.

Its not our national anthem either but it should be, anyway whats your point? Ive stated mine and il do it again very simply so theres no grey area:

Nationalist & Republicians = Amhran na bhFiann
Unionists & Loyalists = God Save The Queen

Nationalist & Republicians & Unionists & Loyalists = Irelands Call (now doesn't that look an awful lot better than having a divide?)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/11/2008 22:55:13    146506

And finally to BRING_ON_GURTY!, if your serious about your comment then your a disgrace to the county, simple as that.

Thats all folks.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/11/2008 22:57:58    146511

It's an awful song I agree. However if it keeps the peace and satisfies those Unionists on the Rugby team then fair enough. I am a Northern Nationalist and I recognise the Soldiers Song as my anthem BUT many Protestants from the North stand for the Irish anthem in total respect. We should respect their wishes too.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 20/11/2008 23:01:14    146516

Htaem, so you are going to play 4 Anthems. It will be like a Mexican Wave with lads standing up and others sitting down. Could i suggest the "Hokey Cokey" instead.

PS. dont worry i am actually in good humour today !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 20/11/2008 23:10:02    146535

By the way, the players (rugby) always stood for the anthem and had no problem with it, even that Tweed who later emerged as a die hard DUP candidate. It was the administration who changed the protocol, no doubt under pressure from those running the peace process.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/11/2008 23:10:19    146536

Ah dont go to bed yet Hatem, not inm bad humour anyway please.

I have it figured !! We could have both Anthems played at the same time, sure that would sort it out !!! Brilliant !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 20/11/2008 23:21:10    146559

I too hate irelands call and political correctness of an ulster flad and a tri-colour...

It is terrible and i find very infuriating the ant-northern agenda and this off course is especially annoying considering in 1921 The souths willingness to forget their fellow irishmen...

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 20/11/2008 23:29:34    146569

Chill Hokey,

Tyrone AND Ulster were ALWAYS the heart and hub of the Irish nation and language going back centuries so don't let the uneducated ignorant ramblers get to you. The Plantation only happened in an attempt to subdue the most rebellious Irish province of Ulster so those trying to say we are NOT Irish are both historically and politically incorrect. Most of Leinster had long submitted to English rule by the 16th century while Connaught didn't have the population to rebel. Munster was also hostile to English rule so it's no surprise that most of the opposition to Cromwell came from Ulster and Munster. Indeed it was O'Neill's Tyrone & Donegal armies who gave Cromwell his most difficult fight in Ireland, at Clonmel, Tipperary. Those partitionists on here who try to say that Ulster people are NOT Irish are deluded fools who know neither their country, peoples NOR history. As an Ulsterman you should be quite confident and content that your province is THE most Irish of all!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 20/11/2008 23:54:13    146585

htaem, i couldn't have put it better. i couldn't care less if they played mr blobbys greatest hits before the feckin match, any sport that unites everybody on this lovely isle should be given a round of applause.you dont see north and south korea staring a rugby team! why should a team be split cause ya's dont like a song. i love my anthem, but rather people get along

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 20/11/2008 23:56:14    146586

This is another one for 'The non GAA thread' Lads give us a break.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 21/11/2008 00:03:37    146588

Too true Hokey. Problem is the Catholic Church and Sinn Fein had everyone in the North voting FOR the treaty. Even if you look at the famous 1918 election Sinn Fein only lost 6 seats. One of those was West Belfast.

And the unionists thought it was a good idea as well.

Mind you, in the treaty debate lasting the guts of two weeks the North was only vaguely mentioned twice I think. Probably because it had its own parliament then, and the argument was about a 26 county free state or a 26 county republic.

But I do agree with your point, although I can also see with hindsight that Collins was right, and probably with British help especially during the economic slump, he would have got a United Ireland. Unfortunately he was killed.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/11/2008 00:44:31    146598

I love amhran na bhfiann and am very proud hearing and singing it, be it before GAA matches or at olympic presentations (not that that happens often). But im also really proud to hear Irelands Call played before our rugby too. No one is forcing it to be played before every irish sport, but its there to represent the people that may not feel represented by Amhran na bhfiann. We should be proud of all of our rugby players and what they represent and get over ourselves when it comes to something like an extra match anthem. Plus, unlike alot of people, i kinda find the tune catchy.

MNMN (Monaghan) - Posts: 19 - 21/11/2008 01:41:06    146613

Htaem - sort yourself out would you - its a light hearted sports (specifically GAA) forum..

if you cant comprehend or accept sarcasm - its not the place for you..
"disgrace to the county?" - hilarious

I actually agree with Cavan Slasher though - should play both songs at the same time..

A bit like them mash up re-mixes you hear..
Get some dancing girls as well...

You cant argue with entertainment..

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 21/11/2008 10:46:03    146736

Listen it's a horrible dirge but it keeps the Ulster boys happy so what's the harm.I notice quite a few of the players don't sing it and it's meant to be for them!.Was at one match and when it came on I just went to the jacks,problem solved....well two problems solved.

northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 21/11/2008 11:25:08    146764

the best laugh is watch the vid from the all black game the said players that this is there for sing NEITHER anthem i think its a joke makes a laughing stock out of our nations teams"

What?

the players from ulster do not sing any of the 2 anthems thats what!!!!!!!!!

redhandman (Tyrone) - Posts: 431 - 21/11/2008 11:40:52    146784

Rugby be in Ireland is not a bigoted organisation like the Gaa and Soccer can be, Irish Rugby accomadates both communites and traditions, I think this should be appluaded. I think the gaa and fai should take note.

pj take a look @ what the gaa stands for -promotion of all things irish , tell me again how can you be all things irish yet appease DUP memebers ? the two are incapable of being done look at the carry on with greg campbell FFS invited to open gaa grounds and the next day slags the gaa off as being sectarian!

redhandman (Tyrone) - Posts: 431 - 21/11/2008 11:45:42    146788

Redhandman, keep your voice down when you are talking about the D.U.P. You never know who's listening !! Patrique mentioned one of their men, a certain Davy Tweed. I remember hearing that ginnet talking about his rugby career a few years ago. He said something like that he had represented his country 46 times and played for Ireland 8 times. !! Would'nt he look well in Croke Park ?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 21/11/2008 13:22:08    146884

PJ give me an example of a GAA club that operates a sectarian policy or supports sectarianism ?

realgaa (UK) - Posts: 128 - 21/11/2008 13:48:09    146918

Brolly - you're a twit.

Agree with you totally Hollymount person. It's also a bit much to expect our opponents to stand there for an extra 5 minutes before a game because we have 2 songeens. Good point.

Keano (Mayo) - Posts: 412 - 21/11/2008 14:02:59    146942