Boggan Man....everyone needs the "rub of the green"...shur didn't your boys get it in the drawn game?????? Éire Óg aren't conmplaining about conditions, referees etc...we got the draw & we are still there. Ok the conditions weren't condusive to our style of play but we will work on that for Sunday & come hail rain or snow we'll try to play to our stengths & counteract our opponents! Andi (Carlow) - Posts: 40 - 13/11/2008 18:42:06 140801 Link 0 |
Bast of Good Luck to Eire Og from all in the south of the County for the replay on Sunday. I for one will be in Pearse park (or whereever) come hail or rain and I hope to have many more days out. To dualsupporter - don't stress yourself over our fixtures secretary - so the absolute critical necessity of running a semi-final this week end must be accomadated. I mean there will be cats having kittens during the summer that will necessiate matches being called off because of the long warm evenings. moll (Carlow) - Posts: 153 - 13/11/2008 19:36:13 140841 Link 0 |
Best wishes to eire og on sunday - i think you'll do it. from all in old leighlin. novalis (Carlow) - Posts: 318 - 14/11/2008 12:17:46 141383 Link 0 |
Well done Eire Og,--Five star performance. supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3238 - 16/11/2008 19:31:23 142439 Link 0 |
Well done to Eire Og. Good to see so many in Longford today. Two good evenly matched teams and hard on the losing team who I have to say were hard but clean. EO seemed to have a conveyor of good subs. moll (Carlow) - Posts: 153 - 16/11/2008 22:09:11 142548 Link 0 |
ANDI ! Fair play to Eire Og they got the job done. they seem to have a big squad to choose from.They deserve a couple of weeks rest to prepare for the next round. Congrats ! boggan.man (Carlow) - Posts: 14 - 16/11/2008 23:18:11 142595 Link 0 |
Well done Eire Og! Another win ground out after a replay and et. Some performance. Putting a lot of your supporters under the heart monitor! Cormac Mullins was great and 'young' Quinlan was a s cute as ever. The backs also played their part. McCarthy and Hennessey standing tall at vital times. The whole teams play was however the difference...next week@ carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1883 - 17/11/2008 08:08:54 142628 Link 0 |
Fantastic win in Longford yesterday. Great heart and battling qualities saw EO through. The Real 1944 (Carlow) - Posts: 1114 - 17/11/2008 12:17:36 142825 Link 0 |
WELL DONE TO EIRE OG. WAS AT THE GAME AND THOUGHT THEY DUG VERY DEEP TO PULL OFF A GREAT VICTORY. THEY WERE MISSING SIMON REA, PAUL CASHEN, ALAN O BRIEN AND I BELIEVE 2/3 MORE OF PANEL HAD FLU - YET THEY PRODCED A COUPLE OF PLAYERS OFF THE BENCH THAT I HAD NEVER HEARD OF SEEN PLAY BEFORE. I THINK THEIR STRENGTH-IN-DEPTH WILL CARRY THEM THROUGH NEXT SUNDAY PROVIDED THEY DONT OVER TRAIN THIS WEEK. novalis (Carlow) - Posts: 318 - 17/11/2008 12:26:03 142834 Link 0 |
I've been away and am now cathcing up and reading back over posts and would like to thank 'Carlow Fan and Pal' for contributing so humourously on the Board! All Star (Carlow) - Posts: 132 - 19/11/2008 09:26:13 144620 Link 0 |
Our friend "Pal" has been very quiet this week after all his comments about eire og over the last few weeks - however on the longford website "carlowfan" has been telling columcilles that they should have won it! Thankfully judging by the amount of support that eire og had last week in longford most carlovians support their own - it was great to see. Next sunday Rhode will be hard to beat but i think this eire og team have a great belief in themselves and their ability to never say die attitude could see them through. Best of luck to the eire og lads. dual supporter (Carlow) - Posts: 772 - 19/11/2008 10:25:59 144689 Link 0 |
god ye all very sensitive indeed! Unless ye are all blind and a bit stupid you must recognise that Eire og were a tad lucky to scrape a draw in DCP the first day out. They were dominated and only for a decent defence should have lost, simple as that folks! They failed to score in the 2nd half for gods sake. BTW I'm from Carlow and will support Eire og once out of the county but like to tell the truth every now and again. Carlowfan (Carlow) - Posts: 22 - 19/11/2008 12:52:32 144871 Link 0 |
AllStar, grand post, but i couldnt help replying i dont mean it to sound like sour grapes, but its easy for them to have strength and dept in the panel (and to do without the players you mentioned) when they've such a huge catchment. Carlow is a pretty big town. of the 2 other clubs serving it (apart from EO, i mean), one has never been able to get its act together to attract players, and the other seems to be goin that way, given there's been plenty of players leaving in the past couple years. thats pretty much the reason that no other club in the county (and very few around the province, i would guess) can match them in that area. and maybe part of the reason that they can perform so well in Leinster, and Carlow county can hardly manage a win! look at the EO team of the 90s, for example. correct me if im wrong, but: in 7 years, they won 6 county championships, 5 Leinsters? thats 1 defeat in 6 campaigns. i dunno how many games that included, i estimate over 20 anyway. and they were beating the best clubs from counties that would normally hammer Carlow. well its pretty obvious why, when at one point 2 thirds of the county team is from Eire Og. too many of the best fellas playin for the same club. no other club in Leinster would have had so many county players at the one time that said, Eire Og cant be blamed for their own success. sure why wouldnt players wanna play there, they've fantastic facilities (a result of their own huge ambition, fair play to em), and in my 2 decades or so watchin Carlow football, EO more than any other club have shown they know how to win games, whether it be as a result of attitude, preparation, self-belief, or just plain footballing superiority at times unfortunately, its not great for Carlow football to have so many of the county's best footballers playing for the one club. there are loads of fellas kicking away at Intermediate for EO who'd be more than capable of playing senior football if they joined another club (or capable of getting Asca/Askea/whatever promoted to Senior if they made a move down the road). its unfortunate, but unlikely to change any time soon. it was ridiculous having a player like Sean Gannon not playing senior last year though, or Cormac Mullins this year. if he'd gone to any other club he'd have been corner forward on their senior team!! add to that, 10 minors in 12 years, or whatever it is. id love to know how many players who looked top class in winning county championships at 18 have now walked away from the game completely, and how much of that is partly cos the best they could have managed at EO is the Intermediate panel, or the Junior team? how could there be room for them, realistically. i remember when Arles-Kilcruise with their tiny catchment (a village split in 2, remember) won Laois in 2003, and JP Conway was interviewed in the Sunday Indo. he said "we'd make teams out of the lads that Portlaoise would discard". id say EO lose as many players for the GAA as a result of their own success anyway, that went on longer than id intended! something to think about, would love to hear anyone's thoughts on it! best of luck to the YIs against Rhode anyway. another Leinster, 10 years after the last, would be a fantastic achievement. keep the Carlow flag flying thinlizzy (Carlow) - Posts: 263 - 19/11/2008 13:38:11 144931 Link 0 |
"carlowfan" - not a bit sensitive at all! just pointing out the fact that you felt the need to go on longford website yesterday saying they should have won - which is your opinion but not a word of congrats to the eire og lads on carlow website so wheres that support your going on about dual supporter (Carlow) - Posts: 772 - 19/11/2008 14:03:17 144961 Link 0 |
I went on the longford site to tell some eegit off after him slagging off carlow football in general if you had a better look. Eire og wont be looking for congratulations afetr winning a Leinster quarter!! Carlowfan (Carlow) - Posts: 22 - 19/11/2008 17:01:36 145192 Link 0 |
I'd just like to say good luck to the red half of the town this sunday - can't make it but will be there to cheer ye on in the final - no reason whatsoever why they cant win this one - for the record, in 2000 my own club only beat the kilkenny champs by 8 points, went to a replay and extra time against an unfancied Kinnegad team in the next round...the rest is history as they say, so i wouldn't be paying too much attention to people writing off EO's challenge this weekend - plus I think it reflects quite well on the current standard of club football that they are representing Carlow so well, seeing as there were so many tight games this year. PC (Carlow) - Posts: 3 - 20/11/2008 16:35:40 146059 Link 0 |
Thanks "Boggan Man"!!! Andi (Carlow) - Posts: 40 - 20/11/2008 22:06:36 146430 Link 0 |