Samin10, I really don't know why, in the month of November you are still going on about the booing of the Fermanagh supporters. Your posts at the time on the subject got us all involved, and resulted in the same reactions (including from myself) that we are seeing now in this one. Can you please move on and discuss something else ???? ntb_exile (Fermanagh) - Posts: 12 - 08/11/2008 19:17:46 136836 Link 0 |
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 08/11/2008 20:39:43 136876 Link 0 |
Just watching a sports highlights programme and the scots where booing the all black kicker all the time now can we please move on to this issue samin it gives us an opportunity to condem not only a county but an entire nation as drunken hooligan supporters. I boo ive said it before its all part of the craic ive heard my own county booed i remember in Casement as a child the tanoy use to call out about not booing the visiting team running on to the pitch and the people didnt do it but during the game its part of the crowds involvement. North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 08/11/2008 21:16:19 136890 Link 0 |
as regards the booing, every county does it. regards the tom walsh affair - the verbal abuse DID happen. i was beside tom at the final whistle went when two people from lisbellaw came over and called him southern b******d and other nice things. these two players let their team mates down and also showed what nice people they are. things did get a bit crazy at the final whistle but probally law deserved to go throught over the two days. the lisbellaw chairman didnt even denide that it happened, he just said that no players or officals hear any abuse. he would say that. rant over - well done law, was at final, couldnt believe that was same team that only scored two points from play against us in the replay. best of luck in the all ireland semi and do ulster proud. you are only one game away from croker. hurl away Hurl08 (Cavan) - Posts: 164 - 09/11/2008 16:05:18 137101 Link 0 |
I was at the both games and to be honest, the disrespect the Fermanagh fans gave to Armagh players and fans was crazy!! Very unsportsmanlike manners and jeers and boos were shouted at every free. Abuse to the referee and all sorts. I know every county has these idiots but fermanagh seemed to have hundreds, even thousands! landofthehand (Tyrone) - Posts: 47 - 09/11/2008 17:33:07 137123 Link 0 |
ManFromManach County: Fermanagh Posts: 26 136634 Samin10 I don't usually rise to this sort of baiting on the HS but I think I have to stick up for my county. Fermanagh has a small core following of fans who will attend national leagues and early rounds of the Championships. This year was the first time since 1982 that Fermanagh had reached the final and with this match came the rise of our fair weather support. In most championship games we would be lucky to top 8000 fans but at the ulster final there must have been an extra 6000 people at the game, many of who only attend games sporadically therefore here booing on soccer games on TV and tend to copy. However this does not give you the blanket all Fermanagh fans with the same brush. I have been in Clones and seen a number of Armagh fans throw empty beer can from the top of the hill down into the sitting area below. Then fighting with the Garda when being asked to leave the ground. I have also seen to too many young Armagh fans getting sick inside and outside of grounds all over the country. (You have to admit Armagh fans do have a reputation for this). However despite these incidents I don't find the need to point the finger at all Armagh supporters. Then we have the riot in Derry between Armagh and Derry fans after the Championship game in 1996 and then later in the Altnagelvin hospital. Which I believe it was the Armagh fans who took most of the blame. (At least our so called fans only booed your fair weather fans riot). Maybe that is a little unfair, but my point is not to point a finger back but rather to stop people like you blanketing all true fans with the same brush. i appreciate your honest reply and at least you have given an explanation as to why there seemed to be so many Fermanagh fans involved in this rather than taking the approach that some other fermanagh fans have taken on here basically denying that it happened or saying it was a small number who was involved. I accept your explanation as to be fair when we played you'se in 2006 in the earlier rounds there was not the same problem. Your point about Armagh and Derry in 96 is way of the mark though. There was no riot between Derry and Armagh supporters. There was a fight between a group of Armagh supporters and a group of bogside hoods in their trackie bottoms and celtic tops. The fight occured when these hoods smashed windows in buses carrying Armagh supporters. The bus i was sitting in had the windows smashed with bricks. One Armagh woman had her jaw broke when the brick came through the window and hit her. A number of Derry supporters actually came to the aid of Armagh fans. We eventally got taken out of the area in cars and taxis driven by Derry Republicans who had assembled when they heard what was going on. They said that those involved were scum and they would be getting a visit. samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 10/11/2008 11:12:36 137398 Link 0 |
Samin North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 10/11/2008 11:57:13 137445 Link 0 |
North Side Gael County: All Posts: 637 137445 Samin How are Armagh always the innocent party? Ive seen armagh fans escorted out of clones and casement as a steward i witnessed it first hand but i dont go on here bad mouthing all Armagh fans. They always seem to be right never in the wrong (in your eyes). I have come accross objects being thrown by armagh fans at match officials something you deemed to be down to one idiot yet an entire section of fans went on to abuse the match official for the rest of the game something you will try to defend or put down to 5/6 people even though you were not there. Your always on here spurting about fermanagh who are no different from any other county, the dubs get the same bs on here and i personally have to say im fed up reading it as most of it is poor generalisations made by people who dont know too much about the county theyre bad mouthing wind your keck in samin enough is enough. How do you know there was not other incidents on the run up the the altercations between the Armagh and Derry fans? You where there did you personally see the behaviour of every armagh fan? You couldnt have so again these generalisations have no backing. Enough is enough samin and you know it is. I have seen Armagh supporters being escorted out of grounds as well for misbehaving, nobody is saying that they are always right, i dont know how every fan behaved in Derry, but as i previously pointed out the altercation was not between Armagh and Derry fans but i did see how it happened. A number of youths started firing stones and bricks at the bus i was on, a number of men on the bus got out to challenge them. I think i would be right in saying that there has been more than Armagh fans who have encountered similar problems in that area. You are talking about generalising then you say about an entire section of Armagh fans abusing an official, a bit of generalising there ye eejit. What game was this anyway and what happened? I may have been there. for someone who thinks its good craic to boo players i would not think you are a suitable person to be a stewart. samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 10/11/2008 12:31:28 137491 Link 0 |
Ive been a loyal steward for around ten years working as and when im needed by my county or club. North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 10/11/2008 14:22:35 137602 Link 0 |
was that a league or championship match? samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 10/11/2008 15:06:19 137645 Link 0 |
Imagine if they were any good at anything what we would have to listen to. No respect for having achieved so little jcole (None) - Posts: 58 - 10/11/2008 20:52:22 138007 Link 0 |
Any man who thinks that booing is "part of the craic" at G.A.A. games wants his head examined. There is no place for this in our games. It is a part of the soccer culture and should be left there. Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/11/2008 21:35:59 138052 Link 0 |
Can't comment on the booing but I've been at a good few matches against Fermanagh and I've always found the supporters to be dead on. I particularly remember when they played against Mayo in Croker a few years ago and there was great craic between the Mayo and Fermanagh fans (and one Donegal fan!) that night. RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 10/11/2008 21:50:17 138068 Link 0 |
Sam can we not just drop this one,every county has their fair share of muppets,i dont see the point in accusing one county of having more than another. sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1072 - 11/11/2008 08:39:58 138213 Link 0 |
No answer NSG, at least if you are going to tell a spoof back it up with an odd fact might make it a bit more believable. Armagh and Fermanagh did not draw a match in the Athletic Grounds in the mid 90's. They drew in Irvinestown in 93 in the preliminary round of the championship then won the replay at the Athletic Grounds. samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 11/11/2008 09:10:19 138218 Link 0 |
Samin Hardly a spoof now i could show you the rock today if you really wanted to see it the fella held on to it. The memory of games when i was 11 years of age isnt great but there are things that stick out in my memory one is the behaviour of Armagh fans that game. Yet again samin someone else is telling lies and your right get a life would ya. Running around as if armagh are the number one fans in the country, talk about something else. North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 11/11/2008 12:40:15 138414 Link 0 |
Slasher its part of soccer culture and leave it there? North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 11/11/2008 12:42:52 138418 Link 0 |
This is starting to get a bit boring isnt it.....Ok Fermanagh fans = bad..... we get it....... jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/11/2008 12:49:10 138430 Link 0 |
This is a crazy thread. I was at the Ulster Final this year & had massive craic with the Fermanagh fans. Never known them to be anything but fair. domoore (Laois) - Posts: 346 - 11/11/2008 13:06:08 138457 Link 0 |
Again NSG nobody is saying Armagh fans are perfect but your admission that you cannot remember much about games when you were 11 should be evidence enough that what you say should not be taken as gospel. samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 11/11/2008 13:16:59 138480 Link 0 |