Fermanagh players and Supporters

the fermanagh way, deny everything? can you please elaborate this point with a few examples

Takes a Derry man who was supporting Fermanagh at the Ulster Finals to admitt what went on. Typical Fermanagh response is that every county has a few clowns. Reality is there were thousands of people doing it, trying to deny the undeniable is pointless Ferm, answer me this is, if it was no worse that what any other county does why did the tv commentators choose to pick up on it? Why did they not comment on the Armagh fans?

Lisbellaw chairman, nothing took place he says, nobody heard anything. Do you really think this man would make that up about his own players?

Few years back when the young protestant hurler was on the recieving end of sectarian abuse from opposition players and supporters, complained to the county board who turned a blind eye. Had to go to the media to get the problem recognised.

Classy people alright.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 07/11/2008 15:45:50    136185

Been at a few Fermanagh matches over the last few years and have to say I was impressed by the passion and general good behaviour of the Fermanagh fans. There's a minority in every county who'll always attempt to drag the good name of their county down.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 07/11/2008 15:46:52    136187

Indeed i was at both finals and nowhere in my posts did i have the 'brass neck' to deny anything?? Course there was booing going on, but from BOTH sets of supporters! Just like you i had the misfortune of standing beside a group of loud mouthed Armagh supporters, who were doing their fair share of booing. Unfortunatley (for that occasion) i have absolutely nothing wrong with my hearing as i was sick listening to them after about 15minutes. Unlike you though, i dont feel the need to come on here and publicly label ALL armagh fans as idiots...

So are you going to explain your earlier statement about denial been the fermanagh way???

border_hoppin (Fermanagh) - Posts: 11 - 07/11/2008 15:56:52    136213

Takes a Derry man who was supporting Fermanagh at the Ulster Finals to admitt what went on. Typical Fermanagh response is that every county has a few clowns. Reality is there were thousands of people doing it, trying to deny the undeniable is pointless Ferm, answer me this is, if it was no worse that what any other county does why did the tv commentators choose to pick up on it? Why did they not comment on the Armagh fans? Lots of counties have booed in the passed and been noticed by comentators etc, the fermanagh booing hasnt been denied but fermanaghs case is no worse than others, and has only happened in rare occations. Lisbellaw chairman, nothing took place he says, nobody heard anything. Do you really think this man would make that up about his own players? Of course he is going to deny it if he is sure the alligations are not right!! Few years back when the young protestant hurler was on the recieving end of sectarian abuse from opposition players and supporters, complained to the county board who turned a blind eye. Had to go to the media to get the problem recognised. I knew this would be brought up by yourself and it proves you know very little of what you are talking about, This player did not complain to the county board, instead he went straight to the papers with his problem, so the county board did not turn a blind eye (see quote below) Fermanagh County Board spokeswoman Deirdre Donnelly said they could not comment on an individual case until an official complaint is made. "If Darren has an issue he should go through his club and then on through the County Board." Ms Donnelly did, however, stress that tough action would be taken against any such intimidation. taken from independant.ie http://www.independent.ie/national-news/protestant-gaa-star-hounded-out-by-vile-taunts-1049377.html any more of samin or is that it because you certainly have not proved the fermanagh way is to deny everything?

ferm (Fermanagh) - Posts: 239 - 07/11/2008 16:10:43    136244

border-hoppen

your eyes must be as bad as your ears, i have explained it, and never have i said all fermanagh fans were involved in this. I said they have a large contingent of loud mouthed abusive supporters.

Derry man supporting fermanagh said the Fermanagh booing was terrible, bbc commentators said it, because your supporters were clearly out of order and were clearly worse behaved you try to bring everyone down with you.

You keep telling yourself that the group of Armagh supporters beside you shouting abuse or booing or whatever is the same as thousands of fermanagh supporters doing it all round the ground.

Any other neutrals at these games or watch it on tv?

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 07/11/2008 16:14:47    136257

Why because Deidre donnelly DENIED that a complaint was made, she is not going to admitt it that they turned a blind eye.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 07/11/2008 16:17:13    136263

Well, I'm gonna add my two cents to this debate. I was at the two Ulster semi-final games between Lisbellaw and Mullahoran. My opinion is that Lisbellaw are a rough, arrogant team that went a little crazy when they didn't get their way. At the end of the drawn game, a Mullahoran player had a chance to win the game with a 65, about 3 or 4 Lisbellaw players stood the 10 yards in front of him hurling abuse and he did miss it when he took it. Where was the sportsmanship there. Also at the end of the game a Lisbellaw player struck a Mullahoran player, starting a brawl that got a player from each side sent off. It was at this time that another Lisbellaw player verbally abused the Mullahoran coach. That's all fine and dandy you may say, s*** happens, you get over it. But the abuse hurled at the Mullahoran players when going back in the changing rooms from the stand and the field was shocking.

The replay was no better, with both teams being warned before the game as to their conduct in the previous game. The match was also videoed in case of any incidents. However I believe the referee bottled in on the day and didn't take any action when a number of players were struck off the ball, and only received a yellow card (I always thought that striking was a red card, but that's an argument for another day). Overall I thought that besides their obvious bad sportsmanship, that Lisbellaw done enough on the two days to get by Mullahoran. It did work as there are now Ulster champions, and fair play to them for that, you do need a cold streak to be champions I reckon.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 07/11/2008 16:20:25    136273

it takes a big man to admit when hes wrong lads, the fermangh fans were booing the armagh fans, undeniably, possibly of course there was some armagh fans booing but nowhere near the extent fo the fermangh fans. I look at fermangh as my second county, but cannot stand up and defend that there.

And btw has your mother never told you, "2 wrongs dont make a right"

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 07/11/2008 16:41:41    136312

ferm
there you have it from an eyewitness

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 07/11/2008 16:45:40    136318

Why because Deidre donnelly DENIED that a complaint was made, she is not going to admitt it that they turned a blind eye.

the incident where the player left the field because of the abuse happened on a sunday fixture, the fermanagh herald had an article the wednesday after where the player spoke about the abuse directed at him, this article was then picked up on by national papers which made it a national scandal. There was no complaint to the county board before everyone in the country had heard of this, i can assure you of that!! No one, other than you, has ever claimed there was.

Any more denials by people from my county you want to bring up as what you have ststed so far is irrellivant!!

ferm (Fermanagh) - Posts: 239 - 07/11/2008 16:51:41    136330

I was at both Ulster finals, and I have to admit the unsporting behaviour of a section of the Fermanagh crowd was worse than usual. I don't take any pleasure in saying this as Fermanagh would be my second county, with my mother hailing from it, and I was 100% supporting them and was very disappointed when they didn't win Ulster after having beaten us. I was in the Gerry Arthur(covered) stand for the first game and on the terraces behind the goals on the road side for the replay. It was just simple things like booing more than usual when opposition frees were being taken, shouting and swearing at little off the ball incidents etc; the Fermanagh crowd, that I saw anyway, were more unsporting than the Armagh support. I was amongst a good mix for both matches so it was interesting to compare. I think we all agree that every county has it's idiots, maybe I was just beside the minority of that group of Fermanagh supporters for both games, or maybe it's a sign that there's a higher percentage in Fermanagh than other counties, it's impossible to gauge.

Another example, just when we're on the subject, comes to mind of their behaviour after the Fermanagh - Monaghan game. When the final whistle went, a large amount of Fermanagh supporters stood up in the section besides where I was sitting, and started to chant and taunt the Monaghan crowd where I was(Each section was mostly Fermanagh and Monaghan respectively). Not in a vicious way or anything of that kind, but just really gloating and jeering that they were far better and all that. I wouldn't have any time for that sort of crap and couldn't believe what I was seeing, thinking I was at a premiership game or something. I didn't think anything of it at all, I have many relatives and friends from Fermanagh and never came across any bad-natured person in it, these isolated football incidents aside.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 07/11/2008 17:00:30    136337

your denials of what happened at clones during the summer is proof enough. Your denial is that Fermanagh fans were not worse than Armagh fans when everyone knows they were. They were a disgrace, bad when you'se lose and not very nice when you'se win either like in 2004. Nothing you say will ever convince me that my eyes and ears were wrong.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 07/11/2008 17:05:44    136346

Lisbellaw chairman, nothing took place he says, nobody heard anything. Do you really think this man would make that up about his own players?

Of course he is going to deny it if he is sure the alligations are not right!!

looks like he did deny it even thought he was not sure the allegations were not right as our eye witness has stated

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 07/11/2008 17:11:57    136358

ferm County: Fermanagh Posts: 128 136330 Why because Deidre donnelly DENIED that a complaint was made, she is not going to admitt it that they turned a blind eye. the incident where the player left the field because of the abuse happened on a sunday fixture, the fermanagh herald had an article the wednesday after where the player spoke about the abuse directed at him, this article was then picked up on by national papers which made it a national scandal. There was no complaint to the county board before everyone in the country had heard of this, i can assure you of that!! No one, other than you, has ever claimed there was. Any more denials by people from my county you want to bring up as what you have ststed so far is irrellivant!! The dogs in the street know the abuse happened plenty of times prior to the game that happened to make the headlines, so for you to sit there n try to twist things to make out that the player in question is somehow to blame, and that no one on the CB had any idea what was happening, and hadnt absconded any responsibility.... sick. youd want to get a grip lad. as for the booin, anyone watchin the match on the box could hear it clearly.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 07/11/2008 17:25:53    136372

SAM10 All supporters including armagh , tyrone, etc not all the supporters but a section out of each county are as bad as each other. The quicker you relise that the better

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/11/2008 20:32:15    136492

people do boo a games and it makes me cringe but i go to fermanagh and tyrone games all teh time and notice little difference between counties. the ulster final was pretty bad but it was one off there wa a big buid up and some got carried way.. some but not all. one thing i do take offence to is the sectarian issue, a number of protestant players play in fermanagh (obv the paper claimed he the only one but this is definatly not true) nowhere in any story does it mention the abuse this player hands out, he got abuse because he gave it if he was catholic he would of got somethin different.

speedy12 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 592 - 07/11/2008 20:45:30    136500

Samin10 I don't usually rise to this sort of baiting on the HS but I think I have to stick up for my county. Fermanagh has a small core following of fans who will attend national leagues and early rounds of the Championships. This year was the first time since 1982 that Fermanagh had reached the final and with this match came the rise of our fair weather support. In most championship games we would be lucky to top 8000 fans but at the ulster final there must have been an extra 6000 people at the game, many of who only attend games sporadically therefore here booing on soccer games on TV and tend to copy. However this does not give you the blanket all Fermanagh fans with the same brush.

I have been in Clones and seen a number of Armagh fans throw empty beer can from the top of the hill down into the sitting area below. Then fighting with the Garda when being asked to leave the ground. I have also seen to too many young Armagh fans getting sick inside and outside of grounds all over the country. (You have to admit Armagh fans do have a reputation for this). However despite these incidents I don't find the need to point the finger at all Armagh supporters.

Then we have the riot in Derry between Armagh and Derry fans after the Championship game in 1996 and then later in the Altnagelvin hospital. Which I believe it was the Armagh fans who took most of the blame. (At least our so called fans only booed your fair weather fans riot). Maybe that is a little unfair, but my point is not to point a finger back but rather to stop people like you blanketing all true fans with the same brush.

(Then you bring up the Darren Graham affair which I will reply to on the next post)

ManFromManach (Fermanagh) - Posts: 95 - 08/11/2008 01:16:25    136634

As for the Darren Graham affair he never once complained to the county board about these problems and went straight to the media-. He may have come into contact with some sectarian talk but at least he did feel comfortable enough to play underage and senior GAA in Fermanagh most of his life. There have been quite a few peope from across the divide who have played in fermanagh and this was the first incident that occured. There is one GAA team and one soccer team in Fermanagh who have very close links and a number of players have played without incident. I wonder in how many other counties in the North does this happen. I wish I could say about his behaviour on this message board but I dont want to risk of being stopped from posting. However----

ManFromManach (Fermanagh) - Posts: 95 - 08/11/2008 01:24:07    136637

Not going to get involved in the "your side boos more than mine" rubbish that Sam seems to enjoy, but concerning the incident regarding the hurler that ran to the papers, its obvious a lot of people on here havent the slightest idea of what was actually happening there. Sectarian abuse? Dont make me laugh. -----Religion had nothing to do with it.

Steve (Fermanagh) - Posts: 293 - 08/11/2008 10:31:47    136657

Jesus lads can we not drop this one!!

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1072 - 08/11/2008 14:24:36    136728