A petition in support of Gerald McCarthy

westtrooper There are a lot of people living in Cork some of whom wouldn't know a sliotar if it bit them. That is much the same in every county of Ireland. Just because 2 Cork lads hadn't been in Croker for 25 years means absolutely nothing. I was at the same 2 games and there was a fine Cork crowd there. Re the Hurling and Football yes there is a divide in Cork, Basically East Cork is Hurling and West Cork is football and there are hurling supporters who don't care much about football and visa-versa. I am a hurling fan but was in early and saw the 2 games plus the minor game. Sorry if I'm a pain to you but you can always just not read my posts and that will solve your problem. Good luck and have a nice night.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 03/03/2009 22:23:55    223444

I only took the 2 lads good GAA guys just not into city driving-I think you picked me up wrong there.I am just writing about the thousands of cork supporters who went to the bother of travelling all the way to Dublin and stayed just outside the stadium drinking while the footballers were playing

westtrooper (Limerick) - Posts: 329 - 04/03/2009 00:22:10    223561

Can someone tell me who do the players want to manage them? Do they know???
They should speak up and put forward a name or would that be too much to ask??.

Lobo (Laois) - Posts: 259 - 04/03/2009 01:00:48    223565

to all REAL CORK SUPPORTERS just keep supporting your county team,its time for donal og and afew other has beens 2 step aside and go back into the shadows,cork were champs before ye, and will b again,democracy

villamoy (Sligo) - Posts: 206 - 04/03/2009 10:26:15    223663

villamoy my democratic friend from Sligo. Nemo Rangers Club held an EGM to vote on the 08 panel V Gerald dispute. They voted 185 to 1 to support the players. Yet the Nemo delegate was one of those who supported Gerald. Kind of stands democracy on its head don't you think.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 04/03/2009 11:03:49    223694

Some say Donal óg wants the job himself.
Corkcelt as for Nemo they have contributed nothing to Cork hurling and should look after their football team rather than involving themselves with the hurling.Took limerick team for granted in munster club football championship -Is this what you want for Cork hurling as well

westtrooper (Limerick) - Posts: 329 - 04/03/2009 12:18:57    223746

westtrooper for a man who finds me a pain do you really think your last post contibuted in any way to the debate or addressed the question I posed.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 04/03/2009 13:08:39    223786

Club meetings turning into a Joke .Clubs are being inundated with people paying membership clubs that had fifty members now have over 200 .Never being better for the clubs money in for the first of march.Should these meetings not be confined to 2008 members. Bit like the political parties before a convention putting in new members.Players are wrong I think but I expext Gerald to be gone by next tuesday

westtrooper (Limerick) - Posts: 329 - 04/03/2009 22:32:24    224319

For the third time I will ask this question:

*Can someone tell me who do the players want to manage them*

I think the lack of answers to this question speaks multitudes and only proves to me that the manager's job has nothing to do with whats really going on here...

Lobo (Laois) - Posts: 259 - 04/03/2009 23:43:07    224379

Looks like the clubs are finally going to have their say. Christy Cooneys own club voted 37-13 in favour of the 08 panel.

mouldybags (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 05/03/2009 10:11:41    224480

``Go on Gerald ``

mildred (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 05/03/2009 14:48:06    224764

There is no question of the players choosing the Manager regardless of whether Gerald resigns or not. The real issue is that the County Board wanted to provoke this dispute. They deliberately appointed Gerald to get up the noses of the panel. I can fully understand if Lobo, westtrooper and Mildred find that impossible to believe but it is true. Being involved in Cork GAA does not mean that I know everything that's going on but I do have a better insight then lads from outside the County. For the past 2 weeks I have been shouting from the rooftops that the 84-13 delegate vote in no way reflected the grass root opinions of Cork GAA people. I have been pilloried by people from Tyrone Fermanagh, Mayo Louth and the USA and told that I didn't know what I was talking about. Even now when there is landslide votes coming in from Clubs including the Club of the incoming President of the GAA, in favour of 08 panel these people refuse to acknowledge i was telling the truth. I am pretty certain at this stage that the majority of Clubs will support the 08 panel, but even if by some chance they fall a little short of a majority, the results to date clearly indicate that the 84-13 was typical County Board stagemanship. p.s. There is no truth at all in the rumour that a load of previous non members are joining up just to sway the vote, do you think for one moment that if there were pro Gerald supporters in a Club that they would stand for that. Believe me that is simply not true.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 05/03/2009 21:46:36    225168

Sorry Corkcelt ,THat is not a rumour about increase in membership being quadrupled in 1 club .It is fact

westtrooper (Limerick) - Posts: 329 - 05/03/2009 23:34:27    225315

westtrooper Is it possible for you to name the Club in question. I am not trying to put you on the spot but if it is true I would genuinely love to know where it happened. This event is certainly not common knowledge where I live but you seem fairly certain of your facts so for the moment I will take you on your word. However as can now be clearly seen every Club that has voted to date has had a landslide in favour of 08 panel, surely any reasonable outside observer can see that there is something seriously wrong at County Board level in Cork to provoke such a response.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 06/03/2009 09:55:08    225443

Quadrupled??????
Fair play that club. They certainly won't need to depend on Murphy and Co for funding

mouldybags (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 06/03/2009 10:16:19    225465

Gerald is a cork hurling legend can u c any of the 2008 panel reaching his heights

bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 07/03/2009 20:54:35    226701

Club up about 2 grand over it mouldy but would have connection with the 08 panel. Met a guy at meeting in Clon-He is tired of it just the same thing going around in circles and meeting tonight with players and tuesday night with county board

westtrooper (Limerick) - Posts: 329 - 08/03/2009 11:11:33    226896

When Trixy from Mayo started this thread way back in November, she was obviously writing from impressions and a little bias against top players. Her campaign in favour of the ordinary all-year-round players was correct and well intentioned. But it is the campaign also of all those who support the Corks 2008 panels. The 2008 Cork hurlers' stand was never against Ger McCarthy as such. It was against the way he was "chosen", which in turn has come to reveal the way decisions are made and the way the GAA has been run in Cork for many years. The almost unanymous support of the clubs throughout Cork in favour of this stand shows that the ordinary member, fan and players at grassroot level understand the problem. The players now have handed the baton onto the only people who can put things right, i.e. the clubs who all along have been kept far away from any decision making position.

michael (Cork) - Posts: 381 - 08/03/2009 12:52:45    226931

Westtrooper

If a club is up 2000 euro then I say fair play to them. This should happen every single year because clubs badly need the money. As you have admitted, that is only one club and believe me that is a very dubious statistic and if being honest, I think you are either one, lying, or two, grossly exaggerating. I for one think, say know, that you are just full of hot air. The fact remains that all clubs are having landslide votes in favour of the players. Sorry, if that upsets you but those are the facts and all that we can talk about really.Your loose throw away non sensical comments just drag the level of debate down. Go away like a good boy until you find something adult like to say.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/03/2009 20:22:07    227294

I think you missed the jist of my post westtrooper. I was basically saying you were talking through what one might regard as ones posterior.
There is no club in Cork that doubled, nevermind quadrupled its membership over this matter. Nevertheless feel free to spread this rubbish about the tinternet.
The real Cork supporters have spoken

mouldybags (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 09/03/2009 01:39:18    227586