lilywhite93 (Kildare) - Posts: 32 - 25/02/2009 21:12:47 218413 Link 0 |
damonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 211 - 25/02/2009 21:17:41 218418 Link 0 |
Come on Gerald....the hurling public are behind you Famine88 (Kerry) - Posts: 51 - 25/02/2009 21:51:27 218449 Link 0 |
corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 25/02/2009 22:37:49 218513 Link 0 |
KILDARE MONAGHAN OR KERRY ANYWHERE GERALD JUST GO corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 25/02/2009 22:39:24 218514 Link 0 |
GO Gerald, and take Murphy et al with you mouldybags (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 25/02/2009 23:14:01 218575 Link 0 |
Time for Gerald McCarthy to step aside. He has lost the entire panel of 2008. This shows that for the good of Cork now and in the future he needs to step aside. No man should allow himself to be a 'pawn' for others who can remain in the background, knowing that you will be out front taking the flack, and fighting your battles. carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 25/02/2009 23:27:04 218595 Link 0 |
I have wonderful memories of ger Mac in his pomp in croke park and thurles and other hallowed grounds strutting the midfield, hie hurley like a flashing blade in what seemed like eternal sunshine. (prob. rose coloured glasses i know).Thats why i think its terribly sad to see him being dragged thru the mire in current dispute. However I have just one question for those who believe that he should remain. Do you honestly believe that any of the 2008 panel will ever play under him again? I personally dont think they will.So whatever your opinion is about the rights and wrongs of present situation ,the stark facts dictate that gerald is in a battle that he cant win. H e is being used and also badly advised. For his own sake he should step aside and let co. board fight their own battles, and also let 2008 panel put up or shut up. hogg (Carlow) - Posts: 321 - 27/02/2009 10:15:08 219855 Link 0 |
Gerald will continue to manage the cork team, if some players in cork make themselves unavailable so be it. Gerald will manage those who do want to play. Cork hurling is bigger than a few whinging players. bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 27/02/2009 10:52:58 219914 Link 0 |
Fair play gerard! mighty stuff, you have to admired for what your doing for cork, your helping those who want to hurl for cork, and thats whats it is about at the end of the day, i feel that those who won't play are letting the people of not alone cork but also the people of Ireland down, these men were legends in our eyes, now there only whingers, in this day and age they should be honoured to represent cork no matter what! its sick enough to be listening about the economic crisis everyday on the news on top of havng to listen to the cork row. mycro89 (Limerick) - Posts: 10 - 01/03/2009 02:46:28 221209 Link 0 |
badmonkey, mycro89, You want to hear about the new players, do ya? Slaughtered today by a Galway team thats been playing badly and was missing its portumna contingent. 500-600 attendance!!!!!!! Ya boys, the real supporters are behind them.!!! All 200 of them.(if you strip out friends and family, Galway support and a few county board reps. Are you all that blind to the truth? mouldybags (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 01/03/2009 16:55:27 221336 Link 0 |
mycro89 Apparently you want to hear about the new players. First of all they have played 3 competitive inter county matches lost the first by 9pts, the second by 12pts and the third by 14 pts. Ability wise In terms of the pecking order in Cork Hurling they would be rated from the thirtieth best to possibly the 100th best. The top thirty on last years form as judged by Gerald are making themselves unavailable and outside of these there are dozens of other Club hurlers many of them superior to the 09 panel who have also made themselves unavailable. There are a few useful lads there who could come through but most hurling folk would rate them on a whole as about the 4th best team that Cork could field. If the mighty Frank and Gerald continue on their merry way, you in Limerick will have nothing whatsoever to fear from Cork for a long time. Accordingly i can fully understand your enthusiastic post. Have a nice day. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 01/03/2009 17:58:04 221350 Link 0 |
GAA without Cork is like the World Cup without Germany or Brazil, badly diminished. clooney (Clare) - Posts: 993 - 02/03/2009 13:41:19 222009 Link 0 |
can someone tell me who do the players want to manage them? Lobo (Laois) - Posts: 259 - 03/03/2009 02:24:02 222596 Link 0 |
mouldybags - the real supporters are those involved in the clubs. I dont accept that anyone else should have a say in who is on the CCB or manager. I go to watch films in the cinema but that doesnt give me a say who stars in warner brothers next film. As for the small attendence, cork fans are notorious for jumping on a winning badwagon but wont bother to go and support when the team arent doing well. bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 03/03/2009 14:03:03 222885 Link 0 |
bad.monkey Cork fans support their team through thick and thin. I was at all Championship Games from 1956 to 1966 we won nothing but always brought a huge crowd. If its the numbers game we are talking about Nemo Rangers Club held an EGM last night and voted 185 to 1 in support of the 08 panel. Their delegate was one of the 86 who voted for Gerald. Can you explain how a delegate could be so out of touch with the feelings of his Club. I look forward to your reply with interest. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 03/03/2009 14:55:48 222942 Link 0 |
monkey, mouldybags (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 03/03/2009 15:20:13 222968 Link 0 |
CORKCELT::: Get a grip of yourself. The people who are supporting the striking hurlers should be ashamed. They are turning the gaa into a joke. They think they have the define rite to dictake who they will play under. damonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 211 - 03/03/2009 16:05:12 223031 Link 0 |
damonaghan if you have something intelligent to say, I have no problem listening and responding to you. I am not sure what you know about the back ground to the Cork dispute but I suspect its very little. Making general comments about the population of an entire County and using meaningless catchphrases such as GET A Grip does not advance your point of view at all. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 03/03/2009 16:26:51 223052 Link 0 |
Sorry Corkcelt cant agree with you that cork supporters support their county teams through thick and thin.Last yeer I took 2 of your county men to see the new croker,they hadnt been there for 25 years and were anxious to see the new stadium. We went up the day of Cork/Kilkenny and Cork/Kildare. Yeah this is the game that that terrible man Frank murphy got changed for ye so ye did not have to go up on the saturday as well after it had already been fixed for the saturday. westtrooper (Limerick) - Posts: 329 - 03/03/2009 21:10:50 223374 Link 0 |