bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/11/2008 20:43:12    132015

1 croke park
2 omagh
3 newry
4 clones

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/11/2008 22:16:36    132106

Obviously never been to an Ulster Final then bennybunny?

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 02/11/2008 22:24:16    132110

Bennybunny - strange that 4 out of your 5 are in Munster?? I've been to an Ulster Final in Clones and for atmosphere it beats anywhere else - unless the Dubs are playing in Croker mind you.

Laughing.Gravy (Dublin) - Posts: 404 - 02/11/2008 22:42:43    132114

St.Tiernach's Park in Clones -solely for the atmosphere.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 745 - 02/11/2008 23:31:05    132136

newbridge lads. it's colossal. dressing rooms make a sow of crokers. its the best stadium i have ever been in. and thats including croke pk and wembley.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 03/11/2008 12:21:42    132327

re: bob1

gaelic grounds limerick is a terrible stadium the mackey stand has to be the worst stand in any major ground in the country when the were building it the roof didn't even fit properly. Granted the pitch surface has been improved greatly but it's a nightmare of a place to get out of many a time i've sat in my car for up 2 hours tring to get out of the place.

Croker
Semple stadium
Pairc ui chaoimh
Fitzgerald Stadium
pearse park
Nolan park
portlaoise

top grounds for me

Ennis would have to be one of the worst.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 03/11/2008 12:33:15    132350

For atmospere,
Croke Park
Thurles
Clones

Top 5 grounds,
Croker
Gaelic grounds
Thurles
Clones
Pearse stadium

Would hope that Mchale park will make that list when it's finished next year.

kimbap (Mayo) - Posts: 81 - 03/11/2008 12:39:24    132366

Laughing.Gravy

132114 Bennybunny - strange that 4 out of your 5 are in Munster?? I've been to an Ulster Final in Clones and for atmosphere it beats anywhere else - unless the Dubs are playing in Croker mind you.

Laughing Gravy. It is not that strange considering I am from Munster. The only game that I ever attended in Ulster was a league game between Cork and Tyrone in Dungannon. I have no doubt in my mind that the atmosphere in Clones is exceptional on Ulster final day. However, I have never been so I can not put it in my top 5. I am sure the Tyrone/Armagh contingent would not be putting Thurles, Limerick in their top 5 either. Why would they if they have never been to a match there??

I am not being biased toward Munster, that is just what I know.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 03/11/2008 12:49:55    132375

I cant understand how Pearse Stadium AKA wind tunnel in Salthill is making your lists

ross (Roscommon) - Posts: 66 - 03/11/2008 12:53:11    132377

The gaelic grounds is Limerick is bit like a female Big Brother Contestant.
Looks great on tele on a sunny day, and everyone wants a bit of that.
But once inside it, on a wet day, its cold, has very little up top, no craic and is more than a little dull!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/11/2008 14:57:56    132501

This "genius" idea we have over here of having uncovered stands never ceases to amaze me! If there is one thing worse than standing in the rain, its sitting in it!!!
This is madness.....this is SPARTA!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/11/2008 14:58:54    132502

Bennybunny....I think any of us that have been to the cauldron that is Sem,ple Stadium knows that there isn't a stadium likely to ever rival it in terms of atmosphere....Croker certainly never will. And thats fact not me being biased.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/11/2008 15:55:08    132576

Tiobraid/Benny
I have been to many munster hurling matches in semple and the atmosphere is fantastic, but lads, as god is my judge, i'm telling ye, as goos as it is, its not in the same league as Croker with 80,000, Dublin V Meath/Tyrone/Kerry
And I know ye could say I am biased, maybe I am. But i have been to Cork Tipp, Limerick Clare and Clare Tipp in Thurles and savage as they were, Dubs against any of the above 3 in Croker is on a diffrent level of atmosphere altogether.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/11/2008 16:09:56    132595

best: clones , omagh , croker , thurles would all be up there in terms of facilities and atmosphere...worst would be casement

apple_juice (Tyrone) - Posts: 26 - 03/11/2008 16:16:27    132604

1 Croke Park
2 Parc Ui Chaoimh
3 Semple Stadium
4 Clones
5 Newry

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2019 - 03/11/2008 16:20:14    132607

I take your biasism on board and still think i'm correct!!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/11/2008 16:37:27    132639

mchale park

maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 03/11/2008 16:46:38    132660

have we not been through this before?

Southern Dandy (Wicklow) - Posts: 789 - 03/11/2008 17:03:26    132692