Who is the best ref in tyrone

safeplayer
brackaville refs are Cathal O hagan and Sean O neill
u prob seeb cathal very good ref

Brackaville (Tyrone) - Posts: 6 - 06/11/2008 01:00:08    134802

i would have to say from a personal experience that paul "bug" mulligan is the best refree in ulster football never mind tyrone football, he lets the game flow well and has full control over the players from the start of the game to the end.
its strange that he hasn't been refree on the big stage yet but i think we will soon see him refing all ireland finals. i have been talking to the man recently and he says he loves what he does and has great enthuaism for the game..

peter_nugent (Louth) - Posts: 30 - 06/11/2008 10:21:51    134891

Peter Nugent I would have to agree with you. Paul 'Bug' Mulligan would have to be the best Referee in Ulster. He is always up with play and can control a game very well. He also had the full respect of the players and his fitness is second to none.
I reckon he could get a Senior Final in the next 3 years if he keeps progressing the way he has done over this past 2 years.
The Bug also is a very likeable character and it would be great to see him get the top job in Tyrone football.

redhandfan1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 76 - 06/11/2008 14:21:20    135105

the man is a gentleman on and off the field, and i think he will get his opportunity soon on the big stage.

peter_nugent (Louth) - Posts: 30 - 06/11/2008 18:58:37    135405

For me it's got to be O'Hagan from Brackaville

P6Gaffer (Tyrone) - Posts: 4 - 06/11/2008 19:27:41    135422

I cant believe that no one has mentioned Martin Sludden
Martin will be reffing allireland finals in a couple of years time

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 06/11/2008 21:02:07    135497

Omagh joe are you joking about Sludden . maybe if you are from the west he might be OK

tommy truth (Tyrone) - Posts: 80 - 08/11/2008 23:29:34    136974

Sorry Omagh Joe can't agree with you on Sludden. Whilst his decision making is generally sound he always has to announce himself to the game and sending lads off for very little when a wee talking to would do the trick, especially when a large crowd is gathered. He has already ref'd in Croke Park with controversy ensuing over certain decisions made on the day. Looking back over the years, Wee Pat O'Neill from Cookstown was one of the best about I'd say, and could keep up with the bloody play and not dictate things from the middle of the field.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 09/11/2008 11:20:18    137031

I think martin sludden is decent referee but our referees at the top would be sean quinn cahal o hagan steven mc namee or martin mohan. I heard sean quinn had county final this year only clonoe got to it{as he is friendly with a prominent clonoe man}

istolethegiro (Tyrone) - Posts: 73 - 09/11/2008 14:17:00    137071

Sludden? :O Not a Hope, Clidro my personal Favourite!

JmcA (Tyrone) - Posts: 38 - 09/11/2008 20:51:44    137207

Why has no one mentioned our county ref - Mickey Hughes?!?!

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 10/11/2008 17:49:55    137847

Sludden is a good ref. Can keep control of the game and individual players.

black_pen (Tyrone) - Posts: 44 - 11/11/2008 15:15:12    138632

Ah come on fellas when all is said and done Sludden is a great ref and one of lifes true gentlemen to boot.
Its a great pity that we dont have a few more refs like him
I am highly disapointed that he isnt more appreciated but sure you know what they said about a prophet never being recognised in his own land. I know down by Monaghan they think he's a great ref

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 11/11/2008 18:21:40    138918

Would have to say that Martin Sludden is way ahead of the rest. Seems to be a copy of Kevin Skelton who was a superb ref who got on with players.

medaman (Tyrone) - Posts: 64 - 11/11/2008 21:11:26    139071

I am of the opinion that a lot of east tyrone clubs are favouring east tyrone ref's and west tyrone clubs supporting Sludden!!!

Is there a divide in the county?????

black_pen (Tyrone) - Posts: 44 - 12/11/2008 16:07:59    139759

Sludden is straight down the middle. No favours for anyone; gives it as he sees it. may not be right all the time but hey, who is?

mossgreen (Tyrone) - Posts: 181 - 12/11/2008 20:13:43    140001

I am from the east and think steve mc namee a good ref and there is nothing wrong with sludden as a ref either

istolethegiro (Tyrone) - Posts: 73 - 12/11/2008 20:24:09    140004

hu reli cares....they all have a biased streek

Dkb_Boiii (Tyrone) - Posts: 17 - 16/11/2008 23:12:51    142590

Sludden....quality ref...luvs da big occasion
skinno....great ref.....luvs gud hard honest football
Kieran Taggart....also loves good hard football
ur man from coalisland...dorrity.....great ref.....lets ye get away with punching sum1 in the face
boi from owen roes...2 knee straps....best at keepin up with play
aidan graham....commanding figure.....no tellin him wat to do..

indeed (Tyrone) - Posts: 10 - 17/11/2008 22:36:19    143557