Luke Dempseys dream team

Imagine if he had a team and squad similar to this what he could do!!! Don't think it would stay in Division 4 too long.

John Brennan (one of the best goalies in the country)
Paul Cashin (Not overly strong or skillful, but very quick and had two great finals this year)
Brian Farrel ( Still the best full back in the county)
Joe Roche (Best man marker in the county, although had a dip in form in this years club championship)
Paul Kelly (Remember how good he was 3 years ago, still only 25)
John Hayden/Joe Byrne (need a strong physical presence here)
Evan Doyle (Fast,strong and skillful, good footballer)
Pat Walsh (best midfielder playin club football in Carlow)
Angy Reid/Tom Walsh (hopefully he'll be back)
Derek Hayden (he was our best player 2 years ago)
Mark Carpenter (no need to say anything here)
Paul Reid (surferred from injuries in the club championship,but class act)
Simon Rea ( brilliant a couple of years ago, hopefully he can find his form again)
John Reid ( Disciplin isn't his stronghold but would be a super addition to the team)
JJ Smith ( excellent all year)

Subs:
Michael Hennessy, Patrick Hughes
Padraig Bambrick, Barry English, Cormac McCarthy, Barry John Molloy, Alan Curran, Mark Nolan, Ciaran Nolan, Daniel St Ledger
John Murphy, Daithi Byrne, Ray Walker, Sean Gannon
Byran Carbery, Eric McCormack, Brain Murphy, Paul Broderick, Mark Morrissey, Seamus Grey, Eoin Doyle

Repeat44 (Carlow) - Posts: 6 - 30/10/2008 12:55:55    129797

repeat 44 Just reading your so called 'dream team' - you must be drinking or something - John Brennan good keeper alrite but how many points and goals did he give away this year for county - i lost count. Joe Roche was a good defender at underage but has failed to reach same standard at senior Paul Kelly - the fact that you said rem how good he was 3 years ago - enough said Joe Byrne - past it IMO Tom Walsh - he plays with wicklow - please get over it and move on Evan Doyle - had one good game against dublin - struggled after that and couldnt make starting 15 with tinryland Derek Hayden - after his injury he will be out for a long time Reids - all of them have a major discipline problem Simon Rea - good footballer but as has been proven over last couple of years he is not reliable - he didn't see the year out yet again with carlow and give tommy murphy cup a go! At least go with the lads who have proved last year that they will not run away from a challenge and when the chips are down they will wear the county jersey and are showing themselves to be in form!

dual supporter (Carlow) - Posts: 772 - 30/10/2008 15:10:39    130070

Have you attended any Intermediate matches this year ( and in particular the senior league final)? Several of your suggestions are now so slow that they would not have not have made either of the teams for the senior final.

moll (Carlow) - Posts: 153 - 30/10/2008 17:10:33    130217

John Brennan (one of the best goalies in the country) Paul Cashin (Not overly strong or skillful, but very quick and had two great finals this year) Brian Farrel ( Still the best full back in the county) Joe Roche (Best man marker in the county, although had a dip in form in this years club championship) Paul Kelly (Remember how good he was 3 years ago, still only 25) John Hayden/Joe Byrne (need a strong physical presence here) Evan Doyle (Fast,strong and skillful, good footballer) Pat Walsh (best midfielder playin club football in Carlow) Angy Reid/Tom Walsh (hopefully he'll be back) Derek Hayden (he was our best player 2 years ago) Mark Carpenter (no need to say anything here) Paul Reid (surferred from injuries in the club championship,but class act) Simon Rea ( brilliant a couple of years ago, hopefully he can find his form again) John Reid ( Disciplin isn't his stronghold but would be a super addition to the team) JJ Smith ( excellent all year) Subs: Michael Hennessy, Patrick Hughes Padraig Bambrick, Barry English, Cormac McCarthy, Barry John Molloy, Alan Curran, Mark Nolan, Ciaran Nolan, Daniel St Ledger John Murphy, Daithi Byrne, Ray Walker, Sean Gannon Byran Carbery, Eric McCormack, Brain Murphy, Paul Broderick, Mark Morrissey, Seamus Grey, Eoin Doyle Thank God you're not the manager!!

All Star (Carlow) - Posts: 132 - 30/10/2008 17:38:51    130244

Ah come on lads.....dream teams....some of those suggestions would make up your worst nightmare!!!!!

1. Patrick Hughes/John Brennan
2. Paul Cashin
3. Seamus Farrell
4. Mark Nolan
5. Alan Curran
6. Tadgh Brennan
7. Christopher Bolger
8. Niall Reid
9. Patrick Walsh
10. Sean Gannon
11. John Murphy
12. Padraig Nolan
13. Eric Mc Cormack
14. Mark Carpenter
15. Simon Rea

Subs: Barry English, Cormac Mullins, Joe Roche, Daniel St Ledger, Padraig Murphy, Seamus Gray, Darragh Foley (Still minor), Bryan Farrell, Barry John Molloy, Paul Broderick, Mark Morrissey, Eoin Doyle, Richard Sinnott, JJ Smith, Danny Molloy, Noel Conway, Brian Kelly, Gavin Farrell, Derek Hayden, David Byrne, Evan doyle, Glen Doyle, Brian Murphy.

That's just in my opinion!!!!!:)

Andi (Carlow) - Posts: 40 - 30/10/2008 21:43:52    130393

After kilbrides performances this year in the league against strong senior teams and in the championship i think a good few of their players could be considered for a county panel slot if not a starting place,I am thinking of the twin nolans,darragh foley and seamus gray who have been rightfully mentionned but also maybe stephen curry whose pace and accuracy could cause any team problems and also joe waters who at the end of this year is coming back to form after an injury,and maybe even the o toole chap in the half back line,size may not be on his side but he is a fine footballer.I am not a kilbride man myself but was highly impressed by them all year especially the players mentioned here.

Carlowgaafan (Carlow) - Posts: 20 - 31/10/2008 18:00:52    131205

i tink dats all carlow can do is dream!!!!! they'll never win anything!!!!

mad4ga (Laois) - Posts: 8 - 02/11/2008 18:11:27    131907

It's much better than wakening up before and after a match and having NIGHTMARES mad4ga
County: Laois

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3179 - 04/11/2008 12:45:42    133304

What about dual player Mark Brennan??

Ric Flair (None) - Posts: 180 - 04/11/2008 15:41:05    133480

I am delighted to see Luke come back to have another go with Carlow. He inspired the group that he had the last time and I see no reason why this time can't be even better.

A bit taken back at the lack of background knowledge of some of the comments on this board and in the press about him and at some of the ancient players linked with the team. The less said about the "dream teams" the better. Sacred Heart home comes to mind.

I am sure he will start with the youth and build a team from there. There are plenty of really good youngsters in Carlow - if we could find a few mobile big lads to fill the pivots the rest will fall in line quickly.

Good luck Luke and Carlow.

moll (Carlow) - Posts: 153 - 04/11/2008 20:10:52    133723

well said moll. i think luke dempsey will bring a whole freshness to the set-up. he wont be praying for lads from certain clubs to join the panel when thay see fit ...... the fine weather before the louth game. there are lots of players coming through - just look at kilbride. forget about the over 30's --we have persisted long enough with no success. i say leave luke to his own devices and let him have his 3 years to mould a team . LUKE THE PLAYERS AND SUPPORTERS ARE ALL BEHIND YOU> WELCOME HOME>

novalis (Carlow) - Posts: 317 - 04/11/2008 22:37:21    133800

Well said Moll. Luke should concentrate on the youngsters. The bulk of the Minor team from 07. Throw in young Foley from Kilbride and young Walshe and Byrne from Tinryland, White from O'Hanrahans, Reid from Pal, Gannon from Eire Og and a few others and a few of the younger experienced lads like St Ledger who are committed and he can build a team within the time limit of 2 years.

Chips (Carlow) - Posts: 141 - 04/11/2008 23:39:19    133878

You cannot just go with youth to represent carlow at senior level you have to have a good mix of players. Its unfair of people to dismiss lads who have given their time and energy to play for carlow when others ran the opposite direction - only for them we would have struggled to even field a team at times. Are you going to tell mark carpenter hes no longer needed cos hes a certain age when he is still such a great player - lets be realistic some lads never make the jump up from minor to senior level and with the greatest respect to the minor team of '07 brendan murphy(rathvilly) played such a huge part in their success and as we know hes in australia. Surely we keep the lads we have and add some younger players as we go along.

dual supporter (Carlow) - Posts: 772 - 05/11/2008 10:57:27    134028

Its all very well naming a dream team but Luke will never have heard of any of those players. He very rarely tends club games. He spends his summer with Brian Carty in the Commentary box in Croke Park. Unless he reads about a player then they have no chance of impressing a by playing club football

Pal (None) - Posts: 76 - 05/11/2008 15:41:52    134340

Let the Messiah himself decide who he wants on the team but the fact of the matter is lads, its who is willing to play for the county....he mightnt have a choice to pick who he wants but who commits to the cause.Hopefully he will get a good response from the players and leave the primadonnas where they are[n we all know who they are].Any guys who are asked to go in n join the set up will ye please do for love of god.Im still smartin from havin to sit in Aughrim in the rain watching us get bet by Wicklow in the league.Lads ye know what ye have to do,its pay back time.

THE BOSS (Carlow) - Posts: 475 - 05/11/2008 20:55:51    134621

sorry 2 sound ignorant but who does tadhg brennan play for?
i have been v impressed by shane myers lately!

JoeMoore69 (Carlow) - Posts: 38 - 14/11/2008 03:31:34    141160

Brennan plays for MLR. Was on the county panel about 10 years ago and is too old at this stage. Myers is too old as well and anyway he is a Wicklowman. If not good enough for them then he certainly has no place on our panel.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1566 - 14/11/2008 14:24:15    141537

We should be delighted with Luke's return.
It's important to have stability and continuity now and above all patience.
Carlow will not win anything major in the next couple of years; neither he nor the team should be judged solely on results.
If he can get the best players in, if he can get them to commit to the necessary level, if he can provide coaching of the best piossible standard we will be in a position to join the other teams at the starting line.
Winning will be the next stage but thats a while away yet!
So patience please and no negativity!

All Star (Carlow) - Posts: 132 - 19/11/2008 11:03:31    144744

any idea on lukes backroom team as of yet?

JoeMoore69 (Carlow) - Posts: 38 - 20/11/2008 12:25:08    145757

Onion breath how ya can criticise shane myers is beyond me... he might be old but hes the best full back in the county and hes not interested in playin 4 wicklow due to family commitments not tat hes not good enough i,d love to see you mark him see how well ya do.....

abl (Carlow) - Posts: 8 - 20/11/2008 14:23:59    145908