HS Travelogue - Donegal

Area: 4,841 km²
Population: 146,956

Donegal - the jewel of the north-west! Home of the O'Donnells - from Red Hugh to Daniel. Rugged beauty all around you - and that's just the women! Seriously some of the Atlantic scenery is breathtaking. The county is full of beautiful coastal villages from the south right to Malin Head. Rossnowlagh - ahem, Glencolumbkille, Portnoo, Dungloe, Derrybeg, Dunfanaghy and Downings to name a few. The fishing villages of Burtonport and Killybegs - where the annual Fish Ireland exhibition is a licence to be jarred at noon! Then there is the sprawling metropolis of Letterkenny - once home of the Golden Grill and where I had a few pints in the old Mrs Mc Governs' pub in the town - long gone I reckon! And Kincasslagh where you wouldn't know who would invite you in for a cuppa! And Glenveagh National Park - a place of great natural beauty and the red deer - lovely between two slices of bread! I won't mention Bundoran - not my cup of tea but I did stop a local one day to ask where the Great Southern Hotel was only to be asked did I mean the Great Northern - doh! Watch out for the boy and girl racers though - there are more spoilers in Donegal than on this board.

Tir Chonaill - home of the great keepers - Given and Bonner. Two lads who have been Number 1 for Ireland for over a quarter of a century! Columba, Pat the Cope, Mary C, Isaac Butt, Rory Gallagher and of course Enya! I was in the bar where Clannad used to play and I felt like I was in a scene from Deliverance - a bit weird! Donegal are good folk with great accents and like their sport - I find it strange the lack of intercounty success to be honest with such a competitive club scene. I've never been to the ground so I'll leave the Donegal lads to tell us about it.

So if you want a nice break Donegal is the place for you. An abundance of things to do and see and if you get the right weather you might just think you've died and gone to heaven!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 29/10/2008 11:58:52    128703

There's definitely a book in there somewhere Jayo! Seriously! And Don't forget Mickey Joe! One of Lifford's favourite sons!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 29/10/2008 12:37:20    128748

Good man Jayo! A fleadh ceoil seisiún in Kilcar is hard to beat too. The place is like the Bermuda Triangle. Head in on a Friday and get lost in the craic, land out on a Monday at some stage!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9954 - 29/10/2008 12:40:25    128750

Jesus, if I wasn't here I'd want to go, Jayo. The tourist board should've employed you instead of the tool that gave us "up here we're different!"

Naomh Ultan Abú (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 29/10/2008 14:06:40    128834

Hard to beat a feed in Castlemurray down in St John's Pt Naomh Ultan Abú! Surely one of the finest restaurants in Ireland.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9954 - 29/10/2008 15:04:09    128902

Yes Lockjaw - a grand place for seafood and great view of McSwyne's Bay. Had a lovely seafood buffet there a good while back - rollmops, caviar - the lot! Its run by the daughter of one of Killybegs top fishing folk (MH?) isn't it?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 29/10/2008 15:59:23    128989

If you're looking for a feed in Donegal it's hard to beat the Sunday lunch at Harvey's Point. It's on Lough Eske just outside Donegal town. It's a bit pricey, but the food is amazing, and you'll have to be rolled back home afterwards!

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 29/10/2008 16:55:59    129070

Hard to beat alright Lockjaw! A fine wee spot locked away in God's own country! A nice scenic walk from the town too if ya want to take your life in your hands...

Naomh Ultan Abú (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 29/10/2008 19:22:21    129221

Donegal's most breathtaking nightspot,xxxxxx in Letterkenny, will show you some of Donegal's most picturesque and stunning sights. Marvel at the continuous flow of unrelenting alcohol, be amazed at the behaviour of East Donegal gentlemen if you mistakingly try to chat up their girlfriend. Ponder their ignorance and stupidity, then thank you lucky stars when you stagger drunkenly into some beautiful little specimen who is more than eager to make you feel good! Failing all this, attempt to endure the distance of Letterkenny Main Street without some substance-fuelled randomer trying to engage in some form of physical or verbal aggression with you. By now, if you have reached this far, you will have the opportunity to experience the most exquisite of Donegal's fast-food diners. Behold the ludicrous queue-system which entails threats and pushing galore, and cries of 'See if you get in front of me sir....Ah swear sir, you'll get it hi...' Having waited the best portion of an hour on your taxi, go home and feel that you have immersed yourself in the rich cultural phenomena that is Letterkenny.

Patrick1986 (Donegal) - Posts: 9 - 29/10/2008 22:36:57    129349

Yes Jayo, you're dead right. Was in the same class at school as said seafarer's son and worked in CM for a few summers as a kitchen porter when I was a nipper! I fear I may have said too much!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9954 - 30/10/2008 08:35:06    129486

lol

wher did that come oouta :O

yis all no kilcar is the finest place for a session in the NW ;)

Legend92 (Donegal) - Posts: 752 - 30/10/2008 09:59:38    129554

love donegal, spent many a summer up in arainn mor! then we had our day trips to dungloe to get a present for our mammys. went a few years ago, island was great, no coppers on the aisle so pubs closed when YOU left. nightclub was in the communitly hall. 10 year olds driving cars. think there was 2 and a half shops on the island and about 4 pubs, love them odds. any of you donegalles know if there still no gardai on the isle???

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 30/10/2008 11:26:21    129665

You can't beat freezing your ***** off in Kilybegs on a cold winter morning.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2022 - 30/10/2008 11:39:31    129675

Was up in Bundoran there a few years ago, nice place, has a lovely beach but i didn't realize the water was so cold (i jumped into an area which was shaded all day), nearly turned me into an ice sculpture of meself.

I also remember being at the KFC up there and a lad in Meath jersey tried to get in but they wouldn't let him (it was closed) so he walked around to the drive through (which was still open) and tried to order but it just ended in an argument. I think a few staff memebers (which were mostly foreign) got worried when they turned around to find that i was wearing the same jersey, probably thought we were some sort of gang memebers out to cause trouble.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/10/2008 11:49:07    129685

Get a life Jayo!

John_3__7 (Meath) - Posts: 546 - 30/10/2008 11:53:24    129692

Ah yes the smell of the fish-meal factories as you're coming into Killybegs does take your breath away!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9954 - 30/10/2008 11:57:48    129698

30/10/2008 11:53:24
John_3__7

Get a life Jayo!

Ah, welcome to the site! I see you are on a bit of a posting frenzy at the moment. Well, when all that settles down I'm sure you will become a valuable and respected member of this site. For now though, off you go and play some more. Post a few more insightful comments and sure if you are still here in a few days then we can continue this conversation.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 30/10/2008 12:02:44    129702

Well said RMDrive!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 30/10/2008 12:12:22    129721

A game of golf in Rosapena and a meal afterwards in the hotel followed by a trip around the Atlantic Drive and maybe a sing-song in the Singing Pub. Heaven !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 30/10/2008 12:27:02    129746

Was up in Malin Head when i was a kid.I was nearly blown away in a gale force 10 wind......I wouldnt have minded but it was on my school holidays in July.

Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 30/10/2008 12:27:28    129747