Disgraceful scenes at Clonoe V Dromore Match

People we are all very high and mighty on here no one says it was pretty to see it on a field in Tyrone but it happens People in glass houses should not throw stones . Its good to here from a Kerry man talking about Displine . Probably the worst record for displine this year

tommy truth (Tyrone) - Posts: 80 - 27/10/2008 11:45:36    127107

kingdomfan there is a big difference in that row than galvin he assulted a ref he should have got a big ban only sean kelly got him ... dromore manager should get a ban but life come on wise up

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 27/10/2008 11:49:05    127111

It strikes me that some of the Kerry posters on these boards would make great Rules Administrators! Ye seem to have lots of advice on how to improve discipline in Tyrone football. I don't remember ye ever having much to say when brawls break out in club games in other counties around the country and which are also well documented on these boards on occasion. But then it was Tyrone if I remember that beat ye in the All-Ireland Final this year so that might have quite a bit to do with your sudden interest in condemning Tyrone football. If I remember Tyrone beat ye fair and square that day - no brawls, no fighting - just better footballers. Maybe its a form of catharsis for ye that by criticising what went on at the Tyrone Club Final, it makes ye feel better about yourselves and in some warped way makes ye feel that ye are the true champions as a result! For God's sake lads, would ye take a fair beating and get rid of the chip of the shoulder! It says a lot about a county if ye can lose with a bit of dignity as well as win with dignity. Unfortunately quite a few of ye seem to be lacking in the former quality! Move on lads!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 27/10/2008 11:51:01    127115

Look lads
What Happened yeaterday was a disgrace. But lets get down of our high horse here - this sort of behaviour happens throughout Ireland and even worse. The only reason it has been highlighted in this case is because it was on live television.

Those that speak of Ulster teams bringing violence into the game need to catch a grip and get rid of their bigotry. It happens in your clubs too. It is an endemic problem in the association for whatever reason.

Lastly I would like to point out that Noel McGinns actions came as no great shock to me and many others. If you have of watched the man in his playing days and talked to some of his opponents youd know that. Dromore yoused to be a classy side that played good honest football befire the McGinn era....now theny are a cynical, mouthy team...theres no place for that in Tyrone football.

All the best to Clonoe in Ulster.

RuaHughONeill (Tyrone) - Posts: 110 - 27/10/2008 12:07:04    127138

It is good to see that some Kerry posters are still hurting !!! They are getting it hard to get the Tyrone defeat out of their system as is plain to see from their comments... but it only the same old reliables !!!! Lads go to Woodys, buy some timber, build a bridge and GET OVER IT. !!!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 27/10/2008 12:25:49    127167

Yeah Kingdomfan, and Aiden O'Mahoney and Paul Galvin aren't "a mockery to the beautiful game"???? Brawls and bad incidents happen in every county and should never be condoned. But no-body needs anyone from Kerry coming on here proclaiming the 'high moral ground'. When it comes to discipline and the true spirit of playing the game the current Kerry crop are the sh*t beneath my shoes! Mind you the great 3 and 4 in a row teams played the game like men except for that prima-donna Pat Spillane falling around the place feigning frees and injury etc. As the late great Michael O'Hehir once said of Spillane 'diving' and the free being given against him against Roscommon in the 1980 final 'And that's not the first time I've seen Pat Spillane do that"

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 27/10/2008 12:51:39    127191

lol Thats it lads just keep changing the subject. A disgrace to the GAA, should be ashamed of yer selves an yer club scene!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 27/10/2008 12:54:52    127194

I have always thought Tyrone club football to be mild mannered. When I watched Brian McGuigan winding up Mossy Quinn before a free in the Dubs match I thought it was just as well he didn't play in Antrim club football.

Every county is the same, it is not that long ago since Antrim had a riot at the end of the final, and it took 6 years before Cargin were awarded the title, wrongly in my estimation. In 1992 Lamh Dhearg got a walk over in the final as St John's and Cargin were expelled.

So I for one will not be casting any stones, as Antrim club games are not without sin.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 27/10/2008 13:29:11    127226

So Ciarrai Abu what is the club scene like in London. Do you go to watch any games? Who do you support over there. Who won the league and championship there this year? Are there any disciplinary issues in London?

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 27/10/2008 13:29:47    127227

This type of incident is not just happening in Tyrone it just so happen's that it was televised . Now the county board of Tyrone should suspend both men involved for as long as possible and tell them to forget making an appeal or will double the suspension. This was thuggery and nothing else, and it is sad to note that the manager of the Dromore team is a primary school principal.

gaa1 (Antrim) - Posts: 11 - 27/10/2008 14:10:07    127252

mabye im wrong but way back all them years ago when the gaa started it would have been to give the people that worked all week a break from the daily slog.back then they would have played hard but everyone would have enjoyed it more as a sport.at the top level the sport has been well and truly extracted from it and its a win at all cost scenario.its ok to have rivalrys with players and clubs but not a hatred of other gaa members and unfortunately thats what we have today

mucker (Donegal) - Posts: 479 - 27/10/2008 15:53:23    127311

I play in monaghan and have to say ive seen some hilarious bust-ups and abandoned games, includin a referee gettin shoved to the ground after sending off a player, then the player begging for him not to report it 2secs later!! Another incident were 2 players from same team thumped the heads off eachother and were both sent off!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 27/10/2008 16:01:25    127318

Well John Boss, if your so interested you should visit the UK page and find out but as i know yer prob to busy fighting up there ;) i'll tell you. As usual Tir Choinall won the championship, Fulham Irish won the League and tipperary cup. Yesterday Robert Emmetts hurlers won there 4th consecutive hurling championship. Now i dont know why you have such a fascination with london, maybe your trying to incite that because u live outside of the emerald isle i am not entitled to be involved in my native sport. Such an incinuation would of come from an ill-educated person, unlike yourself of course.

However, John Boss back to the point, you have done exactly what i earlier stated and once again changed the subject. What happend the weekend in tyrone's penultimate club match is an utter disgrace and it was an act of a man who has been mentioned to suceed Harte if he calls it a day. Class act hey, he'd fit right in!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 27/10/2008 16:03:32    127320

Just seen that he is a Primary School Principal-is there any truth to this? If that is true then----

MayofaninKK (Mayo) - Posts: 117 - 27/10/2008 16:15:04    127332

Ciarrai Abu I was just interested, don't take everything so personally. As for me being ill-Educated - I would proably agree with that but that is another debate and has nothing to do with GAA.

The game was poor enough in terms of finishing but was not a dirty game of football if you watched it (do they broadcast TG4 in London?). What happened at the end of normal time was disgraceful though and those involved should and will get long suspensions. I am not sure that Noel McGinn was being talked about that strongly in relation to Tyrone managment. If and when Micky decides to go (hopefully not for another 4-5 years), Raymond Munrow Donnely/Coyle or Peter would be more likley candidates in my view.

The point that other posters were making is that this is a national problem and not in any way regional. You did'nt answer my question on London GAA discipline so I guess maybe that is the exception. It is certainly happening in Kerry, Derry and nearly any other county you might mention. I understand that your views are coloured based on defeats of Kerry by Tyrone this decade but that is in the past now - get over it. 2009 is a new season.

I seen a soccer player getting a yellow card for kicking a water bottle after he left the pitch last week. It is such a level of discipline that needs to be introduced to the GAA. Bring in solicitors or whatever it takes to make the discipline water tight. It still can be a physical game. A good solid shoulder executed on an opponent in possession is a great part of the game - I would not like to see the mens game become like ladies football (which is fine but a different game).

On the other hand what happened yesterday was assault as was Paul Galvins or Dara O Se incidents earlier this year (I only mention Kerry footballers becuase they are no better or worse than anybody else). If the GAA was to come out and say that as of 2009 assault would be passed to the courts I wonder would that change mindsets? I would not be too comfortable with the concept to be honest but maybe someting radical needs to be done - any views?

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 27/10/2008 16:45:14    127359

good use of google Ciarrai Abu, you sure showed him, top marks!

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 27/10/2008 16:45:35    127361

joan_balantine if you say so. I play in London, both codes, and was at both county finals in the past few weeks! So i really dont see your point, and it is your choice if you decide to be an impetulant child and offer nothing worthwhile to this discussion!

John Boss players on the pitch "Interfering" with each other is more acceptable than management on the sideline interfering with a player, i think you will agree with me on that! Maybe my vision is impaired form Kerry's defeat and that is only natural. But all i was saying was that the Physical approach adopted on the field by many top clubs in tyrone, is leading to more and more violent incidents on and off the field in yer club championship!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 27/10/2008 17:36:12    127404

DELLBOYPOLECAT

Galvin did not assault a referee. He assaulted a notebook. As some other posters would say: FACT:

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 27/10/2008 17:38:36    127407

Just seen that he is a Primary School Principal-is there any truth to this? If that is true then---- Just wondering what will Brolly have to say about this!

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 27/10/2008 17:55:53    127426

Real Kerry Fan

"Galvin did not assault a referee. He assaulted a notebook. As some other posters would say: FACT:"

Right I see so was that the thinking down in Kerry and the reasoning why yous were all so keen to get him off?

Galvin got a light sentence with 6months and then the Kerry propoganada machine put into motion and got it reduced for all the good it did yous.
Maybe like other years yous should have put the propoganda machin to work convining the rest of the country that yous play pure football or something because the rest of the country have exposed your little myth

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 27/10/2008 18:04:47    127431