Disgraceful scenes at Clonoe V Dromore Match

Just like to express my genuine disgust at the end of normal time in the Tyrone SFC final. The manager should get a life ban from the game for headbutting a player. The player should also get a 12 month ban for doing the same to the manager. Is this the kind of thing that is encouraged in Tyrone club football? The Ulster Council need to come down heavy on both teams after todahys disgraceful scenes.

MayofaninKK (Mayo) - Posts: 117 - 26/10/2008 17:10:27    126829

There is no such thing as a ban in the GAA.
I know a manager banned for 52 wks June 08 for ref abuse, he was on the line today like nothing happened. When will a ban mean a BAN?

allSOran (Sligo) - Posts: 690 - 26/10/2008 18:02:56    126849

Since when did the Dubs stat's man take over Dromore? Just kidding lads, don't take it serious! But seriously, it was a disgraceful scene. Didn't see the match itself, just actually switched onto TG4 to catch the replays of the incidents(as I said in the other thread), and seen the brawl or whatever you want to call it. What actually started it, was there a controversial decision at the end of normal time or something? It's terrible to see such scenes, and even moreso that they occur so often. I can think of a good few in the last couple of years from strictly a monaghan perspective, god knows how many incidents there've been nationwide.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 26/10/2008 18:24:31    126857

mayoman .... maybe if you had bothered to see the TYRONE COUNTY final POST..... there would be no need for this nonsence,
do we encourage this in tyrone!!! ..................... DO THEY encourage it in MAYO???

WHAT IS YOUR POINT MAYOMAN????

doo_her (Tyrone) - Posts: 60 - 26/10/2008 19:53:43    126906

didnt hear anything about it. was it live on tg4??

glenn_abu (Down) - Posts: 515 - 26/10/2008 20:21:47    126923

Here we go - ULSTER BASHING AGAIN!!!!

Face it - they are All-Ireland champions!! and TEAM OF THE DECADE and none of your anti-ulster b1tch1n' will change that!!

There are disgraceful club scenes in EVER county!! People in glass houses...

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 26/10/2008 21:05:24    126941

The Dromore manager should be banned for life. What an absolute disgrace. This is followed on from mthe Slaughtneil vs Ballinderry match. Do people at club level now think this is acceptable? or perhaps they think they can get away with it because of the shaky foundations the GAA has built its discipline structures on. The GAA must act now.

Saffron (Antrim) - Posts: 216 - 26/10/2008 21:16:14    126944

MayofaninKK Catch a grip would you, yeah headbutting players is encouraged in Tyrone fooball sure did you not see Mickey Harte headbutting Colm Cooper, Matty Forde and Alan Brogan on our way to the all-ireland this year? What happened today was an absolute disgrace and the man in question should suffer serious consequences but it is a problem up and down the country not exclusive to Tyrone. For the record midmon I think that what started the handbags the Dromore goalie ran half the length of the pitch to shoulder a Clonoe player in the back. Im not a big Dromore fan at the best of times but their actions today were truly sickening however at least some sort of justice was done by the Clonoe win

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 26/10/2008 21:36:16    126953

Watched the game on TG4.
First of all. I'd question the referee's knowledge of what happens after normal time. As a referee myself I know that it's an area that is addressed at most "rule refreshers".

Rule 3.7: "In extra time, an interval not exceding five minutes shall be allowed with both teams staying on the field".
This is the norm for before extra time occurs and for half time interval.
I beleive had this rule been applied the incident would not have occured.
However, the umpire had to have seen it as it was straight in front of him. He could have drawn this to the attention of the referee and had him put in the stands for extra time.
However I will not be suprised to see the manager and player receiving maximum suspension of 48 weeks

datsrite (Sligo) - Posts: 473 - 26/10/2008 22:08:06    126962

mayofaninkk your talking 100% right it is a disgrace the way that manager went on and the clonoe no5 big bans should be handed out .....

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/10/2008 22:52:28    126973

Yeah we have had our fair share in Laois hurling. I know Wicklow have had their troubles also with such brawls. Its a pity and usually a minority who are the root problem.

proteuspal (Laois) - Posts: 423 - 26/10/2008 23:46:35    126981

Jaysus I thought it was great entertainment altogether especially when TG4 replayed iit about six times. The crowd in the pub cheered louder and louder at each replay.
Smashin Co. Hurling Final in Clare where Clonlara won their first title since 1919. As one wag in the pub put it "lucky they don't play hurlin in Tyrone or dey'd be real murder"
And ye Tyrone folk expect our respect as All Ireland Champions?????????? Up the Kingdom anyday & queensberry rules for manly fights & leave the headers out of it.

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 27/10/2008 00:05:22    126984

Cant believe a man of Noel McGinns experience would stoop to a sneaky headbutt ...and him the manager!! Its unbelievable and it puts Tyrone club football again in the mire of field brawls and negative press...where on its past history it deserves to be..The book will have to be thrown at all concerned with the violence and Im sure it will, especially as it was on TV.

eggbag Gael (Overseas) - Posts: 19 - 27/10/2008 00:08:48    126985

MayofaninKK,

No this is not the kind of thing which is accepted in Tyrone football. I have never seen a manager attack an opposition player in my entire life. Some had predicted Noel Mc Ginn was the next Tyrone manager if Mickey Harte were to ever step down but after seeing that there is no way anyone could justify backing him now. It would be like going from the Dalai Lama to George Bush in one foul swoop. Mc Ginn deserves a ban of 52 weeks at the very least.

But full congratulations to Clonoe. I would never have predicted them to win and its great to see the O'Neill Cup back in East Tyrone for the first time in 10 years.

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 27/10/2008 09:21:45    127015

DINGLE1
I FAINTLY REMEMBER AN OLD GUY TRYING TO CLASH PAUDIE AT THE END OF THE FIRST GAME WE BEAT YOU IN
DOES THIS ALSO REQUIRE RESPECT FOR KERRY ON OUR BEHALF???????????

watcher (Fermanagh) - Posts: 20 - 27/10/2008 10:28:15    127036

Is this the kind of thing that is encouraged in Tyrone club football?

mayofan? what kind of stupid question is that?fair enough condem what happened but its not typical of tyrone football. ill remind you that a very similar incident occurred in the derry final a few weeks ago. obviously it shouldnt happen but its just a measure of how much it means to the teams and players involved.

hefty bans are expected with the derry game as precident.

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 27/10/2008 10:46:04    127049

Yeah us terrible nordies all condone this type of behaviour Mayofan. This winter we've got a few strength and conditioning workshops followed by the 'how to head-butt properly" workshops all being organised by the County Board.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 27/10/2008 11:02:28    127058

Has this really come as such a suprise, i mean the level of violence northern teams bring to the pitch is a shambles anyway and now on this occasion it has spilled over onto the sidelines! Shock - I dont think so. I mean just look at Cavanagh's incident in the club game last week !!!!

Well DOne lads doing your county proud lol

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 27/10/2008 11:05:53    127061

listen up folks this carry on happens in every county every week...in this case it is gonna get more attention as it was a senior county final and was live on national tv... i totally condemn what took place but at least it gives more ammo to the anti tyrone brigade amongst you to put the boot in (excuse the pun) something drastic needs to be done countrywide to eradicate the problem of fighting,pitch invasions etc etc on gaelic grounds.....

sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 27/10/2008 11:21:33    127084

Life ban for Dromore Manager-anything less would make a mockery of the beautiful game

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 27/10/2008 11:36:24    127099