Sorry, but am I missing something in all this. ntb_exile (Fermanagh) - Posts: 12 - 08/11/2008 19:27:05 136840 Link 0 |
right, i was following this for a while and found out a load of info from all the posters on this thread, great stuff. i started off feeling sorry for the players, then mccarthy, then back to the players and then..... well.......i just got fed up and bored with it all..... .....so i tried to ignore it.......but i wasn't allowed... players blaming mccarthy and ccb using the media, then coming out with full page statement in the examiner... radio interviews, non stop on the sports news on every radio station for a while... ...only sensible thing i heard was tomas mulcachy on newstalk saying he was reluctant to do any interviews because we should all shut up about it and take it out of the media and let them sort it out themselves (ironically he said this on a radio show) .. now statements and counter statements.... and now i feel sorry for myself because i'm sick of hearing about it.... anyone else fed up?..talk about stubborn people.. how long does it take to sort out a wee arguement..... if croke park grew a pair and said to both sides, the solution is xyz.... if ye don't accept it then feck off,ccb,players and the whole shaggin lot... don't want to offend ye cork people.. what other gaa quarrel has gone on this long and with such media bull.... over and out l bishop_brennan (Leitrim) - Posts: 10 - 09/11/2008 22:57:26 137250 Link 0 |
Apparently Cusack isn't the ring-leader we think he is. Or so he claims. icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 11/11/2008 15:02:05 138621 Link 0 |
Yep I read his interview alright. Maybe the players are planning something like a u turn and he doesn't want to be left out in the cold? But I think it's clear as day to everyone involved and not involved in the dispute that he is at the heart of everything in regards to the players actions. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 11/11/2008 15:29:31 138652 Link 0 |
Local radio did a poll on this today, to see if public behind them. ver (None) - Posts: 228 - 11/11/2008 16:29:29 138738 Link 0 |
It sounds as if the players have had enough of both the county board and the players. Who could blame them. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 11/11/2008 16:57:33 138773 Link 0 |
Heard that radio programme this morning aswell ver. The over ridding feeling from the public is that the Cork County Board are the ones to be blamed here. Lots of calls for Frank Murphy to step down. They way they have handled this whole dispute since 2002 and before has been a scandal. They are accountable to nobody and nobody will take them on except the players. We are in for a few interesting weeks with the St Colman's match coming up soon. It will be interesting to see if the players hold tough or will there be cracks. If they split now, I feel that the Cork County Board would have won and they will stick it out to the bitter end regardless of what happens to Cork GAA. The players have to stand firm with the knowledge from the poll carried by Cork's 96FM that the majority of people in Cork Support them. 65% is a big majority. happytobehere (Cork) - Posts: 360 - 11/11/2008 17:11:55 138788 Link 0 |
I heard the programme as well lads. Well the last hour and a bit of it anyway. What was interesting is that of those that do not support the players, many of them seem to be very old people. You had the person back in the 1960s playing camogie as indicative of this type of attitude. As one person said, black and white television worked grand too back in the 1960s but we are hardly going to toss out our digital TVs for it. I would suggest, that most people that play the game are fully behind the players. That is what counts most. We need people with attitudes that reflect the 21st century to rule in the 21st century. What we have is people from a bygone era running the show. I hope the players stick this out as a divide at this stage will be detrimental. I am glad that this game is coming up against St Colmans. Hopefully it will not go ahead. bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 11/11/2008 17:56:02 138879 Link 0 |
I read this morning that the GAA has given Cork another 6 weeks to resolve their differences. Personally I can only see problems getting worse the longer this goes. Also i think it's a disgrace that the GAA have not issued the players and the CB an ultimatum. If this wasn't a big county like Cork I don't think the top brass would be so lenient. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 13/11/2008 11:58:25 140358 Link 0 |
Daytona, its an internal affair, at the moment its not stopping any games or anything. the HQ only stepped in last year when we failed to furfill our fixtures ,so i dont know why HQ should get involved at this stage. WE have another couple weeks before the league start . ver (None) - Posts: 228 - 13/11/2008 14:39:48 140519 Link 0 |
I love Sean Og. What a guy. I wish the guy would retire. icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 14/11/2008 11:01:49 141293 Link 0 |
I can see why you would like him to retire, a Wexford lad never got a puck off the ball when standing next to him.... bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 14/11/2008 12:04:25 141357 Link 0 |
I heard Sean Og on the radio last night. Man, there is an incredible amount of bitterness towards McCathy. RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 14/11/2008 12:12:06 141373 Link 0 |
After reading Sean Og's interview a few things struck me. The CB, Players and maybe even Gerald McCarth are acting like a bunch of kids. The whole "He said this and I said that" thing is going on. Cork hurlers first rebeled and strike action was on the agenda in 2002. Now Frank Murphy is there for 28 years.1980. How come no team (or am I incorrect?) between 1980 and 2002 threatened this kind of action? How come no team seemed to have such a problem to the extent of the current problem the group of players have at the moment? All my questions above point to the fact that the current crop of players think they are bigger than Cork GAA. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/11/2008 12:19:47 141387 Link 0 |
Far be it from me to ever be seen defending a Cork manager but what Sean Óg said about McCarty yesterday was a disgrace. I cannot now see any possibility of a reconciliation. The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 14/11/2008 12:28:06 141403 Link 0 |
Thats about as childish a remark Benny as the stuff Sean Halpin was going on with yesterday. icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 14/11/2008 13:33:09 141476 Link 0 |
I have to admit that initially I was extremely angry at the Cork players for proposing yet another strike. However, the more I thought about it, the more nonsensical my anti-players argument felt. Just a few points in support of what they are doing. Firstly, in any sport if the manager loses the dressing room.it's curtains. It happened in Waterford earlier in the year and spelled the end for Justin. If a premiership manager loses the respect of the dressing room.does the board sell all the players or does it sack the manager? We all know the answer to that. More importantly than this, however, we need to look at Gerald McCarthy's performance as Cork manager. I am in no doubt but that Gerald is never going to win an AI with Cork.even with the support of the players. Any time I have listened to an interview with the man has confirmed my view on that. Compared to Donal O Grady (just to use him as an example for a moment) he comes across as being a nice man but with little or no cuteness or toughness. He has proven time and time again that his tactical awareness is limited at best. Donal O Grady in contrast has a mean streak about him and you can tell he really hates being beaten. He is well able to control the County Board (which is a feat in itself). He always says the right things in interviews (gives nothing way and always plays down good performances). Contrast this to Gerald after the Galway game this year where he proclaimed it the greatest day in the history of Cork hurling! Great performance and rousing victory - yes; but it wasn't even an AI Quarter Final. With the Clare game the following week he would have been wise to say, "Look, it was a great win but the real action starts here and we have a huge challenge against Clare next weekend". By going along with the hype he played into Clare's hands and we nearly lost that game. I believe the players have absolutely ZERO faith in Gerald to take them to the next level. So it could be argued that some of the players don't want to waste the last 1 or 2 years of their careers playing under him. So I can understand their frustration. I've read a few very very anti-Cork articles and comments stating how you'd never see the Kilkenny or Tyrone players behaving in such fashion. If Brian Cody or Mickey Harte were sacked tomorrow and replaced by an inferior manager.I have no doubt but the Kilkenny and Tyrone players would kick up a big fuss and wouldn't just accept it. Just to finish up, I'l repeat the crucial point from above - When a manager loses the respect of the dressing room - how can he hope to be successful. When that happens there can only be one loser.and it will be Gerald. corkgaafan (Cork) - Posts: 2 - 14/11/2008 13:53:37 141494 Link 0 |
Could it be said that this great cork team maybe comming to an end anyways and they havn't a chance of winning an all-ireland full stop. Their taking out their fustrations at the loss to tipp and kilkenny on McCarthy?? With the right man in charge do you still think they would have a chance at beating kilkenny. Can McCarthy be blamed for the losses? Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 14/11/2008 14:14:45 141512 Link 0 |
Icehonesty. bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 14/11/2008 14:47:31 141573 Link 0 |
McCarhty has to hold some of the blame for the results but the players have to bear the brunt. As I've said before with the players carrying on like that how could McCarthy be expected to win anything? daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/11/2008 14:48:38 141575 Link 0 |