Cork hurlers hands are tied?

I'm back what the players are doing but not the way their doing it.
Their problem is clearly with the board i feel their using McCarthy as a scapegoat!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 07/11/2008 12:20:59    135904

Yep I was talking to someone very much in the know last night and the players are getting the rough end of the stick here. Some of the stuff thats going on behind the scenes would amaze (and sicken) you. As Roy Keane would almost say the players are being used as prawns in this particular sandwich. I think they should do whatever they have to and if the truth comes out this one will spread nationwide. Shocking stuff but we've gotta back Donal Og and the lads.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 07/11/2008 12:25:10    135908

Bennybunny,

Your last post shows you clearly have little respect for my opinions. You are trying to discredit me because you believe I do not know anything about Cork GAA. While I am not from Cork, I am entitled to my opinions. I have actually lived in Cork for a couple of years, and I am friends with several senior club players from Cork. I have read up on this, as I have closely followed the previous strikes. I will continue to post my opinions here, and will not allow myself to be pushed around by your attempts to bully the argument.

Nobody has answered my last question. Has the Cork County Board broken the terms of the arbitration from last year? Yes or no? Because if they have, then Kieran Mulvey needs to come back in to force them to comply. If they haven't the players haven't a leg to stand on.

In regard to the County Board, I have repeatedly said that I agree that they are doing what they please when they please in regard to the general functions of Cork GAA. They push people around when they want. And thats wrong. And its good that the players have stood up to them in the past. And something should be done to fix that.

But unless the CCB have broken their agreement from last year, then the players have no right to ask Gerald McCarthy to quit. What right do they have unless the CBB broke the agreement?

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2574 - 07/11/2008 12:34:18    135923

I just think Flynn is too prejudiced to be taken seriously. He's far too close to the players to be objective, Humphries on the other hand would be far more objective.

Yes RMDrive, I do feel ashamed that I was so short sighted on this issue. I went in all guns blazing without knowing the full story. Like I said, don't be so short sighted on this issue into thinking that its black and white. There's a lot of grey

Anyway, why is it so hard to see it from the players point of view. Perhaps the players were right earlier this year, there is a prejudice and a bias against Cork. Certainly seems to be the general consensus across the board.

Perhaps other panels should start to take note. They only get so long to have the honour of playing for their county and to be playing when the structures and preperation completely undermine your ability to play for your county, well then, I'm all with the players right to fight for that.

Up da rebels

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 07/11/2008 12:50:00    135946

To holy moly and jayo. Lads these people in the know. Would they be related to players? Frenids with them? Or players themselves? Are they taking the players sides in this dipute and thats the reason their giving you the low down? How do you know these sources are reliable? I was talknig to a guy from the finbars club in cork. He's freindly with Gerald McCarthy and some of the CB. He told me that the players (some of them) are well out of order. He says that their totally unresonable in their demands etc. Now i take that with a oinch of salt considering who he is freindly with. See what im getting at?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 07/11/2008 12:50:12    135947

What do the Cork players think of Brian Cody's reappointment? I am sure they do not approve. Is his position safe?

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 07/11/2008 13:28:50    135984

The Cork players are dead right. Fair play to them. Always admired Cork Sports People. The reagg sports capital of Ireland. And i like the way they are well able to stand up for themselves and feic the begrudgers. Think Roy, Think Sonia, Think ROG and now the hurlers. Fair play lads. Rebels abu.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/11/2008 13:53:42    136020

The Cork players are unhappy with Gerald McCarthy but I'd like to know why the players reprenentatives didn't propose an alternative at the CB meetings. I presume they had enough knowledge as the rest of the country had that McCarthy was in pole position for the job why they hadn't an option is amazing. Donal Og and Co. what a mistake!

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 07/11/2008 14:09:20    136036

I just wish they would get on with playing hurling and stop this throwing of hissy fits every time they don't like something, there are ways and means of expressing your opinion, but discrediting your county and blacking it's name (again) by going on strike is not the way to do it!

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 07/11/2008 14:49:41    136081

I'm not going to claim to know a huge amount about the situation in Cork, but from what I do know of it I would be leaning towards to players' side of things. Whilst players should not have the ultimate say in these sort of decisions, their views should always be considered. It's fairly logical really, if the panel is so unhappy with a manager, it stands to reason that their performances are likely to reflect this on the field. For that reason alone they should be listened to during the appointments process. From reading reports, it appears that the county board set out to circumvent the consultative provisions of last year's agreement. Allowing the selection committee to only consider one candidate was an extremely cynical ploy. Surely the selection committee should be allowed to consider any candidate they wish, and then make a recommendation; not have one forced down their throats. Looking from the outside, it appears to me (and has for a while now) that one man seems to act as if he is the county board, and the other members/delegates are only there to rubber stamp his decisions. He gives me the impression of somebody who sees the GAA as something that would be a whole lot better without players involved. At the end of the day, our association is centred on our sports, and the players are the central part of our sports. Everybody involved in the association, from the supporters in Croker, to the County Chairmen, to the lad out lining the pitch for an U-12 game are here for a love of our games. And the main purpose of everyone in the association is to facilitate the playing of our games. Take out the players and what are we left with? I'm sure Frank Murphy has done great things for Cork Football and Hurling in the past, and will continue to give great service in the future. But at present, in my opinion, he seems to have forgotten that core aim of any county - to enable your teams to play to the best of their abilities. If the players feel the Gerald McCarthy will not allow them to do that, then surely they should be listened to.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 07/11/2008 15:09:17    136111

Well that's all well and good holymoly but would you mind evualating when you say you got the inside scoop? What are these bad things the players have to put up with?

Sorry Loyal but a journalist never reveals his sources ;-)

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 07/11/2008 15:40:03    136169

Lads I get a swell of opinion changing towards the players on this one. I firmly back the players stance despite the fact that it is causing so much negative attention from the media and public alike. I'd wish someone would come out and call this for what it is and tell the full story of whats happening in the back ground. I'd love for the players to tell all now and expose everything that frank murphy and the CCB have gotten up to over the years. I wish the players would start employing the bitter and underhand tactics that are being used against them and come out fighting and spare nobody. I wish that previous managers like Jimmy Barry Murphy, Donal O Grady and John Allen would no longer sit on the fence and call this for what it is and expose it all. I would love for all this to be done now and let everything come out and back it up with witnesses and people who were affected by it all. Get off the fence lads and spill the beans.

Then we MIGHT be able to start building Cork GAA again from scratch.

happytobehere (Cork) - Posts: 360 - 07/11/2008 15:41:22    136172

Icehonesty

I might have over-reacted with the last post and while I do not know you personally, I do not want to come on here and have arguments with any poster. Essentially, I am replying to your third last post on the issue. You stated that Gerald McCarthy was elected and that was that. However, that is not the core of the issue. 88 people voted for Ger instead of having nobody, 6 people voted for nobody instead of Ger (that is more damning). Essentially, it is a bogus election. Hence my comments about Mugabe, Sese Soko and Banda. I was not comparing those despots to Gerald McCarthy, rather to the county board.

The nub of the issue is that in 2002 the players went on strike for basic things that were available everywhere else. It should be pointed out that they had first approached the county board in a reasonable manner but had been refused, they were laughed at. The cork County board thought that it was perfectly reasonable that 21 year old Niall McCarthy should give up a lot of his spare time

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/11/2008 15:45:12    136183

Icehonesty

I might have over-reacted with the last post and while I do not know you personally, I do not want to come on here and have arguments with any poster. Essentially, I am replying to your third last post on the issue. You stated that Gerald McCarthy was elected and that was that. However, that is not the core of the issue. 88 people voted for Ger instead of having nobody, 6 people voted for nobody instead of Ger (that is more damning). Essentially, it is a bogus election. Hence my comments about Mugabe, Sese Soko and Banda. I was not comparing those despots to Gerald McCarthy, rather to the county board.

The nub of the issue is that in 2002 the players went on strike for basic things that were available everywhere else. It should be pointed out that they had first approached the county board in a reasonable manner but had been refused, they were laughed at. The cork County board thought that it was perfectly reasonable that 21 year old Niall McCarthy should give up a lot of his spare time playing for Cork, to travel by bus up an down to Derry and not receive mediacl attention for a facial injury that he had received palying with Cork. How many clubs do you know off that would let that happen to one of their players??

The Cork County Board gave in to these basic demands but have never forgiven the players for asking for them and have been gunning for vengence ever since. They want Sean Og, Donal Og, Joe Deane out but only so they can manipulate the younger players like they have done in the past. Luckily enough people like Sean Og, Donal Og etc are people of the highest integrity and have not only represnted Cork with pride but are determined that any young player that does where our jersey with pride again, will do so with basic respect. The Cork County Board ahve no respect for Cork players. They ahve shown that by their actions year after year. I implore anyone to name an incident where Cork players have shown disprespect to the jersey?

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/11/2008 15:50:34    136196

Right i had to come out of hidding to comment on this! Look its the players who represent their county, who train during the cold winter months, who sacrifice so much just to put on that cork top, ask yourselfs this are yous loyal to them that sit at a table and want to control these boys. Im not from cork, but i would always stand up for the players on matters like this!

osama_bin_laden (USA) - Posts: 246 - 07/11/2008 16:03:21    136229

Benny,

I am not arguing that the Cork players are undermined by the CCB.
I am not arguing that there are things wrong with the CCB and Cork hurling in general. Im not arguing that at all, and thats not the argument the players are making.
I am arguing that the hurlers are wrong to try to remove a democratically elected manager. If the County delegates felt that there should have been a second candidate they would have said so. If the players felt that way, they should have proposed one.

Its interesting that the Kerry board are going to propose only one single candidate next Monday night, and there is no fuss about it.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2574 - 07/11/2008 16:15:04    136258

re: osama_bin_laden
Gerald McCarthy gave as much as any player why should he suffer and be bullied out of the position.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 07/11/2008 16:38:29    136306

What would Brian Cody do if the likes of shefflin and comerford etc started behaving like this?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 07/11/2008 16:39:16    136308

Icehonesty.

That is the argument that the players are making. That is what John Gardiner said on PrimeTime lastnight. Sean Og did put forward another name and one of the selection panel admitted that Gerald McCarthy was not the best man for the job.

The County Board delegates were not in a position to put forward another person as this year that was done by this selection committee who refused to allow another name go forward despite names being mentioned.

It is well known that another person is willing to do it but not while this mess is going on and not under the current situation.

The county board delegates were essentiall in their democratic election as you say, were told that vote for Gerald or nobody. The thing is totally flawed, it is no better than an election that would be held in Zimbabwe, Congo DR etc.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/11/2008 17:09:54    136354

Two things i want to ask...
If its the county board that is the problem, why get rid of the manager?
If the cork ppl are so worried about young lads having to pay their own way to play for cork why not set up a fund for the team? Dont tyrone have something like that going?
If the board were really so bad then the reality is they wouldnt be still in the job, they must have some support in the county...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/11/2008 18:43:12    136829