PeterFinnegan County: Cork Posts: 1 128784 . (1) Every single club in Cork is represented on the Cork County Board. (2) (The simple solution is to pick the players for the next match and if they refuse to play they will receive automatic bans of 12 months each. (3)The sooner that the current crop of Cork hurlers are replaced with people who want to wear the red and white of Cork for the right reasons the better. (4) Fair deuce to Gerald McCarthy for standing up to them - it is about time someone did. (5) I would prefer to play junior and intermediate hurlers and forfeit honour for a few years than give in again to this lot. Who the hell do they think they are? hi there PeterFinnegan. There is so much wrong and factually incorrect about your last post that I have to take it step by step just prove how wrong you are. Point Number 1: Every club is not represented at the Cork county board. Here are a "few" clubs that have no say: Passage, Brian Dillons, Gurranebraher, Shandon Rovers, Rathpeacon, White's Cross, Whitechurch, Redmonds, Lough Rovers, Ballyphehane, St Itas, Ballinacurra, Carraig Na bhfear, Russell Rovers, Lisgoold, Dungourney, Castlemartyr, St Mary's, Kilmeen/Kilbree, Gleann Na Laoi, Tullylease, Castlemagner, Freemount, Charleville, Churchtown, Garnish, Urhan, Bere Isalnd, Glengarriffe, Muintir Bhaire, Diarmuid O Mathunas, Dripsey, Donoughmore, Aghinagh, Kilmichael, Ivelaery, Castletownroche etc etc. (there are many more so get your facts right) Point Number 2: You can not suspend a player for refusing to play a match. they do not get paid therefore if they refuse to play there is absolutely nothing that can be done about it. Point Number 3: The current Cork players want to wear the Cork jersey so that they can win All-Irelands. the fact that most of them have won one (some have three) proves that they are capable of doing that. Is there any better reason to wear the Cork jersey? I think not. Point Number 4: Gerald McCarthy is not the one that is standing up to them. Unfortunately Gerald is the one that is caught in the middle of this. Gerald is a great man and everyone in Cork knows this. I presume you know, as do the dogs on the street, that Gerald McCarthy did not want the Cork job two years ago. Do you not find it odd that he wants to stay in a job that he did not even want in the first place?? do you not find it odd, that there were a number of canidates for a job that he did not want a few years ago and now there is no other canidate for a job that the Gerald still does not want?? Everyone respects Gerald McCarthy. It is a terrible shame/pity that he is being dragged through the mud like this. Point Number 5: Many of them are junior and intermediate hurlers: Tom Kenny plays with Grenagh (junior), Brian Corry (Ballymartle), Eoin Cadogan (Douglas) and Kevin Canty (Valley Rovers) are intermediate players. "This lot", you say, and you calim to be a Cork supporter for many years. You would not have had many days out if it were not for "this lot". Luckily enough "this lot" will not be replaced "by another lot" because most people will not fill their shoes out of respect for them-something which you clearly have none. bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/10/2008 16:21:37 129022 Link 0 |
This won't finish in my opinion until FM retires. To understand Cork GAA you need to understand FM - try this little pop quiz - how many other county board men could you name from counties other that your own....? Gerald while a fine player and a wonderful servant of Cork hurling has not shown himself to be the man of the moment - little or no progress in my view. Why does he stay on when he knows the players don't want him? I don't know the man personally but he doesn't strike me as a angry man with an axe to grind. As a previous poster alluded to - check out his profession - wikipedpedia says -"He is a trophy-maker by trade" - now who would buy sports trophies in large quantities in Cork.....????? maybe I'm adding 2 and 2 and getting 5 but perhaps not. Also why would any committee entrusted with selecting the next Cork manager only consider 1 candidate???? using that kind of selection process I could have made manager.... oh the power... 'Sully, com'ere boy you'd want to pull your socks up..." CorkieInKerry (Cork) - Posts: 93 - 29/10/2008 16:25:04 129027 Link 0 |
Benny +Happy to be here ver (None) - Posts: 228 - 29/10/2008 16:49:43 129063 Link 0 |
Bennybuny ver (None) - Posts: 228 - 29/10/2008 17:15:54 129101 Link 0 |
I would love to see FM go and a few more in that county board, but I don't see it happen. He will go when he see's fit and you most remember that the only person who can remove him is himself. another thing that most be considered is that Geral Mc Carthy's business is in the making and supplying of trophies and medals for all types of sports. I'd imagine that the Cork County Board are pretty good costomers for Gerald and his company. Could he afford to say no when initially asked to take the job, can he say no, now when asked to stay on in the job and do you think he will wake away when the main men in the County Board are telling him he's staying put. happytobehere (Cork) - Posts: 360 - 29/10/2008 17:22:15 129109 Link 0 |
I agree with Ver, Benny. Ignore this mysterious PeterFinnagan. He could be frank Murphy. happytobehere (Cork) - Posts: 360 - 29/10/2008 17:23:50 129113 Link 0 |
happytobehere ver (None) - Posts: 228 - 29/10/2008 17:30:25 129123 Link 0 |
Hi Ver> bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/10/2008 17:50:09 129148 Link 0 |
I would like all the executive of the Cork County board to be elected every three years like it is in most counties. I have no one in mind for any of the jobs just as long as it is democratic. Really democratic, not that Robert Mugabe type of democratic. happytobehere (Cork) - Posts: 360 - 29/10/2008 17:51:15 129152 Link 0 |
the cork hurlers are a diaster...wasting all of our time and insulting the game and the great support they got over the years...ye agreed to a panel of 7 to pick manager this year with 2 players on this panel...Are u stupid donal og?2 members on the panel will be out voted any time..as for saying the process is unfair you had your chance last year to put it right and ye the players agreeded to this format...you then try and turn it on gearld and say the team had no confidence in him as a manager..have you ever taught it was the players who are letting us down?ye are not getting any younger?any faster?god forbid gearld wanted to change the game plan you want to play...kk destroyed the hand passing when they got their system in place..the cork players are now destroying alot of younger players who want to try and wear the cork jersey..how can ye object to a manager when he has not named a panel?would ye be picked this year?you cant blame gearld for nearly losing to dublin etc?i didnt see gearld puck a ball...he did not get sent off...this is a power issue..cork players want to pick the manager...then insure he picks the team ye want...cork players then want to run the county board...go home retire ye have lost out on all our support..ye are a disgrace to cork..ye will be remebered as a pack of whingers not winners colin (Cork) - Posts: 233 - 29/10/2008 18:03:29 129162 Link 0 |
bennybunny mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 29/10/2008 18:40:30 129195 Link 0 |
What do ye think of the article of the interview Landers gave saying Cusack and Murphy should both retire? icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2574 - 29/10/2008 19:16:19 129218 Link 0 |
Those lads are well overdue their humble pie. Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 29/10/2008 19:35:30 129239 Link 0 |
I thought the players had done a deal last year with county board . What is they want cant have a new manager every year or no one decent will want the job. Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/10/2008 20:24:26 129273 Link 0 |
Real Louth fan and Dellboypolecat, will ye ever read the contents of the thread, especially Page 3 and 4, then ye might have a bit of understanding of the situation, what it means to us fans, what it's likely to end up as, and ye might be able to comment knowledgeably on it. dowchabiy (UK) - Posts: 204 - 29/10/2008 22:39:38 129351 Link 0 |
dowchabiy What you on about .My point was the players done a deal with the county board last year and never stuck to that. And the other point was they cant keep doing this because if they get what they want every year no one will want the job not fair on a man you is trying to manage them so do not dare have a pop at me over what i said about the deal they had with county board .And finally it is the fans that lose out on the long run... Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/10/2008 23:04:59 129377 Link 0 |
Can I just clarify something - are the players threatening strike/retirements or whatever you want to call it that Gerald McCarthy is manager or the process by which he was retained as manager? So that when Sean Og etc were asking McCarthy to stand down it would force the county board into appointing a new manager? benny - you obviously have a much better knowledge of the inner workings of Cork GAA than most. The indo mentioned today that the vote at the appointments committee was 5-2 to have McCarthy re-installed as manager and when this was put to the county board meeting it was ratified by 88 votes to 6. Would I be right in saying that the real crux of this issue is the appointmenets committee - i.e whoever is put forward to the selections committee will always be the person that FM wants and he will always be ratified by the selections committee? This all sounds like some political thriller!! holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 30/10/2008 09:56:52 129550 Link 0 |
Just read Ian O'Riordans article in the times today. Cork is definitely in for trench warfare. He mentioned Ben O'Connor's comments from the Irish Examiner article which paints one picture of a one sided selection process. He also mentions McCarthy's comments from yesterday. Benny, you stated yesterday that McCarthy wasn't standing up to the players - it definitely doesn't look that way now. He looks like he is well set to dig his heels in and won't budge, he made that very clear. holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 30/10/2008 10:22:27 129583 Link 0 |
i think mccarthys comments are very good. very dignified and show that he isnt goin to back down. i really hope he stays put. Baker the glen (None) - Posts: 371 - 30/10/2008 10:57:21 129633 Link 0 |
posters, daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 30/10/2008 11:47:08 129682 Link 0 |