Cork hurlers hands are tied?

From reading a few of the national papers today i believe that the deal which the cork players signed earlier on in the year pretty much means that they have no say or can do nothing about gerald mccarhty's reappointment. Is this true? More power to gerald mccarthy for telling the players that he was not going to step down. i hope he drops these lads who are more interested in making national headlines for the wrong reasons rather than playing for their county. i hope they get booted out of gaa altogether.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 23/10/2008 17:39:52    125338

Have to agree these hoors think they are above all, would he not be picking a new panel therefore some of them might not even be on the panel.I think ur right , they agreed last year they would have no say but watch this space.If they do go on strike they should be on the sidelines.

theduck (Down) - Posts: 48 - 23/10/2008 18:58:03    125420

How would you do that now daytona?

I find it strange how people from the other counties such as yourself are so interested in what goes on in Cork. It's like voyeurism or something with ye.

It's not like it's gonna affect Kildare in any way.

dowchabiy (UK) - Posts: 204 - 23/10/2008 18:59:14    125422

It must be an annual thing in Cork. The toys are out of the pram again.

diarmuid78 (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 23/10/2008 21:03:29    125523

Hopefully their hands are tied around their back so we can give them a few flakes of a hurl.
They're really getting on my wick now. The world does not revolve around them. What will happen in say 10 years time when all these players have finished playing? Will they still be throwing their toys out of the pram?

Shinners (Longford) - Posts: 496 - 23/10/2008 22:01:24    125551

It affects Kildare and all of us, we are all sick of sport news and papers being dominated by the Cork guys. They are lime light junkies who cant stay away from it. They have 2 representatives on the committee and they did not bother to vote. Thought they could bully the man into stepping down! Faair play to the man, and I wish him all the best, he stood by them last year while they went on strike, so they owe him one and not in this manner. I think he is a knowledgable man, have these lads their eyes on Ger Loughnane taking over, now imagine the publicity him and some of these guys could generate??? They would have reason to complain if they had a manager like our footballers were landed with!!!

curious George (Offaly) - Posts: 861 - 24/10/2008 00:46:27    125611

On another issue, why dont the Cork county board just appoint Donal Og as Manager, Co Chairman, Co Secretary, Treasurer, and sure when he gets a minute after picking the team, he could act as liason officer?

curious George (Offaly) - Posts: 861 - 24/10/2008 00:50:29    125614

Dowachiby,

The antics of the Cork hurlers and footballers seriously impacted a number of counties this year. Their inclusion in their respective divisions of hurling and football leagues. Ask Wexford and Antrim. Ask the counties that didn't have to play Cork if they had an unfair advantage over teams like Monaghan who lost out on promotion as Dublin got two handy points because the lads in Cork wouldn't come out to play.

tallaghtdub (Dublin) - Posts: 344 - 24/10/2008 10:08:23    125688

Well said tallaghtdub. I'd boot them out of next years league and championship and tell them if they didnt cop on they'd get a 5 year ban.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 24/10/2008 10:46:15    125722

I agree completly Tallaghdub, what went on last year was an absolute disgrace. If it was a county with a lower profile it would never have happened

irishstew (Sligo) - Posts: 172 - 24/10/2008 11:35:57    125767

dowchaby if your not interested in the current topic then dont look at the thread.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 24/10/2008 12:47:46    125822

their powder is wet

ACtribe (Galway) - Posts: 401 - 24/10/2008 14:38:25    125955

daytona11

125338 From reading a few of the national papers today i believe that the deal which the cork players signed earlier on in the year pretty much means that they have no say or can do nothing about gerald mccarhty's reappointment. Is this true? More power to gerald mccarthy for telling the players that he was not going to step down. i hope he drops these lads who are more interested in making national headlines for the wrong reasons rather than playing for their county. i hope they get booted out of gaa altogether. 23/10/2008 18:58:03

Daytona, that is a slanderous, despicable insult by you. You know none of those guys personally, you have no clue of the sacrifices of those players, you do not know some of the bullying that they had to put with...do you tolerate bullying Daytona11?? Do you?? Do you have any idea why the Cork panel are so united?? You would have to go an awful long way to find a team more united than them (there might be some as united but none more). Your comments are unwarranted and disgusting and are extremely ignorant even on the most subjective basis.

As for Gerald McCarthy, everyone in Cork respects Gerald McCarthy. He was one of the greatest players to ever play hurling. Nobody can deny that. This is not between Gerald and Cork players, this is a different dynamic. This is about a group of players who given their all for the county and who have been treated like dirt by a power hungry county board. Gerald McCarthy is caught in the middle.

Do any of you clowns know what Gerald McCarthy does for a living? Do a bit of detective work and see what you come with and stop postring ignorant drivel like you have been.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 24/10/2008 14:55:39    125978

That shower went on strike last year and went unpunished by the gaa for doing so. if they attempt to anything of the sort again they should recieve a serious ban. What i said in my first post on the subject may have been taken up wrongly by some but im only saying what a lot of people from counties other than cork are think and i wont apologies for it.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 24/10/2008 15:01:33    125984

daytona11

125984 That shower went on strike last year and went unpunished by the gaa for doing so. if they attempt to anything of the sort again they should recieve a serious ban. What i said in my first post on the subject may have been taken up wrongly by some but im only saying what a lot of people from counties other than cork are think and i wont apologies for it.

You should apologise openly. They are as much as part of the GAA as you, who are you to say who is in and who is out?? People, that get nothing financially out of the game (directly), are entitled to stand up for what they believe in, in what they believe to be right. The are entitled to that, as humad beings, without some of the scurrilous diatribe levelled at them from certain people...the comments on this board are indicative of that.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 24/10/2008 15:12:49    125996

whats this benny? People outside cork are not entitled to an opinion now? Hundreds of thousands of players get nothing out of the game but they dont throw there toys from the pram when they dont get there own way. They get on with things. At least the cork county players get well looked after etc. when the cork panel went on strike it affected the whole gaa not just them.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 24/10/2008 15:23:36    126008

You really do talk a load of rubbish bennybunny.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 24/10/2008 15:28:41    126018

Nice to see my two favourite posters getting on!

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 24/10/2008 15:32:21    126021

Bebbybunny wrote this:

Daytona, that is a slanderous, despicable insult by you. You know none of those guys personally, you have no clue of the sacrifices of those players, you do not know some of the bullying that they had to put with...do you tolerate bullying Daytona11?? Do you??

Bennbunny, while I don't go as far as Daytona and wish Cork's players are thrown out of the championship, you have to admit he has a point. Cork seem willing to strike or have players meetings about anything and that was fine the first time back in 2002 and it galvanised them, but how about just accepting a decision for once and accepting authority?

Maybe what the players see as bullying is just a man wanting to get on with his job?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/10/2008 16:43:30    126115

Never heard the likes of it, so Monaghon would've done better last year if they didn't have to play Cork?

I reckon Cork hurlers would've done better if they didn't have to play Tipp and Kilkenny. And the footballers would have won the All Ireland if it wasn't for Kerry, Tyrone and Wexford.

Ridiculous, stupid arguements from GAA folk from counties that will never win anything because they never look at themselves, always looking for someone else to blame.

Can anyone here keep a straight face and tell a Corkman that the manager appointed deserved another 2 years after losing FIVE championship games in TWO years. Christ, Loughnane was sacked after losing 2 in two years. We don't do mediocrity in Cork thank you very much.

dowchabiy (UK) - Posts: 204 - 24/10/2008 16:45:44    126119