Mutiny in Graiguecullen Club

will someone give these carlow eegits an ordinance survey map and show them where graigue is. Its in laois and you cannot have it...end of story...carlow people remind me of that little country across the water laying claim to our little country....

longshank (Laois) - Posts: 40 - 19/01/2009 13:52:33    183759

Thanks lads for your support. It amazes may when I particularly hear the scallionaters go on about Graiguecullen. When they tried to lay claim to the "triangle" a few year ago they eventually got a concession that anyone living in the triangle area would have a choice of which county they could declare for. I have not seen a max exodus across the bridge of players looking to play in Carlow. No GAA gael in Graiguecullen that I know of has ever had a interest in playing in or for Carlow because we have only ever been brought up as Graiguecullen and Laois Gaels. I have no problem with Carlow nor have I any desire o follow them as they are not my football county, no more than Kildare or Kilkenny are.
Lets all move on and best of luck to Laois and Carlow in the up coming League.
See u all in O'Moore Park

greennred (Laois) - Posts: 37 - 19/01/2009 14:29:22    183796

All Star County: Carlow Posts: 89 183283 Sorry lads but you have it all upside down. Carla lads aren't bitter; bemused alright. No one more bitter than the hordes who claim allegiance to Laois ala northern unionosts to UK! Sorry All Star, but if you believe that Graigue is in Carlow, then your view mirrors that of the northern Unionists, and not the other way around. Graiguecullen, or Irishtown as it was colloquially known around the time, was in the county of Laoighis (or Queen's County as the British changed it to), until the British changed it some time after the Act of Union in the early 1800's to bring it into the municipality of Carlow town, for electoral purposes. It was always outside the boundary of Carlow up until the British changed it. In fact, historically, it was even 'beyond the pale', as at one point, the river Barrow was the extrtemity of the pale, with Carlow Castle and it's walls protecting it from invaders. In short, we have always been from Laois, and always will be. As for being bitter, what the hell would we be bitter about?? Apart from the expense of all those trips to Croker for the last few years - look on the bright side, ye must've saved yourselves a fortune to see ye through the recession.

bj (Laois) - Posts: 4 - 19/01/2009 14:48:32    183829

why anyone would want graigue in their co. is beyond me.

hogg (Carlow) - Posts: 321 - 19/01/2009 15:54:06    183929

Well hogg. I went to school there (though from a few miles away) and I am most certainly happy to have Graigue in my county.

Graigue folk are great people with a really good community atmosphere in the parish. Carlovians forget that the parish came together and built a swimming pool for the whole area while Carlow Council sat on their behinds and did nothing for the towns sports amenities. All I ever get from my Carlow friends is how Graigue is the bad side of the tracks.. but yis havent clue. Yes it has its rough parts and dodgy people but its a good community which is more than can be said for certain areas of the town I need not mention.. It also a really good club. Great underage structure. So Im proud to have them as fellow Laois men.

Oh yeah and Tonys chips are the job.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 19/01/2009 18:43:21    184149

Avoid grauige like the plague, a blind man would notice that he is entering another county when he sets foot in grauige, us carlow folk should be relieved that its not part of our beautiful elegant county

Biffo (Carlow) - Posts: 91 - 19/01/2009 19:36:44    184207

Well Biffo you must be a blind man when typing....the correct spelling is Graigue not Grauige!!! And yes you would notice you're entering another county when coming into Graigue..its called LAOIS!!!!!

If ye need some tips on county football by all means ask....we're always a very helpful community....especially for those in need!!!!

unlaoised (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 19/01/2009 22:04:30    184323

Well Unlaoised, no im not a blind man when typing, but i do turn my head when i go through graigue, that might be why i gave a stab at the spelling of it. but even if i was blind in one eye you still would'nt have a patch on me, I won't take your offer of help for football, not from someone from the queens county anyways haha But seriously though i hope ye come out of the woodwork for the auld shield final there on sunday, it will be a good enough match with feck all at stake, its the league that needs to be won not a shield

Biffo (Carlow) - Posts: 91 - 19/01/2009 22:53:47    184384

A while back I wrote: Thats what I love about Laois, when one of our number are down we all rally round and support them... thats what makes this county great. And All Star replied: Right. Is he joking? Everyone knows that Graigue are far from universally liked in Laois. Fact. Many admire their stubborness but thats about it. I think the good folk of Laois have proven me right about rallying round and supporting their own... you really under-estimated the intelligence of the people on this board if you thought you could turn them all against Graiguecullen with your snide remarks. The best thing you could do is use your pent up energy to support your own county and help them to get out of Div.4 See ye all in Dr. Cullen Park next Sunday, hope its a good game and may the best team win.

Lobo (Laois) - Posts: 259 - 20/01/2009 00:58:31    184457

BJ

For the record Graiguecullen played all its football in Carlow until the mid 1920,s, the only reason Graigue now playing in laois is because they got a long suspension from the Carlow co. board after a dirty county final against Milford. Graigue then got the hump & ran off to join the Laois Championship. Nothing against laois but the attitude of sum very childish so i thought id clear things up

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 277 - 20/01/2009 16:31:30    185117

Ehhh. They played in Laois before Carlow... and the change to the Carlow Championship was out of convenience only. Look, the Barrow is the traditional border between the counties and the SMALL triangle of Graigue that is governed by Carlow Urban District Council was handed over purely for convenience. It was felt that the one council should run the whole town rather than bunch of councillors in Portlaoise running one big chunk of it...which makes sense.

However, the clubhouse and pitch are in Laois and under Laois Co Co and Graigue has always been considered a Laois village. Anyway its what the people living there want that matters and I think they made there point quite clear when they marched against a full transfer of the village into County Carlow a few years back.

Also youre dead right Lobo. Fair play! Those Carla lads that said we Laois folk dont give a toss about Graigue can wind there necks in. Im from a nearby ''rival'' club that is supposed to hate Graigue and yes, they are rivals and our games are usually emmm...interesting to say the least, but I wouldnt send them across to the other side in a million years. There great Laois men and women. Always have been and always will be and the greats like Mick Haughney and Tommy Murphy will always be a testament to the contribution to the O'Moore County from the good side of the Barrow.

Up the West Bank

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 20/01/2009 18:20:38    185263

Yes the Laois supporters on thisw topic are correct - Graigue was previously Laois and is Laois. No dispute ther Good luck to them. But its also accurate to say that they are not universally liked in Laois and will always be seen by many there as unwanted because they are considered Carlow by many.
As for the march, well that was some joke, hysteria whipped up over someones figment of imagination. Meaningless, changed nothing because there was nothing to change.

All Star (Carlow) - Posts: 132 - 20/01/2009 23:13:24    185593

Graigue not universally liked in Laois? They have massive respect for the pride they show in our Jersey.

BlueandWhite (Laois) - Posts: 18 - 21/01/2009 10:12:56    185802

carlo
County: Carlow

185117 BJ

For the record Graiguecullen played all its football in Carlow until the mid 1920,s, the only reason Graigue now playing in laois is because they got a long suspension from the Carlow co. board after a dirty county final against Milford. Graigue then got the hump & ran off to join the Laois Championship. Nothing against laois but the attitude of sum very childish so i thought id clear things up

If I was being childish, I'd go na-na-na-na-na, but I won't :-). 95% of Carlow posters on this site would have known without even having to think about it that Graiguecullen played in Laois before they moved to Carlow for travel reasons. If you don't know anything about the history, don't get involved in the debate I say!

bj (Laois) - Posts: 4 - 21/01/2009 12:49:00    185925

All Star, can you name one club who are "universally liked" in their own county?? I cant and I dont think anyone can.
Rivalry is the lifeblood of the GAA and thats what makes it great. But as I said, Laoismen and women stick together when other countymen turn on one of them and its that unity that sees us through. You could do with a bit of it on your side of the barrow and try and get back some of the lads who went to play with other counties !!!
And as you say Blue and White, we are VERY proud to wear the Laois jersey here in the village.

Lobo (Laois) - Posts: 259 - 21/01/2009 16:19:27    186096

what is being talked about is the " Battle of Rathoe" a written record is available around the village

commoncnc (Laois) - Posts: 3 - 21/01/2009 17:27:02    186249

"no greater love has a man for his county than one who lives on a border"
Can we please move on as Graiguecullen is and will also be a Laois GAA club, it is not the people of Graiguecullen who have any issues here.
Also this thread has taken a totally different direction from where it originated. Nothing has changed there either

greennred (Laois) - Posts: 37 - 22/01/2009 11:26:18    186876

Can someone answer me a question, preferably someone from Graiguecullen ideally, as they would be in the "know", are there many "foreign" trainers, i.e ( trainers who are not from the Graigue area or from other counties, like Dublin) training at any age level in the club?? Even include the girls/ladies teams???

Just want to know if there is, cos I think someone has being telling me porkies!!!

unlaoised (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 23/01/2009 23:58:42    188494

David Hickey, the Senior team trainer is from Fenagh in Carlow. Not exactly a "foreigner" but he is from outside the Graiguecullen area.
Maybe someone got him mixed up with the former Dublin footballer of the same name but as far as I know all the rest of the trainers are local lads.

Lobo (Laois) - Posts: 259 - 24/01/2009 20:16:10    188788

Oh rite Lobo, there was a Dublin man training the Graigue under 14's last yr, heard he's looking to train another ladies club in the county but he's suppose to be still tied to Graigue, or something like that, someone else said he got the bullet from the club....just wondering what the true story is..

unlaoised (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 24/01/2009 23:40:12    188896