Mutiny in Graiguecullen Club

well Blackflag It is your kind of attitude that prevents a club from moving forward, recent events have proved that not embracing change keeps a once great club like Graiguecullen out in the cold. Surely it should only matter if you can bring something positive to the club and not that you are 5th generation Graigue, the very idea that a club should be so blinkered will inevitable spell the end of anything great being seen from the club for many years to come, but if that is to be the narrow minded attitude that is to prevail it will only be the players both jeuvenile and senior alike that will suffer.

bigmad (Laois) - Posts: 4 - 29/10/2008 23:37:27    129402

greennred
County: Laois

believe he wants to change to purple n white, his old teams colours.

Oh right, interesting choice of colours. Can ye tell me which was his old team? Maybe its obvious but which club wore purple and white, is he an Arles man??? If so then omg, he cant really be serious.

proteuspal (Laois) - Posts: 423 - 30/10/2008 01:49:35    129460

Totally agree with you, bigmad.
I am a great supporter of this club but the problem there is that some of the older generation do not want to move on. Im not saying that they dont love the club, Im sure they do but new ideas and new faces are badly needed to bring this club into the 21st century.
We should never forget the good things that these men, and especially the man in question, have done down through the years but for the good of the club now they should take a step to one side and bring in the type of men that are needed to run a successful club nowadays.
In the present time clubs need to be run like a successful business with different types of guys who are good at different types of things. In most of the top clubs you have businessmen in key positions as they know what it takes to keep things running financially.
You then need the lads who have intelligence and good football knowledge to look after teams and most of all you need the diehard clubmen and women who keep things going on a day to day basis.
Im afraid some of the top men in Graigue are trying to do it all on their own, not because they cant get help and support but because they dont want to change away from the old ways and are afraid they wont be wanted in a new setup.
Things have to change soon or this club will only get worse and that would be a shame as we are proud Laoismen in Graiguecullen.

Lobo (Laois) - Posts: 259 - 30/10/2008 18:09:08    130271

well bigmad i do agree with you that it is more important if people bring something positive to a club than where they come from , but all this chief brought was negativity and his favourite saying "AAAAAAH YEAH CANT DO DAAAAAAH"

blackflag (Laois) - Posts: 6 - 30/10/2008 20:18:42    130346

well Lobo And Blackflag, We should never forget what good things the older generation have done for this club and the people in it, but we need to move forward. There is no reason why there cannot be a good mix between old and new at the club, and start to learn from each other. Many Hands Make light work!!!!

bigmad (Laois) - Posts: 4 - 30/10/2008 23:27:25    130457

Does anybody really believe the said "CHIEF" will walk away. The talk already is how much support will he turn up with at the AGM. He did it before and he will do it again. There is no way he will walk or his support will let him walk away and allow people get on with moving the club forward.

greennred (Laois) - Posts: 37 - 31/10/2008 15:13:12    130991

Well Greennred, We can talk all night about that but, if people want Graigucullen to move forward all members should go to the A.G.M and have there say.Because without them we can end up back where we started from.

bigmad (Laois) - Posts: 4 - 31/10/2008 22:25:19    131306

I reckon myself "The Chief" will win again, lots of little indians follow him and always will, "The Chief" still has power and it'll go to a majority vote and he'll be back in the helm.

Wouldn't surprise me if the club disbanded or split away....like Killeen...not beyond the realms of possibility!!!!

unlaoised (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 01/11/2008 21:49:26    131597

have to agree unlaoised, only thing is the indians all turn up to vote for him but you will not see any of them getting involved throughout the club unless there is something in it for them. new club forming is a distinct possibility from what I hear. it seems a majority of the players are also frustrated by what has been happening

greennred (Laois) - Posts: 37 - 02/11/2008 08:50:25    131670

i think if this so called ''CHIEF'' is sooooo bad why not kick him out! get enough supporters behind the 'new' club and run him out!! seems like thats the only way to solve it!!

mad4ga (Laois) - Posts: 8 - 02/11/2008 09:33:35    131678

Simple solution.
Someone should start the rumour that the Club are moving back to Carlow and you will see them uniting in a flash!!
Looking over Wellington Bridge from the Carlow side it's always been a source of amusement how negative, bitter and entrenched many of theose involved seem to be.
Equally though we would admire their undying loyalty to the club and their 'no surrender' mentality!
Somewhere in the middle is the basis for a great club.
They are one of the few clubs with a guaranteed heartland with no opposition in it.
And they never let the small matter of a county boundary interfere with their team selections.
Few if any ever play across in Carlow even though the family may reside their for a couple of generations.
That parochialism is the strength and weakness of the Club.
Thought they had got their act together in recent times, sad to see in fighting affecting it.

All Star (Carlow) - Posts: 132 - 03/11/2008 20:41:14    132922

ALL STAR,

Underhand wouldn't happen to be you middle name would it??
And speak of Wellington Bridge as you do you would swear it wasn't there at all. The very point you are making in your insulting way you yourself are selling, brillant conundrum from a bitter perspective.
Leave your opinions to issues not sentiment.
God Bless Laois, forever & ever, Amen.

Pajo 1 (None) - Posts: 38 - 04/11/2008 00:53:28    133042

Don't mind the bitters , Pajo 1. Carlow have enough to be worrying about with out poking into a Laois clubs affairs.

Heraf (Laois) - Posts: 316 - 04/11/2008 12:13:16    133260

Ah lads come on, lighten up.
You are being hyper sensitive to my post. I am merely stating the obvious; what unites them is not playing in Carlow. I have no problem they play in Laois whatsoever. My point is fairly made an highlights the strnegth and weakness of a historic and at times great club.
I am not wishing you ill by any means, I would prefer to see you prosper and be successful. My tongue in cheek comments hold some truth you must admit, certainly as I look from Wellington Square across Wellington Bridge towards Chaff Street and beyond!

All Star (Carlow) - Posts: 132 - 04/11/2008 16:28:01    133529

Has anyone heard the news now from the club..? Heard its going down the legal route now......accusations flying and personal remarks......very sad indeed!!!

unlaoised (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 06/11/2008 22:46:01    135569

Thats terrible if true. All genuine Club people, all passionate about the game. No good can come of that. Is there no one in Laois Co Board would could mediate?

All Star (Carlow) - Posts: 132 - 07/11/2008 10:05:49    135698

All Star
County: Carlow

135698 Thats terrible if true. All genuine Club people, all passionate about the game. No good can come of that. Is there no one in Laois Co Board would could mediate?

Kieran Mulvey applied a band-aid to the Cork wounds earlier this year and it stemmed the blood flow in the short term.
Ban Ki-moon is far too busy at the moment, though Sen. George Mitchell may have some free time now.
Good luck with it anyhow, these rows are bad for all involved. They create lasting divisions.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 745 - 10/11/2008 01:22:56    137287

All joking aside from what is being spoken around the village this split will have serious implications for the club. I know that good GAA people will be lost from one or both sides. I gather there are efforts being made to heal the rift but I fear it is too late.
It seems there are now people who feel deeply insulted over the "Defacing" of the Graiguecullen colours by certain elements in the village. Many good GAA people are hurt over this and it seems it is just another episode in dragging the club down and forcing even deeper divisions.

greennred (Laois) - Posts: 37 - 10/11/2008 14:35:48    137613

im a bit lost , why would somebody want to change the clubs colours in the first place

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/11/2008 23:21:45    138152

I think its a disgrace that wats going on to this man.it started wit him tellin a child to behave himself.

lip (Laois) - Posts: 1 - 11/11/2008 19:44:59    139006