Mutiny in Graiguecullen Club

What's the story with the juvenille committee & the senior commitee with Graiguecullen GAA club? I've heard there's been a big flare up between the the 2 committee's.....not sure what's true at the moment but at the end of the day it's the players..who will loose out, not gonna divulge what I heard as I'm sure there's 2 sides to every story, but can anyone eleborate on it??

unlaoised (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 18/10/2008 23:43:08    121908

I heard there's murder going on in the club between the 2 committee's....it's getting very nasty...no end in sight at present...watch this space!!!!!

lass_unlaoised (Laois) - Posts: 1 - 20/10/2008 23:10:15    123011

Have,nt seen or heard of a murder yet, but it seem,s from what I hear that a simple apology would have solved everything. Also heard a sub committee was acting way outside it's brief. Would have to agree from what I have heard that exec. committee were well within their right to dissolve juvenile committee

greennred (Laois) - Posts: 37 - 21/10/2008 10:19:08    123113

There's 2 many chiefs in that club....and not enuff injuns...sum chiefs need der feathers clipped!!! Wouldn't b surprsed if sum players packd it in & transferrd 2 neighboring club killeshin! any opinions???

burke_2_da_deth (Laois) - Posts: 1 - 21/10/2008 15:48:37    123402

Hard to believe it's 40 yrs since last championship and 27 yrs since last appearance in final. Now it looks very serious for the future of this once great club. Many good GAA people in the village know the real score within the club and until certain person/people realise that they have had their day there will be no future for the club. I believe there is a serious possibility of players exitting to neighbouring clubs.

greennred (Laois) - Posts: 37 - 22/10/2008 09:54:45    123784

The truth always comes out in the end, is it true that a former chief got his wings clipped by the Leinster council recently?????????????

blinky (Laois) - Posts: 40 - 22/10/2008 17:12:22    124332

where did blinky hear this i thought it was a well guarded secret/////////////// former big chief not one bit happy about it but as blinky said "THE TRUTH ALWAYS COMES OUT IN THE END"/////////////////

blackflag (Laois) - Posts: 6 - 22/10/2008 22:05:16    124509

Not sure if he is clipped yet. Suppose to be taking it further. Not his first time to drag the club down, only this time he is fighting his own club. Unfortunately he is being given the platform to do so. Let's hope that the people of graiguecullen see what the real truth is this time and not this one persons blinkered version of how he see's it. People in the village want a successful club on the field playing honest football, not the version they have being getting while this chief was ruling the roost.

greennred (Laois) - Posts: 37 - 23/10/2008 10:13:17    124708

from what i am hearing from graiguecullen is that former chief making a spectacale of himself by trying to change the club colors--

blackflag (Laois) - Posts: 6 - 23/10/2008 12:42:39    124888

listen blackflag, was'nt there a big issue a few years ago over changing the graigue club colours, surely this same person who did'nt want them changed back then is'nt trying to change them now. That would be some contradiction.

greennred (Laois) - Posts: 37 - 23/10/2008 19:19:09    125433

Just wondering which chief are we talking about here (there are lots of them there).
Would this guy have been a selector on the county team a few years ago??? not originally from the village??

Lobo (Laois) - Posts: 259 - 23/10/2008 21:30:44    125539

The very man!!!!!!!!

blinky (Laois) - Posts: 40 - 24/10/2008 12:36:10    125813

As someone who has been away from the village for a while, it saddens me to see the demise of such a former great club. Can enough people who care about the club not take it in hand and move it forward. This power struggle that is going on is only damaging the club. Can we not learn from our more illustrious neighbours across the river and work towards building a club that welcomes people into and gives back far more to the community. If this "CHIEF" you talk about is causing so much havoc get rid of him

greennred (Laois) - Posts: 37 - 24/10/2008 14:40:13    125957

this is easier said than done greennred this fella thinks that he is Graiguecullen G.A.A. and the backing he is receiving is from a shower of runners and misinformed people ,but i do have to say as a born and bred GRAIGUECULLEN person that these people can eat, sleep, drink, even marry into us but they will NEVER EVER be one of us

blackflag (Laois) - Posts: 6 - 25/10/2008 22:39:17    126634

Can someone fill me in on what the issue is with this guy. Whats his thinking behind changing the club colours??
Thats one thing that NO self respecting club would ever think of doing!! Its one thing changing the design of the jerseys but not the colours.. no way!! jesus, lads would die for the colours..........

What has this got to do with the juvenile committee? They seem to be doing a great job in Graiguecullen and have been for the past number of years now.

This whole thing might be a blessing in disguise as a major shake-up is long overdue in his once proud club. It would be a backward step to see lads leaving tho' ..

Lobo (Laois) - Posts: 259 - 27/10/2008 00:04:56    126983

Right, i too am confused. Two questions:
1. What colours does he want to change to?
2. Why is he not happy with the existing colours?

Thanks

proteuspal (Laois) - Posts: 423 - 29/10/2008 01:40:25    128514

believe he wants to change to purple n white, his old teams colours. it seems he had a part to play in the break up of that club too

greennred (Laois) - Posts: 37 - 29/10/2008 19:36:52    129240

is it not ytrue tat the chief eveyone is talkin about was born in the parish of graiguecullen and baptised in graiguecullen chapel cause i know he was!!!!!!

is it also not true tat this man has been involved with a juvenile team which lost only one match in SIX years in terms of championship football... which means he must know his stuff...

nd has this man not been involved in the running of the club for the past almost 40 years up untill last season where he won by the vote of the people two positions...

and i know this man has no intentions of changin the colours of the club of his birth as he had to fight against that very thing not too many years ago...

croppyfella (Laois) - Posts: 1 - 29/10/2008 20:13:25    129267

Well croppyboy, think they were doing up the church in Arles when he was baptised in Graiguecullen. He was not with that juvenile team for 6 yrs. He was involved with the club for 40 yrs, what did they win????????? they were relegated for the first time in the history of the club in his last year. The green, red and black flag must be out for halloween then because they are not the club colours.

blinky (Laois) - Posts: 40 - 29/10/2008 22:56:06    129368

well Blackflag It is your kind of attitude that prevents a club from moving forward, recent events have proved that not embracing change keeps a once great club like Graiguecullen out in the cold. Surely it should only matter if you can bring something positive to the club and not that you are 5th generation Graigue, the very idea that a club should be so blinkered will inevitable spell the end of anything great being seen from the club for many years to come, but if that is to be the narrow minded attitude that is to prevail it will only be the players both jeuvenile and senior alike that will suffer.

bigmad (Laois) - Posts: 4 - 29/10/2008 23:33:19    129398